Ratings based on 1,169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Surprise Bday Trip

Posted Oct 14, 2014
I surprised my wife with this trip, and was not disappointed in the cooperation that I received from The Muse. I let them know about her birthday, and they brought a bottle of champagne and some chocolates to the room the first night. The check in process was easy, and can actually be done online to make it even simpler. Any questions we had about the city were answered from a genuinely interested standpoint, rather than the canned answers you get from so many other hotels. This place was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Weekend in Manhattan

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, very comfortable rooms and beds.
Cons: Not a lot. Sometimes traffic noise but that is inevitable given the location
Location: Times Square, theatres, Rockefeller centre, 5th avenue.
Great location in midtown - perfect for the traveller who wants to get around on foot or via subway. 5 minute walk to major theatres. 2 minute walk to Times Square. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms well appointed with super comfy beds - lots of pillows. Great for independent single traveller - esp women,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and five stars. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. What is better then comfy beds and pillows…. definitely makes for a relaxing nights sleep. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but can find better

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Went here to celebrate my boyfriends 26th birthday. We stayed at the Gotham hotel previously but wanted to try somewhere new. For the price - everything was over rated. Wish I waited to find a better last minute deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We do apologize for the dissatisfaction with your stay. We hope we can welcome you back and provide a true Muse experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, godo location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Good staff, polite and helpfull. Great atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

New York Boutique hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Size, Location, complimentary wine and coffee. Balcony off the room was great!
Cons: A coffee maker in the room would be great , a little bit of attention to the atmosphere on the balcony would go a long way to making it more appealing
Location: This is the best thing, it is close to shopping , theatre, times square and of course restaurants.
Really liked the hotel it has a wonderful feel to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room. Please know we do have complimentary coffee makers upon request which we would be happy to deliver on your next stay. Come back and see us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Muse Hotel NY Sept 2014

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly, great location.
We stayed at the Muse for a week's holiday in NY. Just off Times Sq, so a great location & easy to walk to many attractions (Central Park, The Rock, theatres on Broadway, Hell's Kitchen), also very close to the subway. Very friendly & helpful staff, & free wine each evening during happy hour!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and after a long day you were able to kick back with a glass of wine. Come back and visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Excellent find

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Really can't say a bad word about the Muse. Stayed 5 nights. Location excellent, given we were so close to Times Square the room was quiet. Rooms well decorated, 2 very comfortable double beds and hotel staff very welcoming. We were delighted to see a hand written note and bottle of wine for my mother's 82nd birthday - nice touch. Free wifi with Kimpton Karma. Also free wine every evening, we only managed to avail of this for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five stars! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy birthday again to your mother, we are so please we could assist in making it a memorable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City, NY

Hotel close to Times Square

Posted Sep 8, 2014
My experience overall was pretty good, but there were a couple things the hotel was missing. I thought it was really odd that there was neither an iron nor an ironing board. Also, there was no bathroom fan, which is fairly critical for several guests staying together. The other thing I didn't care much for was the heating/AC situation. There was only a single blower in the bedroom, but we were staying in a suite. The sitting room, where one of us was sleeping, was easily 10 degrees warmer than the bedroom because of the ventilation. The thermostat was also in the sitting room behind a closed door that the vent could not reach. It was just odd how it was designed. Other than those couple things, the way was great! The hotel is literally just a couple steps down 46th from the iconic center of Times Square.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Hmm, no ironing board in the room…. We do offer them in all guest room closets so I have forwarded this information to our housekeeping team to ensure they investigate this. Thank you for the comments regarding the HVAC unit. I have passed this along to our engineering team. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and hope to welcome you back again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Overpriced Midtown middle of the road hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Pretty much nothing.
Cons: More or less everything.
Location: It is right next to Times Square, so there is so much to do outside of the hotel.
Our experience started off very badly - having booked a reservation well in advance, then using the electronic check in the day before arrival, we got to the hotel at around 20 minutes after the 3pm check in, only to be told the room was not ready !!! Several excuses followed from the front desk staff, a certain amount of stalling and being told there was no manager to help. We also found out that the "wine reception", which we fully expected to be a private welcome in our room, is in fact an "each man for himself" affair, between 5pm and 6pm in the hotel bar. A little after 4pm, we were informed that our premier king room with balcony was ready. Nobody directed us to the elevators or told us how to get to the room. Upon entering, we immediately saw that the balcony and our room with "a view" in fact turned out to be a direct view of the back of the Hyatt hotel, some apartments and a couple of water towers. I went back to reception and insisted on seeing a manager. Ray came out to assist and to his credit, eventually offered an upgrade to an executive suite (after I had to ask what he would do to make our experience more pleasant following our horrendous first 90 minutes in his hotel). The executive suite was comfortable enough, but the common areas outside of the room were uncomfortably warm. To end the whole stay on another bad note, we found we couldn't get coffee before leaving and we were left to "fend for ourselves" with luggage, when we needed a taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It seems as though we missed the mark during your stay. Unfortunately we do not have views here due to the rooms around us being much taller. However, we make up with that with a central location. I am pleased our manager was able to come and assist and offer an upgraded room which was better suited for your stay. We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back and show you the four diamond experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. John's NL

Convenient Time Square location

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Install new shower heads or drop the one in 906 in a bucket of CLR. Its clogged up with limescale.
Location: Right on the doorstep of Times Square, dozen blocks to Macy's, minutes to everything you could want to see or find ways to get there.
Room on 9th floor overlooking 46th. Small windows and high up so views not that great. Clean, comfortable, and surprisingly quiet with its close proximity to Times Square. The Brazilian Festival was right on the street on Sunday and it was very well organized and orderly. They partied but caused no trouble. 6th and 7th were closed for about 4-5 blocks on Sunday as was 46th from 6th to Madison but no inconvenience. Windows didn't offer much in the way of a view of anything as they were relatively small and high up on the wall. That's about the only negative I could come up wth as everythiong else was perfect. Location was fabulous as was attention of the staff. I asked about any upgrades available and the desk staff indicated there was not however when she checked me in, she said she di give me a better room and theer was noa dditional charge for it!! Great service from beginning to end of our stay. Highly recommend the MUSE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We do apologize about the shower head issue in your room and we have immediately dispatched out engineering team to get this rectified. We are thrilled your enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was perfect for your Big Apple getaway. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service. We hope we can welcome you back again.