Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Friendly staff and B&B atmosphere.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Staff, B&B atmosphere, beautiful rooms
Cons: Nothing to improve - just lovely.
Location: Boston, Massachusetts.
The staff was extraordinarily friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to others and look forward to staying here again.
2 out of 5
by Travel Often from Illinois

Good location-cold room

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: room size, yogurt and granola for guests, location
Cons: fix the heat!
Location: The hotel was near everything we wanted access to, so the location was great. Good restaurants, shopping, access to subway, Central Park, Times Square
We were pleasantly surprised to find that the room was larger than expected. The hotel is old and has a rather dated appearance, but that doesn't bother me. What did bother me was the fact that we had minimal heat 3 of the 4 nights that we stayed (and it was in the 20's and 30's while we were there). After complaining about it multiple times, we returned one afternoon of the four day stay to find the heat blasting and a virtual sauna in the room. After about 2 hours of sweating, we figured out how to turn the heat off ourselves, and so we again woke up quite cold again in the morning. The hotel is in an awesome location, but I will not be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kate from liverpool uk

Great location friendly hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, nice bar, no restaurant but can take food in and can also order form local restaurants if you want to
Cons: Heating could not be turned down but was able to open window to cool room down although this was a bit noisy
Location: Near to grand central terminal and subway. Redstone pizzeria over the street great for dinner and also do nice breakfast that is reasonably priced
Stayed In this hotel several times over the last few years last time in March 2014! Arrived at 1pm and rooms all ready, check in was quick and efficient. Great if you want something a little different from a chain hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, tired, and stuffy room!

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Would NOT recommend. The whole place is old, tired. But my room's old steam heater was stuck on high, making the room incredibly stuffy. Had to dial down the heat, and open the windows -- which meant a ton of street noise. Nice location, but disappointing -- even at a low price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carole from Glasgow

Clean and Spacious

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: The bedroom was spotless and large with coffee making facilities. The hotel was well maintained but needs upgraded.
Cons: Reception area . Bar opening times.
Location: Central for Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Central Park and fantastic shopping (5th avenue).
Hotel needs upgrading especially the reception area. Having said that the hotel was well maintained and our bedroom was spotless and very large. We had a very comfortable stay and the coffee and tea making facilities was a bonus. There was also complimentary yogurt and granola in the reception area. The bar opened 5pm to 10pm and feel that hotel guest should be able to have bar facilities throughout the day. Pleasant stay and would use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nico from Taiwan

Feel comfortable to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014
We stayed in a room with double bed, room is spacious compare to other hotel and have a big closet for storing luggage. Hotel staff are very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilyn from Vancouver, Canada

The Roger Smith - a great little New York hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: the staff, the breakfast, the location
Cons: I'd like to see an advertised ecologically sound policy for towel and linen replacement. A room safe would be more convenient than front desk boxes.
Location: Lexington at 47th, so close to Grand Central where express buses go to/from the airports. Good deli across the street, day spa around the corner.
A great location, wonderful staff, nice little perks like granola/yoghurt/granny smith breakfast to take up to the room, and tooth paste samples. It's very quiet and the beds are heavenly. The front desk staff had good advice on restaurants, shows, day spas. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good price for Midtown NY

Posted Jan 24, 2014
The Roger Smith is quietly charming and comfortable with friendly, competent staff, and within easy walking distance to Midtown attractions - just what I was looking for. Our room was fairly small and there were some quirky things about the room due to the building's age, but the beds were luxuriously comfortable (with LOTS of extra pillows - yay!), and there were many nice touches, like novels in the room and yogurt & granola available in the lobby. Will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Shirley from Orange County, NY

The Right Fit for New Year's Eve Stay

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Lobby was a mess and only one bellman who was so overworked that he could not keep up with the arrival of guests, said they had valet parking but there was no one outside to park our car; so we expected the worst BUT were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our room; Quite large and very lovely--the bathroom was tiny but the room itself was excellent, homey, nicely decorated and very comfortable. We would definitely use this hotel again.