Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

New York Experience October 2014

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The perfect hotel location, excellent service particular mention for Anna the reception manager, all the staff from bar to bell boy's & concierge fab
Cons: I would like to say something could have been improved but everything was perfect!!!!
Location: Great location away from hustle of the city, Statue Of Lib, Ground Zero, Century 21 (great shopping) good restaurants all within walking distance.
Fantastic 5 day's spent in the 'Big Apple' most of the major tourist sites visited Statue Of Liberty, Ground Zero, Empire Estate, Grand Central Station, Macey's, Central Park, China Town, Little Italy & lots more in between, with great weather to boot. Great food, friendly people in general, a perfect short break...............a place everyone should visit at least once in their lives and when they do stay at the Ritz Carlton, Battery Park. Even the most critical of people of which I am one of them would struggle to find fault with this hotel every effort was made to make you feel welcome & if anyone is worried as I was regarding the tipping etiquette in the States don't be the service was so good all round I wanted to tip these guy's rather than feeling obliged to tip. Although the hotel is situated in the south side of New York there is loads to see & do in the area & 2 main line underground stations, walking distance to take you anywhere you want to go in the City. If in doubt speak to the concierge & they will point you in the right direction. It was nice to get back to the hotel late afternoon / evening away from the hustle & bustle of some of the busier area's of the city & breath a sigh of relief. Should have visited a few day's later to take in the full Halloween celebrations on the 31st of Oct & would advise anyone if they are visiting at that time get over to Greenwich Village & join in the celebrations!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Anniversary trip

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Got upgraded to room with a view of the Statue of Liberty. Battery Park area is very nice and updated. Could not have had a better time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the Statue of Liberty.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
A quieter side of NYC but very close to the subway and very accessible to the entire city. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay, far south point of Manhattan

Posted Oct 26, 2014
The hotel is comfortable, staff are helpful. Ask for the side with the view of Statue of Liberty. Located close to Wall St and subway is nearby. You are a 20 mins ride away from Times Square. Had a pleasant experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Camarillo, Ca

Perfect New York experience

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Location: 9/11 memorial and museum, Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, Native American Museum, Battery Park, Jewish Museum
Great hotel with excellent staff. Beautiful view of the bay, quiet neighborhood with several attractions but a fraction of the noise and chaos of the rest of the city. A great place to retreat to when the rest of New York seems to be a bit much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Caribbean

Fantastic

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The Front Desk Manager Anna Chudnovskaya is an incredible hostess. Very impressive
Location: Near Balthazar, Wall St, Battery Pk, Ground Zero etc. Midtown and Uptown easily accessible by FDR Drive.
Fantastic stay at this wonderful hotel. Great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, but away from mid-town

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Cons: The decor is beginning to look a little frayed here and there. Nothing serious but could be in a few years. Fee for wireless is annoying.
Location: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island ferries go from here - well worth it.
This is a lovely hotel. A bit tired perhaps - a few fittings were falling off, and the decor could use a refresh - but these are minor complaints. The staff are exceptional - friendly, competent and professional. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is right on the southern tip of Manhattan. We had a view of the Statue of Liberty from our room. This means you are 4 or 5 miles from mid town and central park. In our case this was no problem as we rented the Citibikes and rode up the greenway. Cabs from Times Square cost about $20 with tip at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Makes a change to stay out of midtown

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Great view of Statue of Liberty. Also made a change to be away from hustle of bustle of mid town Manhattan but easy to get to on subway. Battery Park area is being renovated and is looking really good. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Amazing hotel!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Came to this hotel for my 21st birthday with my mum. What an amazing place to stay in New York. The staff were lovely and sought to our ever need and even gave us champagne because it was my mums birthday on that day too! Room had great view of Statue of Liberty. The room was very comfy and had loads of space. Cannot fault it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ann Arbor, MI

Great Room & View, yet Disappointing Breakfast

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Room, View, and Staff
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Stroll by the river
Overall, it was a great hotel; the room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was spacious with a separate shower, the view was awesome overlooking the river. The hotel staff was cordial in general. Great experience for that part. Unlike the hotel part, the restaurant didn't give me a good impression. Instead of a menu, I was given a clunky small stapled booklet of food pictures. The pictures were in very low resolution and I couldn't tell what each picture was about. I felt the booklet was thrown at me and it felt pretty rude. Later, the server explained he mistook me as part of the tour group they are serving. When I received the dish I ordered, the food was at best mediocre.