Ratings based on 1,138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, B.C.

Beautiful boutique hotel close to Time Square!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, smaller size.
Cons: Our room was nicely appointed but long and narrow - ie. you could not open the door and the closet at the same time.
Location: Half a block off Time Square and close to Theatre District.
My daughter and I stayed for five days in New York and could not have had a better location than the Muse. There was wine offered daily from 5-6, and coffee from 7-11. The staff were very friendly and accomodating .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Comfortable and Convenient.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: MoMa is an easy walk. Top of the Rock is just around the corner. It's a hike, but you can do it, to go to the High Line on 23rd Street.
Room was very comfortable, king size bed was bouncy, but provided great sleep. Shower has more pressure than other hotels we have stayed in the area. Went to 3 shows in 4 days and all theaters were within a block and a half of the hotel. This hotel will definitely be on our A list for our next theater excursion trip to the Big Apple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new york city.

hotel in easy reach of times square

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: convieniently situated near times square.helpful staff and good overall room.
Cons: It can be rather noisy,i know your in manhattan but aircon should be addressed and better double glazed windows.
Location: plenty of places to eat,nice irish pub around the next block if you get fed up with burgers! a stones throw from times square(busiest part of manhatta
On arrival,pleasant staff and impressive lobby.On occasions you have to wait a little time for the elavators but its not a problem.Air conditioning in the room is rather noisy but effective.The room was clean but the bathroom I felt could have been cleaner.Good powerful shower over the bath and dimmable lighting.knowledgable door staff and Ideal if you require directions and good places to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your location with us and that our staff was of great assistance of places to go in New York. We do apologize about the issue you experienced with the noise from the HVAC unit. We have shared your comments with our engineering team so they can look into this matter. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in NYC!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We enjoyed a terrific first time stay at The Muse in NYC!! Very comfortable rooms, excellent food, and exceptionally friendly staff!!! We would definitely come back!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Cannot rate this hotel enough. Stayed for 3 nights - great location, staff and facilities particularly the wine hour. If I visit the US again I would definitely book a Kimpton Hotel. For dinner recommendations though head to Greenwich village - great vibe and so many restaurants to chose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the extra amenities we had to offer. Come back and visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Cleanliness of room and breakfast options.
Location: Perfect location to access everything. 9th avenue is the place to go for dining out.
The Muse is perfectly located to tour the sites of NY. The hotel itself was good and I was glad that I had signed up to the Kimpton loyalty scheme because it gave us free wi-fi and a $15 voucher to use in the mini-bar/restaurant. Sadly, the choice to use it to contribute towards breakfast was a bad one. We chose the 'healthy' option (remembering this is New York) and a few of the items were unavailable, making it a very expensive, boring breakfast. The only other gripe would be that the sheets were not changed in the week. Other than that, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and I would recommend using them to transport you back to the airport ( and worth enquiring if they would collect as well).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DONT STAY

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Gym passes we're promised and there were no passes, very slow elevators, room keys were activated everyday, very small hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We do apologize for the dissatisfaction with your recent stay. Unfortunately the local gyms are no longer giving hotels passes and we will be sure to update this on our website. However we do have a 24 hour gym available on premises. We hope we can have the chance to welcome you back and show you a five star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

A block from Time Square

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Very clean hotel. Friendly front desk too. Staff always said hi when we walked in. Pet friendly hotel too. If you have a birthday or occasion tell them and they will give you cupcakes. I had called ahead of time and also emailed the day before about my sons birthday. They did bring up cupcakes but they thought it was my birthday and had a card for me, not my son. Nice, but I just wish they would have read it was for my son. There is a TGI Fridays right across the street or save money and buy food from the food vendors around the corner. Buy the City Pass, but dont do the bus passes. We bought hop on off bus passes but we ended up taking the subway everywhere since it was only a couple blocks away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the amazing review. We appreciate all of the great feedback and comments regarding your stay. Sorry the card was not written to celebrate your son’s birthday. We will be sure to take note of the proper birthdays that are being celebrated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Times Square Gem

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The best attributes of this hotel are its prime location, and its attentive and friendly staff. Just off Times Square and in walking distance to every theater in the district, it was easy to come and go, with fast elevators and a desk staff that was always available and willing to answer any question. With the dense mass of tourists just half a block away, the Muse felt like an oasis of calm and class. Our room was comfortable if a bit small, but it had a tasteful, understated European feel. The mattress was very high quality and the bathroom was finished with marble, tile and granite, not opulent, but very comfortable. My wife and I look forward to staying here again on our next visit and will recommend it to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review. We are so happy you enjoyed our location. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Boutique hotel just off Time Square

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Wanted somewhere central for first trip to NY. The Muse was ideal with good mix of subway stations close by. Just far enough from Time Square to escape the crowds and noise. Will be good when work to pedestrianise Time Square is over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed our location to Times Square. Our hotel can be a serenity away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square.