Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very clean and location was great.
Cons: Choice of ground transportation to and from the hotel needs improve.
Location: You are only steps from the 911 Memorial Museum, Wall Street, Staten Island Ferry, the Hudson River, and a host of restaurants.
My stay was wonderful. The hotel attendants were very friendly and helpful. The Hudson river, Staten Island Ferry, the Statue of Liberty, yachts etc. You couldn't as for anything more for a summer vacation to New York. Time Square was only 15 minutes away by subway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Treated like a King

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: We were treated very well and always felt welcome.
Cons: Wifi should be free.
Location: Wall St, Battery Park, waterfront is one of best places to run in NYC, Stone Street dining
My wife and I have always stayed uptown in NYC. We decided to try Battery Park and the Ritz. We could not be more pleased. The staff was outstanding and the location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

What a view!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The staff, location and being close to green areas, the 9-11 museum and transportation availability
Loved our stay at the Ritz Carleton. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary, and they sent us champagne almost as soon as we arrived. Each and everyone that works there did their outmost best to make us feel at home and pampered. The view from our room was very beautiful, Battery Park, the Statue of Liberty.... all the sailboats. We had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

All around lovely!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
An excellent stay with helpful staff and a room looking straight at the Statue of Liberty. What more could anyone want!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view from room.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
There were so many wonderful things about this hotel. Quiet neighborhood (for NYC), incredible view of the Statue of Liberty and the Hudson River, were great. I can't say enough about the very friendly and helpful staff. However, there were a few drawbacks. I was dissappointed that the rooms did not have a small refrigerator to keep things cool. Also, $75 for a room service sandwich, fries, and piece of cake was a bit over the top.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Wonderful stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We really enjoyed the hotel. Great location across from Battery Park. The hotel is comfortable and the rooms were great. We had a telescope that occupied our kids for hours. The breakfast was delicious and the waitstaff excellent. We usually stay mid town but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by rod from UK

Its a Ritz carlton, should be good!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Hotel is dated and badly needs refurbed, I stay in RC a lot and this is not up to their standard, staff are good though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Expedia readers. I thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you bringing to my attention the condition of your guestroom and our hotel, I will ensure that our preventive maintenance team will improve our rooms and public area inspections program to make certain that our product is refurbished and maintained. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service you received from our staff. Our Ladies and Gentlemen strive to provide our guests with personable and professional service and I thank you for your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Best regards, Greg Mendoza General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely view

Posted Jun 30, 2014
We had a room that was on the 12th floor facing the harbor. We had a view of the Statue of Liberty and the hotel provided a telescope in the room so that we could enjoy the scenery. It was a pleasant surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shilana from London, United Kingdom

Londoners coming to new york

Posted Jun 27, 2014
It was great and the best experience the hotel was in the best location as it was accesSible to other key areas in new york. We visited statue of liberty and we were in the heart of wall street and it was the best experience ever. The new yorkers are friendly and love the fact that you are from London, so it made me feel patriotic and proud at times to be British
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great waterfront location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: I mainly liked the location of this hotel. It is right across the street from Battery Park and all it has to offer.
Cons: Cleanliness (windows were dirty-inside room) and our mattress was pretty worn out. The carpet has stains with no padding (I looked).
Location: Things to do nearby are: subway, bike rentals, world trade center memorial, wall street, tour boats across the street and views of statue of liberty.
Staff was great, Patricia and Carlos especially. The staff is what makes this place. Everyone working here was polite and helpful in every way. The location is fantastic in that everything is easily accessible: subways, tours (land and sea), great restaurants, etc. There is a telescope in every room facing Lady Liberty. Fantastic views of the harbor. The negatives here are: our bed was pretty worn (although our bed did have a feather cover over the mattress). The carpet was thin and dirty with no padding underneath (I looked). The windows - well I could tell how tall the maid was by the cleanliness of the window. The upper 1/3 of the window hadn't been cleaned in maybe 1 month. Thin walls also, I could easily hear the person upstairs/next door urinating in their toilet from our bathroom. I did not notify the staff in regards to my complaints due to - I didn't want to be disturbed.