Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tommy from NJ

Good NY hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Good service, great location. Breakfast in the restaurant was great, and fitness facility is one of the best in NY. Beautiful lobby area.
Cons: Fixtures in the room needs updating- the desk, drawers, etc.
Location: Museum of Modern Art, shopping, theatre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KPH from Houston TX

Jewel From the Orient Still Sparkles in NYC

Posted Jan 6, 2014
My wife and I stayed here just after our wedding in 1993 and this fine hotel has lost none of its luster. From outstanding service to charming Christmas decorations to exquisite room service this hotel has it all. I would also make a point of scaling the last two flights of stairs from the Spa to peek at the rooftop enclosed pool which remains enchanting. My only slight criticism would be the electronic lighting system in the rooms which are confusing and now somewhat dated. Still this is first class all the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert Sears from Philadelphia

Outstanding memory

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have stayed in all of the big name hotels in NYC. This is by far the best experience that I have enjoyed over the years. The staff was engaging and are best at what they do....We are going back next Christmas !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brent D. from Dallas, TX

Holiday visit

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent location; staff dedicated to the highest levels of service; beautifully decorated at Christmas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Outstanding service and quality!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kirk from Dallas

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel service was fantastic. Was disappointed with the first room given, and the hotel quickly accommodated a room change. Room is very pretty. However, it is winter and the room was very very hot - we had limited ability to adjust the temperature. Made sleeping difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isaac from Nairobi, Kenya

Good Location

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Location and overall facilities.
Cons: Nothing at the moment.
Location: Provides very good access to restaurants and shopping facilities
An excellent hotel in the right location in New York. I enjoyed my stay the service by staff and the fact that they went out of their way to meet customer expectations. I will definitely come back and also recommend the hotel to all my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Toronto, ON

Nice older building in a good location

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: the friendly staff, the location (on 5th Ave), the lounge & the restaurant.
Cons: There is very little space everywhere, but I guess it will be hard to improve in midtown NYC.
Location: On 5th Ave, at 55th St; MoMA, Rockefeller Centre, shopping, other nice hotels (St. Regis, Four Seasons) are nearby.
I booked mainly from recognizing the Peninsula name and its location. The lobby is elegant, staff very friendly; but as with most other hotels in NYC, the room is small (but clean & nicely furnished) and there is not much of a view. I like their lounge (where we had high tea) and restaurant (where we had dinner), but did not use the pool, spa or the rooftop bar (not open when we wanted to get up there). With the rate we paid, we expected a bit more!