Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Combines exceptional comfort, effeciency and charm

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff is SO helpful!, rooms are clean and comfortable.and the decoration is very original
Cons: Sorry- No complaints
Location: Excllent location!
Little did we know that we would discover such an exceptionally pleasant hotel! The special and very personal contribution of the of the owner- an artist - is everywhere: In the bronze decorations and sculptures which he has made, in the choice of the paintings, in the living plants you find in your room, in the care with which he has chosen the polite and extremely helpful staff, in the non-bureaucratic manner in which guests (who not treated as mere clients) are received- This hotel really care about people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I'm a business traveler and found this hotel very convenient, clean and helpful. Would recommend it highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel in 15 min from Times Square

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Great location for the great value! Really nice staff, clean rooms. One problem - still noisy at night... Oh we'll, it's New York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory and decent

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The hotel offers a convenient and comfortable base in the city. It's just 3 blocks from subway line 6. The room is charming with antique furnitures, clean and roomy. I really liked greek yogurt, granola and apples that are available all day long at the lobby. Great for breakfast or snacks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal. Canada

Excellent staff

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Excellent staff. Creakey bed. Yogurt in lobby a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Friendly, helpful staff, convenient location

Posted Jul 18, 2014
We liked the hotel generally. The staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and quiet and conveniently located. However, our room's air conditioning didn't work (it ran but did not cool) - and had tape over parts of it suggesting that someone new it wasn't working and had tried unsuccessfully to fix it. Unfortunately by the time we discovered this the kids were already asleep and it wasn't possible to get someone up to fix it (and the hotel was fully booked so we wouldn't have been able to switch rooms).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice clean period hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Located centrally.
Cons: Hotel lobby.
Location: Walking distance to Fifth Ave., Rockefeller Center, and Times Square.
Enjoyed the period of furnishing. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom has been remodeled. Lobby and is small. Can be updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location, but showing its age

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Central Manhattan location, features and touches from another era, real plants, friendly staff.
Cons: This is a "period" hotel, meant to have a certain design, but more upkeep necessary. Sink was clogged, one outlet didn't work, water pressure bad.
Location: Central Manhattan - take your pick. Times Square, Grand Central Station, Rockefeller Center... just a few blocks from the subway to get anywhere else.
Welcomed warmly by hotel staff, housekeeping was great, and enjoyed being in a central location. Room had ample period furniture and all amenities indicated. Found some features of the room requiring maintenance and better upkeep. This is a period hotel, meant to look a certain way and keep features from a certain era, and they have, but it needs to be better maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Great location, staff and facility for the price.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
It was a pleasant surprise and definitely NOT a disappointment! The staff is wonderful, you cannot have a better location, and the rooms are some of the best in NYC. This will be our hotel of choice for any return to Manhattan!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Nice hotel with Great pool

Posted Jun 28, 2014
I stayed in this hotel for six days vacation. They provide free shuttle for university studio , but just only 1 bus per day on 11:30am (strange timing ! Better earlier ! ) . And they have shuttle bus service to Disney but charge USD 17 for round trip , still cheaper than uber or taxi. Restaurant choices are great. Great pool. Room cleaned nicely everyday