Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York , NY

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Hotel is very nice . The only issue is there is a construction site literally rite outside surrounding the area for 4 blocks . They have street closures with no warnings . So parking, traffic, and noise are a big inconvenience .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south africa

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Great place great value great location great view great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Very good hotel with suitable facilities

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Hotel location is good, straight up from the green subway line. The outside subway works means that there are a few road lanes closed which means the traffic is quite busy. The overall noise I thought was from the traffic and not so much from the subway works. The hotel has a fully working kitchen which saved us lots of money. We were also upgraded to a wonderful large room. Hotel had everything we needed, check in and out was easy and room service was brilliant. Desk staff were very curious! No negatives other then the noise from outside, but 1000's of New Yorkers live there everyday and I don't think you can find a quiet place in Manhatten! On the lower ground floor there is a gym and laundry room. There is a slight incline over two blocks to get to the subway station from the hotel but this isn't as bad as others have reported, I'd be cautious however over walking it with many suitcases!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't expect luxury

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: Room and hotel furnıture
Convinient location, friendly staff, clean and big room that needs revision as soon as posible. Don't expect any luxury. Subway construction ongoing in front of hotel. Don't choose if you are a light sleeper or with a baby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney AUS

Great location. Great sized room. Will be back!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Upper East side location gives a true NY neighbourhood feel. New subway is being built right at the hotel entrance so abit noisy, but when we mentioned this to staff we were moved up to the 19 th floor which was great. Subway on 2 blocks away an area very safe. Was really happy to have the feeling of going home each night rather than being in the bright lights of midtown all week. Will definately be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel/apartment

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Cons: It might be nice to have a little guide to the Upper East Side in the hotel room/apartment.
Location: It was wonderful to be so close to Central Park and the Museum Mile. We also appreciated having so much within walking distance.
The entire experience at Marmara Manhattan was great! They accommodated our request to be on a high floor (22nd)! The staff was wonderful offering suggestions on where to eat in the neighborhood. We loved being in a neighborhood and having a less touristy experience. We are already planning to come back to NYC in a couple years and will definitely try to stay at the Marmara again!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Very Loud

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Update the furnishings and wall papers.
Location: Everything is within bus and subway when they are operating.
We chose the Marmara because it had a small kitchenette and was close to the subway for our week stay. The subway was being worked on and we could not use it. Worse than that, the noise coming from the work started early in the morning and continued until very late; sometimes through the night. This place needs some updating and noise proofing. The staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Manhattan

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Hotel room is spacious. Staff excellent. Not the newest furniture, lacks about two more sitting chairs and an additional luggage stand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Upper East Side Gem

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The staff were brilliant. A special credit to a reception guy about 40-50 with glasses and light hair. You were amazingly polite and friendly.
Cons: A bar in the hotel would be nice.
Location: Close to shops and Subway. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance.
We booked this hotel as an affordable stay that was away from the noisy centre of Times Square and other busy places. We was also taken by the idea of the kitchen area to give us the freedom of taking food back. We got there quite late after a very long journey. The person who greeted us was friendly and told us where we could get late night snacks if we wished. The room was huge, I'd expected much smaller for a big city but was pleasantly surprised. The decor was nice, very clean and had a big TV and safe too. We was woken up the next day due to work outside the hotel, but as this was due to the installation of a new subway line down 2nd Avenue, we understood this was beyond the hotels control. The bed was comfy and we slept well. The kitchen wasn't used much but the fridge came in very handy and the room cleaner even loaded the dishwasher for us. The room attendant would knock as we left late some mornings and was really polite. The desk staff and door staff were brilliant and really made the place. They always spoke, were happy, polite and had a joke or two. it never felt forced but was always really genuine. On the day we left, they were happy to let us wait around for our transfer and even offered to contact them when the transfer was late. Fab place, great room, good location (5 Min walk to Lexington avenue Subway stop) and brilliant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upper East side

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Location: You have to visit the barking dog restaurant.
The streets in front of the hotel are under construction and apparently have been for the past couple years. The construction noise is bad, if your room fronts the street as ours did. The staff was more than willing to go above and beyond to make our stay pleasant as they moved us to another room that was much quieter. They accommodated us with an early check in which was amazing.