Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shared room

Posted Sep 14, 2014
The floor and carpet were not clean at all! Stayed in a shared room for three night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
This is what I am seeing on my statement. 30/08/2014 000334261014883 42ND STREET HOTEL LLC NEW YORK $220.56 I Purchased this hotel as a last minute deal for $86 , I DID NOT AUTHORIZE THE HOTEL TO CHARGE ME $220 WHICH IS STILL ON HOLD 5 DAYS LATER !!! THE ROOM WAS PAID FOR IN CASH WHEN I CHECKED OUT. THIS IS A BETRAYAL OF TRUST AND THIS IS THE THIRD TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED WITH EXPEDIA. I WILL NOT USE YOUR SITE AGAIN AND WILL NOT RETURN TO THIS HOTEL NOR WILL I RECOMMEND EXPEDIA OR THE HOTEL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to centre

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Generally nice hotel and pleasant staff. Enjoyed stay x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool gay friendly hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Great staff, friendly..love the design of hotel. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

Gay Friendly Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Excellent service with reasonable staff. They let me stay an extra night at the same rate I had!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: I like the location.
Cons: I don't think the problem of loud music can be improved unless the night club closed
Location: Location is close the Time Square
The hotel location is excellet. The night club is next to the hotel and I couldn't sleep at night, because of the loud music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rod from Tasmania

Good value in New York City

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Cons: Avoid the restaurant for breakfasts. Below average food and lacklustre service.
Location: Perfect for being on hand to Broadway shows. Central enough to reach anywhere on the island.
Great room size, sharp modern decor and enough outdoor space to make a difference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Austin, TX

NYC Stay

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The Out was a perfectly fine hotel until you go to your room and suddenly realize all the rooms face inwards and the windows look out to the hallway with people passing by... not what I wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Out NYC

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Rooms were really nice! Lobby pretty!
Cons: Dance club needs to go!
This hotel is not a place to sleep or relax, it's only for people looking to party all night. My husband and I came to have a romantic night in for our anniversary and were blown away by the dance club noise below our room. The music was so loud it shook the furniture - you could not watch TV, talk or relax in any way while the dance club was open. This hotel needs to either do a better job or informing people this is the deal or do a better job of sound proofing. The staff are obviously used to dealing with this and issued us a refund on the spot. They were pleasant and accommodating and the rooms were clean and nice. But the whole experience was spoiled by the noise factor and we actually had to leave and go home at 2 am - very inconvenient! Total buzzkill too.