Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel/apartment

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Cons: It might be nice to have a little guide to the Upper East Side in the hotel room/apartment.
Location: It was wonderful to be so close to Central Park and the Museum Mile. We also appreciated having so much within walking distance.
The entire experience at Marmara Manhattan was great! They accommodated our request to be on a high floor (22nd)! The staff was wonderful offering suggestions on where to eat in the neighborhood. We loved being in a neighborhood and having a less touristy experience. We are already planning to come back to NYC in a couple years and will definitely try to stay at the Marmara again!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Very Loud

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Update the furnishings and wall papers.
Location: Everything is within bus and subway when they are operating.
We chose the Marmara because it had a small kitchenette and was close to the subway for our week stay. The subway was being worked on and we could not use it. Worse than that, the noise coming from the work started early in the morning and continued until very late; sometimes through the night. This place needs some updating and noise proofing. The staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Manhattan

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Hotel room is spacious. Staff excellent. Not the newest furniture, lacks about two more sitting chairs and an additional luggage stand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Upper East Side Gem

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The staff were brilliant. A special credit to a reception guy about 40-50 with glasses and light hair. You were amazingly polite and friendly.
Cons: A bar in the hotel would be nice.
Location: Close to shops and Subway. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance.
We booked this hotel as an affordable stay that was away from the noisy centre of Times Square and other busy places. We was also taken by the idea of the kitchen area to give us the freedom of taking food back. We got there quite late after a very long journey. The person who greeted us was friendly and told us where we could get late night snacks if we wished. The room was huge, I'd expected much smaller for a big city but was pleasantly surprised. The decor was nice, very clean and had a big TV and safe too. We was woken up the next day due to work outside the hotel, but as this was due to the installation of a new subway line down 2nd Avenue, we understood this was beyond the hotels control. The bed was comfy and we slept well. The kitchen wasn't used much but the fridge came in very handy and the room cleaner even loaded the dishwasher for us. The room attendant would knock as we left late some mornings and was really polite. The desk staff and door staff were brilliant and really made the place. They always spoke, were happy, polite and had a joke or two. it never felt forced but was always really genuine. On the day we left, they were happy to let us wait around for our transfer and even offered to contact them when the transfer was late. Fab place, great room, good location (5 Min walk to Lexington avenue Subway stop) and brilliant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upper East side

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Location: You have to visit the barking dog restaurant.
The streets in front of the hotel are under construction and apparently have been for the past couple years. The construction noise is bad, if your room fronts the street as ours did. The staff was more than willing to go above and beyond to make our stay pleasant as they moved us to another room that was much quieter. They accommodated us with an early check in which was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Hôtel accueillant.

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Métro à proximité, seul côté négatif les travaux en bas de l hôtel, des doubles vitrages serait le bien venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Great location in Upper East side

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: cleanliness, space, location
Cons: kitchen needs cookware, cooking utensils, oven tray, pots and pans so you can actually cook when you want to.
Location: central park Guggenheim Met Subway
stayed here in February. Very cold, but room was warm, very clean and very spacious for Manahttan. Full kitchen lacked cookware and cooking utensils. The oven didn't have a rack and there were no oven dishes. Double bed and pull out bed very comfortable. Walking distance to 5th avenue museum mile and Central Park. Two streets from subway easy walking distance. Good grocery shopping and restaurant options nearby. Huge works going on down 2nd avenue, right outside the hotel, so spoilt any view that might have been there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom la,california

Great apartment style hotel in residential area

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Very attentive and accommodating staff definitely would return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Upper West Side Manhattan

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Location and the fact the room had a full kitchen.
Cons: Put a pool in.
Location: Location is upper West Side of Manhattan, lots to do near by, great restaurants, museums, and Central Park.
Nice hotel, close to the subway and a ton of museums. Some construction in the area on a new subway line, but no noise from it and all the local stores were open. Went during the great non-storm of 2015 and the whole city was closed down for the day, but as Canadians it didn't bother us and we just went for a nice walk in Central Park which is 5 minutes away from the hotel. Would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Juliefrom Sydney , Australia

Comfortable place to stay

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a week. Our 2 bedroom apartment was comfortable and had a great view of the Empire State Building. The furniture was a bit dated but we didn't mind . Having a kitchen and washing machine were useful