Ratings based on 1,049 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

classy and cozy

Posted Feb 18, 2015
I enjoyed my brief stay here. My room felt warm and welcoming--not to mention wonderfully spacious. It's a great respite from the bustle of midtown and typical big name hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island

great location ,Nice bar,Needs update

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: great location
Cons: hotel furniture outdated,Everything outdated
Location: not too far from Times Square and its in nice neighborhood
staff was nice.Room was decent size.Hotel in great location.Furniture and appearance outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wilton, CT

We enjoyed our stay!

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness
Cons: No
Location: everything it's New York!
Room was a great especially for the price. The bed was comfortable. Very warm and cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Cosy hotel with charm

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Location: It's near Grand Central Station and a short walk to the UN where I had business.
I have factored in the excellent value of this hotel in giving my rating of 5 stars. The room was a bit cramped but adequate. There was no food menu, although take-out was available to be delivered to the rooms. There was no business center. That said, the hotel had great charm, with its lively bar that serves as an exhibition area for local artists. On my final night at the Roger Smith I was surprised to see an invitation to a concert and lecture in a room off the bar. Schubert and excellent complimentary wine!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bra läge på Manhattan

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Ligger centralt på Manhattan. Har en ombonad miljö kanske lite sliten. En överraskning var att hotellet för närvarande inte har restaurang på grund av renovering. (Borde kanske informerats om) Hotellet hade svårt att klara av kylan när vi var där. Extremt kallt i NYC.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Good location, clean rooms

Posted Dec 24, 2014
A nice enough hotel, though I did have to wait over 30 minutes for an elevator and when I tried to take the stairs they didn't go all the way down the the lobby and none of the staff seemed to have the time of day to help me find my way out. So all in all it was an okay hotel, wouldn't stay here again though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Clean, cozy room, friendly helpful staff. Lots of street noise - 3rd floor over Lexington Ave - ask for a non-street side room! 24/7 complimentary Greek yogurt and granola in lobby, WSJ newspaper. Nice lobby bar open 5-10pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to go back

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The staff, the style, the location.
Cons: By the standards of the UK the lighting is rather dim, and the 'common parts' could do with a bit of refurbishment.
Location: The location is perfect and within walking distance of central Manhattan so everything is in range.
The Roger Smith was exactly the kind of place we like, very friendly and efficient staff, and comfortable amply proportioned room, in a perfect position in central New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Small hotel on Lexington Avenue

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Extremely good value for money in this location. Loved the free wifi and complimentary granola and yoghurt. Friendly welcoming staff.
Cons: A safe in the room Lily's bar
Location: Located between 47 & 48 on Lexington close to Grand central station, Saks, Bloomingdales, Rockerfeller centre, Times Square, Broadway, Radio City Hall
A much smaller hotel than I usually stay in for my trips to NYC, so this was a big change for me, but I liked it! All staff were welcoming, helpful and pleasant. The location was ideal in midtown Manhattan - walking distance to most major landmarks (Bloomingdales, Times Square, Broadway, Saks, Rockefeller centre, radio city hall, Grand Central Station, Central park etc). Rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily. Free wifi was absolutely brilliant and the free yoghurt and granola was a lovely perk. Lily's bar is tiny and was a little quiet with not much atmosphere, but the drinks were reasonably priced and service was prompt. I will definitely look at staying again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city and shopping

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Was nice hotel. When we first checked in we had a very friendly lady behind desk.. Bed was very comfy. Would def come stay there again....