Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only thing good about the hotel was the location.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location great. Everything else run down and old. A/C was less than adequate. Not real heads up service at the door. Needs a total renovation and service changes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il

great locatio quiet rooms

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: room was very cold
Location: grand central station times square
good experience except when going to pick up luggage to catch my flight they had a hard time finding it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Great location in the city! Old style New York feel to the hotel and the staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Combines exceptional comfort, effeciency and charm

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff is SO helpful!, rooms are clean and comfortable.and the decoration is very original
Cons: Sorry- No complaints
Location: Excllent location!
Little did we know that we would discover such an exceptionally pleasant hotel! The special and very personal contribution of the of the owner- an artist - is everywhere: In the bronze decorations and sculptures which he has made, in the choice of the paintings, in the living plants you find in your room, in the care with which he has chosen the polite and extremely helpful staff, in the non-bureaucratic manner in which guests (who not treated as mere clients) are received- This hotel really care about people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I'm a business traveler and found this hotel very convenient, clean and helpful. Would recommend it highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel in 15 min from Times Square

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Great location for the great value! Really nice staff, clean rooms. One problem - still noisy at night... Oh we'll, it's New York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory and decent

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The hotel offers a convenient and comfortable base in the city. It's just 3 blocks from subway line 6. The room is charming with antique furnitures, clean and roomy. I really liked greek yogurt, granola and apples that are available all day long at the lobby. Great for breakfast or snacks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal. Canada

Excellent staff

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Excellent staff. Creakey bed. Yogurt in lobby a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Friendly, helpful staff, convenient location

Posted Jul 18, 2014
We liked the hotel generally. The staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and quiet and conveniently located. However, our room's air conditioning didn't work (it ran but did not cool) - and had tape over parts of it suggesting that someone new it wasn't working and had tried unsuccessfully to fix it. Unfortunately by the time we discovered this the kids were already asleep and it wasn't possible to get someone up to fix it (and the hotel was fully booked so we wouldn't have been able to switch rooms).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice clean period hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Located centrally.
Cons: Hotel lobby.
Location: Walking distance to Fifth Ave., Rockefeller Center, and Times Square.
Enjoyed the period of furnishing. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom has been remodeled. Lobby and is small. Can be updated.