Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

More like a 4.5 out of 5 stars

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The upmarket/sophisticated atmosphere, decor, design and lovely friendly staff
Cons: Booking confirmation and process with Expedia and hotel
Gorgeous boutique hotel with standard hotel amenities. In mid town ny so perfectly central and accessible to all of New York and manhattan. Stayed in a penthouse suite with a balcony - room, including bathroom were of good dimensions especially given from what I've read that most nyc hotels have tiny rooms. Staff were lovely and very attentive to any concerns, queries or questions had with a consistent positive and welcoming attitude. Didn't dine at the hotel for any meals so can't comment on that note. However would highly recommended this hotel, especially for couples!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Week wandering New York

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and the clean tidy appearance. Location was ideal for sightseeing. Quiet but close enough to walk most places.
Cons: Could do with sorting out the noisy air conditioning.
Location: A block away from the Empire State Building and ideally located in mid town. Good bars and restaurants nearby.
Stayed a week at the hotel. The staff all friendly and polite. Very helpful with any questions. The room was comfy and spacious. (Some other reviews said it small but it was big enough). Air conditioning a bit noisy however !!! But was needed with the heat. The only downside was the small corridors around the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chew E

Central Location for my needs.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Small rooms, quiet. Good hot water.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Flower Market
I really only slept in the hotel. I had my breakfast down the street at Keko each morning with my daughter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from London

Great Hotel for lower Midtown

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The free wine hour, 5-6pm was great way to unwind after many meetings!
Location: Good location for lower Midtown Manhattan. I had meetings in the Flatiron building and lower Park Ave so I was easily able to walk to these.
Great hotel in lower Midtown for business and leisure travellers alike. Travelling on business to New York a couple of times each year I have yet to find my "go to" hotel, although following my first stay here this could be it, and if pricing remains similar for my next trip I will definately look to stay here again. I had the most basic room, a deluxe, and it was a decent size for NY, and very clean. A huge bed, and great walk-in shower, and a good space for storage of clothes etc. I liked the style of the decor throughout the hotel, and unlike many other hotels didn't have to wait long for a lift to arrive. The reception/lobby area had interesting photographs on the walls, nice music playing and beautiful floral displays, so a great first impression. Excellent wi-fi connection throughout the hotel, and a good size desk to work on in my room when required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Norma from Boulder, CO

Our favorite New York Hotel

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at a lot of hotels in New York, and The Roger is our favorite. Small enough that you don't have long elevator waits or noisy hallways. Meticulously maintained. Really pretty rooms that we enjoy. Great beds. Great service. And the location can't be beat -- getting to and from LaGuardia is the easiest of any location we have tried. It's also walking distance from the Theater District. The only thing we don't like is the price tag for the buffet breakfast: $30 a person. But it's really no problem as there is an excellent breakfast restaurant across the street, where you can get an equivalent breakfast for $10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

Nice boutique hotel.

Posted May 27, 2014
Well located. Walkable to Time Square and Union Square. Around the corner from the Empire State Building. Only complaint is TINY bathroom. Our window looked out onto a brick wall. I assume we got that room due to the Expedia discount. Comfortable beds. Nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christian Blais from Cayman Islands

Somewhat disappointed

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We decided to try a different hotel in NY for a change, especially for the terrace/balcony being offered. Booked many weeks in advance BUT front desk had no record of our terrace-specific reservation. Made us wait 1 hour in the lobby after 8 hours of air travel before finally giving us a lower grade room. Staff were apologetic but this wasn't good enough at the high rates being charged and advanced reservation. Very disappointing.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin from US

Great stay in the Roger

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, polite staff, clean room, convenient traffic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Very nice place to stay with a great location near the Empire State. Rooms are small especially the bathrooms but clean, updated, comfortable.
Cons: complementary wine bar extended to Sat.
Welcoming staff, complimentary wine bar during the work week, great breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel had no heat. room was 63 degrees