Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal Québec Canada

A stay where we had to pay for everything.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Not to pay for every little thing that makes life easier
Location: On corner of 59th St and 5th Ave. Shoppin, sightseeing, walking and visiting
The Plaza hotel is very expensive. On top we had to pay for Wi fi (15$ taxes) per 24 hours , car parking (65$ per day) and not even a bottle of water or coffee maker in our room. The Hotel restaurant is really over priced. One evening for 1 glass of wine (the least expensive) and 2 Shirley Temple cost me 39$. On the restaurant menu I saw breakfast for 2 for 103$!!!! Guests next door had small children who screamed and cried at night and very early in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

On vacation with my son

Posted Jul 22, 2014
It was perfection!!! ***** Five Stars***** Perfect service, fantastic room, lovely linens, the quietest hotel I have ever stayed at. Yummy room service and the staff is amazing!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Perfect spot for access to everything. Would definitely stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deluxe courtyard for $1100....must be joking

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: attitude
Location: excellent
every room on our side had a lovely large bathroom. Not us.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nic from Denver

A Disappointing Experience

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The bell staff and door service were excellent...for the 10 minutes we were on the property.
Cons: Do not over-book. And if you have to walk a guest, find comparable accommodations (Mandarin Oriental comes to mind).
Location: Central Park...though we did not get to enjoy the room with the view that we had booked due to the aforementioned situation.
My wife and I were traveling through NYC for one night on our way to Connecticut, and, because it seemed that it would be a once-in-a-lifetime experience, we decided to book a room at the Plaza: what we thought to be the quintessential NYC hotel experience. Upon arrival, at around 5 in the evening (by no means LATE), we were informed that our room, for some reason, was "No longer available"...This after having a CONFIRMED reservation with GUARANTEED late check-in. The situation was handled well-enough. We were given other accommodations, and the Front Office Manager informed us that upon our next visit, we would receive a complimentary upgrade. Fine. Having worked in hotels for a number of years, I understand that hotels will, from time to time, overbook to get the best possible chance at 100% occupancy. When this happens with NO WALKS (having to get guests other accommodations due to overbooking), it's a "perfect sell"...a great night in hotels. The fact that we were walked from THE PLAZA a mere 2 hours after check-in began, was the ultimate disappointment. Particularly due to the fact that we ended up in what to me was a well-below-acceptable alternative (The Trump International; nice to be sure, but in a room that was HALF the rate we were paying for the Plaza.) At the end of the day, we were only in NYC for the one night, but having planned the NYC leg of our trip around the fact that we were going to be at the Plaza, this left a VERY sour taste in my mouth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steph from Canada

Grande hotel - it was everything we desired

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The hotel is everything we expected and more. The rooms are recently renovated and extremely beautiful. The one thing I wished for was a tea at night or/and coffee in the am in our room. Room service tea/coffee is $10+ and you can't get a tea after 10pm.. At such a grande hotel you would hope it would be complimentary after the substantial room rate. Other than that we love the area, service and security of the plaza. We would definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay in NYC

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The best thing about this hotel is not only is it iconic but it is in a great location. We wanted to do sight seeing as well as visit shops and nice restaurants, and were close to everything! The staff were very accommodating and the concierge (all of them) were very good at suggesting places to see and restaurants to go to and were extremely efficient. We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying here again. Thank you for such a great stay! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Royalty treatment at the Plaza Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Location: Shopping, central park, times square.
Not describable. Like a fairy tale comes true. Beautiful design, rich and classy. Everything is so glamorous. You feel you are in cloud 9.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Jersey Shore

Beautiful, classy hotel. One of the best in NYC.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The room was on the small side, but still very comfortable.
Location: A great location on the Upper West Side. Plenty of great shopping and restaurants.
Very nice stay. The hotel provided a great room with all the little things for a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Maine

Just About Perfect Manhattan

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Location, luxury and service.
Location: The location is perfect for walking (Central Park), shows, restaurants, museums, etc.
The Plaza has always been a great hotel, but since the renovation, it is spectacular. The rooms are luxurious, including the bathrooms. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The location is tough to beat. I would recommend the Plaza to anyone who likes New York and is looking for a romantic or luxurious getaway.