Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You cant find a better location for this price

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: It would be really great to have a hot breakfast either delivered by room service or served downstairs.
Location: It's a walking distance to the Times Square, shopping, subway and 5th avenue
I have arrived early and my room was not ready, but I was offered a different room that was available. The room was very nice - clean, cozy; the beds were very comfortable, street noise was not too bad either. It is very simple, old-fashioned, charming, comfortable and elegant hotel that offers great convinience to all the tourists spots. I will be staying there every time I need to get to the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is very nice, near to tourist spots

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The room with a view (partial that is).
Cons: Storage of luggage was a bit of a challenge for me and the staff who had to cram it to a small confined space
Location: Practically everything you can do, very near to the subway, tourist spots, etc.
Lovely and relaxing, staff ready to help anytime. Will recommend to friends visiting NY
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Great Location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: Caffeinated coffee was not replenished every day. Towels were replaced whether we left them on the floor or not.
The Roger Smith Hotel is well-situated in that it is walking distance to theaters, lots of restaurants, great shopping and many tourist attractions. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was very clean and it was nice having the little bar downstairs. We enjoyed our stay very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, CT

Our Wonderful Stay at the Roger Smith

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: I like that they have organic yogurt and granola in the lobby at any hour; Henry's on the Roof.
Cons: The beds could be more supportive. The mattress was high (could have used a step) and REALLY soft w/out support. Needed a firmer mattress.
Location: Great location at 48th and Lexington, midtown. Near all the places we like to hang out in to dine in without having to take a taxi. Could walk .
Our experience was very pleasant. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Housekeeping were considerate and didn't bother us until they saw us leave the room or heard us leave and then we would indicate that our room was available for them. And they really cleaned! it. The front desk was very helpful and genuinely friendly. We usually stay up the street but it was closed for redecorating and so we decided to try the Roger Smith. We are glad we did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Great for the price

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Nice, smallish (for NYC) boutique hotel -- a good break from the cookie-cutter chains. Definitely showing it's age, but in a charming, lived-in sort of way. Loved the yoghurt and granola in the lobby -- with the Starbucks two doors down, there's your breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westport, CT

Near to Grand Central

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The staff that went above and beyond, the location, the art, and the clean rooms… The rooms also had a microwave and fridge.
Cons: It was a little noisy, being on Lex, but not a big deal… it's NYC...
Location: Great location.
I checked in late with my two young sons, and the front desk was so friendly. He upgraded me to a suite! And offered us free yogurt and granola...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only thing good about the hotel was the location.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location great. Everything else run down and old. A/C was less than adequate. Not real heads up service at the door. Needs a total renovation and service changes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il

great locatio quiet rooms

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: room was very cold
Location: grand central station times square
good experience except when going to pick up luggage to catch my flight they had a hard time finding it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Great location in the city! Old style New York feel to the hotel and the staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Combines exceptional comfort, effeciency and charm

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff is SO helpful!, rooms are clean and comfortable.and the decoration is very original
Cons: Sorry- No complaints
Location: Excllent location!
Little did we know that we would discover such an exceptionally pleasant hotel! The special and very personal contribution of the of the owner- an artist - is everywhere: In the bronze decorations and sculptures which he has made, in the choice of the paintings, in the living plants you find in your room, in the care with which he has chosen the polite and extremely helpful staff, in the non-bureaucratic manner in which guests (who not treated as mere clients) are received- This hotel really care about people!