Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected - Great location

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service
Client satisfaction is not an absolute measure but depends on where your expectations are. My experience with The Plaza NY was not good. Building is very nice but the accomodation are not that good. Light commands in the room are confusing to operate, there was an ipad in the room from where you could also manage lights and AC, but it had some conection issues with the other devices. A TV remote control was not working (might be run out of battery), I called frontdesk to replace it and they never showed up. So, small details that you would not expect in an US$ 800 dollars rate room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Feels Like a Cash Grab

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Overall the actual hotel is a classic landmark. I would train all staff to treat all guests as VIPs!
Cons: I would have really appreciated a lobby where the staff let you enjoy just sitting there instead of having to order expensive drinks/food.
Location: Loved the location. Many different things to see, close to high end shopping, the park and much more. Didn't love the horse aroma in hot summer.
Out stay was short and sweet. Liked the room. Wouldn't have minded a different view. Might book again. Concierge did not have all her facts straight about the sight seeing bus and I would not recommend the on-off bus to anyone. She forgot to mention it ends at 5:00 pm and that we shouldn't miss the last bus. Luckily it was extremely hot that day and we couldn't take the extensive waiting time for the bus at each stop, another thing she forgot to mention. As well, If you don't like the sun beating down on you in summer, don't take the on-off sight seeing bus. Not to mention, if you're tall, watch out for tree branches and street signs! Would never take the on off bus again. Concierge should experience activities before they recommend them to their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location - and an oasis in bustling NYC

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, decor, staff, size of room and bathroom, operating the lights, air con, etc via iPad (teenage daughter especially impressed!)
Cons: Double doors to toilet/bathroom were semi-transparent and not solid - not ideal for privacy in a "family room"
Location: On Central Park South in NYC: that says it all! But avoid the Museum of Natural History - unless you like dusty old stuffed animals at high prices!
Beautifully refurbished, the Plaza lived up to expectations. Brilliantly located on corner of Central Park South, just at 5th Ave Subway stop. Our room was spotless, very comfortable and probably the quietest hotel room we'd ever slept in - no disturbances from other guests or noise from the streets below. (We were on the 18th Floor.) Generous and good-quality toiletries, well-proportioned bathroom with separate shower room. Staff always happy to help, but discreet. We only ate once in the hotel - in the Todd English restaurant. Food was really good, but we had to sit at the counter, as there's not a very big seating area. Good variety of options in the Food Hall, and lively atmosphere. We'd definitely consider another visit - which is rare for us as we prefer trying new places. Would certainly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Excellent hotel experience

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Excellent hotel experience. I will definitely re moment to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arab, Alabama

Outstanding service and loved location!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Very friendly staff and went out of their way to help me with whatever I needed. The rooms were immaculate but would have loved a mini fridge in the room. I would definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by Tracy Lowe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I’m so glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your feedback - I appreciate your comments. For your next stay, please let us know of your preference for a mini fridge as we are happy to provide you one complimentary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Excellent hotel in NY

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The room is totally clean , check in n' out really fast , nice service of front desk assistant , in room dining is great , the butler service is awesome .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Tracy Lowe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Very bad service works accommodation, not the fact that you will be given that room you booked and paid for and will not apologize too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Grand Hotel of New York

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Excellent decor, friendly and knowledgement staff. Great Midtown location near Central Park, 5th Avenue, and Broadway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corbin, KY

Outstanding and Beautiful!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Great rooms.....wonderful location....excellent service......AAAAAAAAA
Cons: Wow, this would be a hard one......only thing I can think of is having the remodeling finished.
Location: Right beside the park......beautiful area.
We were in town to drop my son off to his first year Columbia and we were overwhelmed with the things we needed to get done. The hotel and concierge were outstanding in helping us achieve every detail. We had a beautiful room with all the grandness you would expect and after taking our son to his first day, we relaxed in the Champagne Bar..........we needed it. Our every whelm was taken care of and we were treated as if we ownd the hotel itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com