Ratings based on 1,155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Excellent find

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Really can't say a bad word about the Muse. Stayed 5 nights. Location excellent, given we were so close to Times Square the room was quiet. Rooms well decorated, 2 very comfortable double beds and hotel staff very welcoming. We were delighted to see a hand written note and bottle of wine for my mother's 82nd birthday - nice touch. Free wifi with Kimpton Karma. Also free wine every evening, we only managed to avail of this for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City, NY

Hotel close to Times Square

Posted Sep 8, 2014
My experience overall was pretty good, but there were a couple things the hotel was missing. I thought it was really odd that there was neither an iron nor an ironing board. Also, there was no bathroom fan, which is fairly critical for several guests staying together. The other thing I didn't care much for was the heating/AC situation. There was only a single blower in the bedroom, but we were staying in a suite. The sitting room, where one of us was sleeping, was easily 10 degrees warmer than the bedroom because of the ventilation. The thermostat was also in the sitting room behind a closed door that the vent could not reach. It was just odd how it was designed. Other than those couple things, the way was great! The hotel is literally just a couple steps down 46th from the iconic center of Times Square.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Hmm, no ironing board in the room…. We do offer them in all guest room closets so I have forwarded this information to our housekeeping team to ensure they investigate this. Thank you for the comments regarding the HVAC unit. I have passed this along to our engineering team. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and hope to welcome you back again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Overpriced Midtown middle of the road hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Pretty much nothing.
Cons: More or less everything.
Location: It is right next to Times Square, so there is so much to do outside of the hotel.
Our experience started off very badly - having booked a reservation well in advance, then using the electronic check in the day before arrival, we got to the hotel at around 20 minutes after the 3pm check in, only to be told the room was not ready !!! Several excuses followed from the front desk staff, a certain amount of stalling and being told there was no manager to help. We also found out that the "wine reception", which we fully expected to be a private welcome in our room, is in fact an "each man for himself" affair, between 5pm and 6pm in the hotel bar. A little after 4pm, we were informed that our premier king room with balcony was ready. Nobody directed us to the elevators or told us how to get to the room. Upon entering, we immediately saw that the balcony and our room with "a view" in fact turned out to be a direct view of the back of the Hyatt hotel, some apartments and a couple of water towers. I went back to reception and insisted on seeing a manager. Ray came out to assist and to his credit, eventually offered an upgrade to an executive suite (after I had to ask what he would do to make our experience more pleasant following our horrendous first 90 minutes in his hotel). The executive suite was comfortable enough, but the common areas outside of the room were uncomfortably warm. To end the whole stay on another bad note, we found we couldn't get coffee before leaving and we were left to "fend for ourselves" with luggage, when we needed a taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It seems as though we missed the mark during your stay. Unfortunately we do not have views here due to the rooms around us being much taller. However, we make up with that with a central location. I am pleased our manager was able to come and assist and offer an upgraded room which was better suited for your stay. We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back and show you the four diamond experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. John's NL

Convenient Time Square location

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Install new shower heads or drop the one in 906 in a bucket of CLR. Its clogged up with limescale.
Location: Right on the doorstep of Times Square, dozen blocks to Macy's, minutes to everything you could want to see or find ways to get there.
Room on 9th floor overlooking 46th. Small windows and high up so views not that great. Clean, comfortable, and surprisingly quiet with its close proximity to Times Square. The Brazilian Festival was right on the street on Sunday and it was very well organized and orderly. They partied but caused no trouble. 6th and 7th were closed for about 4-5 blocks on Sunday as was 46th from 6th to Madison but no inconvenience. Windows didn't offer much in the way of a view of anything as they were relatively small and high up on the wall. That's about the only negative I could come up wth as everythiong else was perfect. Location was fabulous as was attention of the staff. I asked about any upgrades available and the desk staff indicated there was not however when she checked me in, she said she di give me a better room and theer was noa dditional charge for it!! Great service from beginning to end of our stay. Highly recommend the MUSE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We do apologize about the shower head issue in your room and we have immediately dispatched out engineering team to get this rectified. We are thrilled your enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was perfect for your Big Apple getaway. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service. We hope we can welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Perfect hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Location: Close to Times Sq and 5th Ave
We really enjoyed our stay here....the staff was pleasant and very helpful, was convenient to many things in NYC. The wine reception was a nice touch too. I will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five stars! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely are lucky being in the heart of Times Square! We look forward to welcoming you back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Nice but not very accommodating

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I found the hotel nice enough the staff are friendly but only when you engaged first. I left my wireless speakers there called back to security they said they were never found it was a $200 speaker and I know I left it there that's all I'm saying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We do apologize we did not locate the speakers upon your departure. Any time anything is left in the room it is immediately given to our security department. We do hope we can welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffs, UK

Great location for 1st NYC visit

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location, value of money, staff, fact can have 4 adults to a room!
Cons: Noisy air conditioning!
Location: See abi e
Fabulous stay at the Muse, really good location as although Times Sq is dirty noisy and busy this hotel is quiet and handy for all Midtown attractions - easy walking distance of Top of the Rock, Central Park , Grand Central Station and subway - would recommend for first time New York visit but next time would stay in a local neighbourhood as choice of evening eateries limited
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review. Its great knowing our location was perfect for your New York City getaway. We hope to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from williamsburg, va

Rosalie was amazing at check in-

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Would definitely recommend this hotel for being in the action- very nice staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! Thank you for the shout out regarding our amazing front desk team! Come back and see us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, B.C.

Beautiful boutique hotel close to Time Square!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, smaller size.
Cons: Our room was nicely appointed but long and narrow - ie. you could not open the door and the closet at the same time.
Location: Half a block off Time Square and close to Theatre District.
My daughter and I stayed for five days in New York and could not have had a better location than the Muse. There was wine offered daily from 5-6, and coffee from 7-11. The staff were very friendly and accomodating .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was perfect for your Big Apple trip. Please know we do have other room configurations which may be better suited during your next stay. Come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Comfortable and Convenient.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: MoMa is an easy walk. Top of the Rock is just around the corner. It's a hike, but you can do it, to go to the High Line on 23rd Street.
Room was very comfortable, king size bed was bouncy, but provided great sleep. Shower has more pressure than other hotels we have stayed in the area. Went to 3 shows in 4 days and all theaters were within a block and a half of the hotel. This hotel will definitely be on our A list for our next theater excursion trip to the Big Apple.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Its great knowing our hotel was the perfect location for your big apple getaway. We hope we enjoyed all the Broadway shows you went to. Come back and see us again soon.