Ratings based on 1,564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Good location near Times Square.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
On my last day housekeeping began to clean my room. They did not check the closet to see my suitcase was still there. I returned, hot & sticky from a walk to find a housekeeper in my room. My cosmetic bag, left on the sink had been taken to lost & found. I was unable to freshen up before my flight. Staff at the front desk were very blasé and I had to finish packing in the very small lobby once my items were finally located by housekeeping. The fan in the room was very noisy but needed since the room became very stuffy without it. At checkout I needed to walk 1/2 block up to 6th Ave for a cab to the airport since a street was closed for a festival. This is NYC and not the hotel's fault but perhaps customers could have been better informed. I have stayed at other Kimpton hotels and enjoyed them but this was not a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by muse GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the muse ny
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Boutique hotel close to Times Square

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: I like the spacious room and bath. Also, I never had to wait for an elevator for more than a minute.
Cons: nothing I can think of
Location: Less than a block to Times Square. You can walk to many of the Broadway shows. If you like crowds, stores like the M & M store are very close by.
This was our 2nd visit at the Muse and we booked two rooms for three nights. Just like the 1st time, we were pleased with the efficiency of the registration staff, the cleanliness of the room, the comfortable beds, and the spacious (for NYC) rooms. My only minor complaint was that it was a little difficult to get the room temperature to the polar range I prefer at night. We were on the 6th floor, which did allow for some street noise to reach our room. I would recommend asking for a higher floor if you are a light sleeper. I will stay here again, as the location is great for getting to Broadway shows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by MUSE GSM, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the awesome, 5 star review :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Location

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, large room, comfortable bedding
Cons: A/C needs to be improved.
Air conditioning unit was too noisy, they forgot to out a shampoo in the room, refrigerator was full of drinks but wasn't working...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and all your feedback, it is very much appreciated come see us again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to Broadway

Posted May 25, 2015
Great hotel very close to broadway. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was great size, clean and beds were comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2015 by MSE manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 5 star review!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Comfort in the Theatre District

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Excellent in hotel dining & bar. Spacious bathroom.
All went well until we tried to retrieve our car to leave the city. NYC had permitted an all-day street food festival which took up the entire block of E 46th Street from 7th to 6th avenue. We were informed that it was a surprise to the hotel. We could not retrieve our car for curbside valet parking. Valet was a primary reason why I booked Muse instead of a nearby Hilton. My husband is handicapped and cannot walk long distances. The street fair made it impossible to bring the car within 2 blocks of the hotel. The valet was kind enough to haul our luggage to the car, but it was still an exhausting and excruciating hike for my husband.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by ray, Hotel Management
Thank you for the awesome review!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

Where do I start?

Posted May 11, 2015
We had many issues with our stay. Very overpriced for an outdated and very tiny room. Everything shows wear. The clothing iron leaked boiling water on my arm. The reception staff seemed more aggravated by my call for help than concerned. The elevator stopped and alarms went off at one point. The room service breakfast was $60 for a traditional breakfast and some extra pancakes. The wifi was not free. The bed was very uncomfortable. The windows did not prevent the noise from keeping me up all night. I have stayed at many hotels in NYC. This was terrible compared to others. I love how other people say wonderful things about a property in a review and it all turns out to be false. Maybe my standards are just higher. Who knows? It was cute to see other's pets. The lobby was nice. It is convenient. I will not take a chance on a price deal again. I always seem to get burned, literally in this case.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by Muse manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, I am sorry your expirience was not up to par. I hope to see you back and you can give us a second chance. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!!

Posted May 11, 2015
Great location Awesome staff!! Great access to subway
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by AGM RAY, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the awesome, 5 star review!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2015
Quick overnight for a B'way show. Very convenient to all mid-town activities. Friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Centrally Located

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The staff was the best part of this hotel.
Cons: Not really sure I could comment on this since our stay was so short and didn't really explore the hotel and their services much.
Location: Central Manhattan, near everything to see and do in NY. A block or two from time square.
Ours was just a one night stay in our way home from a trip abroad. The facilites were nice. The best part of our stay was the the staff, all very courteous and helpful. The most inconvenient part of the stay was the parking. Although there is a parking garage next door to the hotel, our car was parked about a block and 1/2 away. They could not bring our car back to us because on Sundays they close all the streets near the hotel. Not a big deal overall but a minor inconvenience. We had room service it was very good and prompt. We walked down the street for a fast breakfast. The hotel is close to everything so location wise excellent !!! Will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review! Have a nice afternoon:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Doha

Slap Bang next to Times Sq.

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Location and Informal nature
Cons: Nothing serious
Location: Times Sq. shopping and visiting tourist places.
We stayed there in order to get over the jet lag and see a bit of NY as long as we could before we headed off to Orlando. The property is well managed .We arrived on the anniversary and checked in at a festive mood. There is a wine tasting event every night however we were too tired and could not attend them . The rooms are big enough and i guess in such a prime location it cannot be much bigger. It was quiet and rooms were spotless. Items in room were quite pricey . However all things considered was a very pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by AGM Ray, Hotel Management
Good Morning, Thank so so very much for the outstanding review!! I was so happy to read about how much you enjoyed the visit :) Have a wonderful day