Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Read my comments above.
This was our second visit. Our room the first time was large and we LOVED the breakfast - so European. Imagine our dismay when we had to squeeze in between the sink and toilet to use the toilet! The upgraded room was even smaller but it had a terrace - this is mid December! We were disappointed in the breakfast this time compared to last: no orange juice squeezer; very little cheese and what you had was plebeian; except for a nice Prosciutto no lovely cold cuts. The hot breakfast potatoes and sausages were tasty but the eggs were badly overcooked. My dinner the night before was very sad. I had asked if you could do a gluten free meal for me and was assured that you can. Your staff and chef do not seem to know anything about gluten! We could have gone to any number of places in the area if I had known how meager my meal would have to be. I saw a promotion for breakfast and valet but they wouldn't apply it to us. Why on earth, not?! Don't give me the pat answer, please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg

Schönes Hotel in Manhattan

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Wir hatten einen wunderschönen Aufenthalt im The Roger. Alle Mitarbeiter waren ausgesprochen freundlich und zuvorkommend und haben auch jede Reservierung in angesagten Restaurants möglich gemacht. Das Frühstück im Hotel war sehr gut, wenngleich auch nicht ganz günstig. Einziger Kritikpunkt die Spiegelbeleuchtung im Badezimmer ist für das Auftagen von Makeup etwas zu duster! Sonst ein super schönes Hotel mitten in Manhattan!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute and friendly

Posted Nov 29, 2014
The location was a 15 min walk from everything I cared about... It made it really easy to pop in and out all day long. I had a great sleep on the bed - which I can't say for most places. It did take me a day to figure out that the fresh and free coffee was in the lobby (there is no instant pack in the room).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marseille

Petit hôtel très bien placé.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Petit hôtel très bien placé. La chambre double délice etait confortable et plutôt bien tenue mais la salle de bain beaucoup trop petite. Le retaurant n'a pas grand intérêt e le petit déjeuner tres cher par rapport aux restaurants des environs. Le cadre de l'hôtel redte sympa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Made our trip to New York!

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The service is excellent. The location tops. The deco funky, charming and up to date. Guest were made to feel very welcome. What more can we ask for?
Cons: Well, if we were being picky, no coffee/tea facility in the room. Apart from that, could not fault anything else. Top notch.
Location: Walking distance to Empire State, Macys, Madison Square and the green line is just a couple of blocks away to go uptown or downtown.
The service at this hotel is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful which makes for a very comfortable stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them, which is what I expect from good hotels. The room was great and bigger than other places we have stayed at in NYC. Location is also top notch being walking distance to Empire State, Macys, Madison Square and the green line is just a couple of blocks away to go uptown or downtown. The deco is up to date, funky, charming and cleanliness I cannot fault. Free Wifi (although with the resort charge - but I didn't mind that) and usable fridge is very helpful. Having drinks at the lobby is also great at the end of the day and a great vibe. We could not thank the doormen enough for getting the cabs for us whenever we wanted one. They knew what they were doing, these guys and only all too willing to help. Because of the location, getting meals is also not a problem at all from five star restaurants to the little roadside stores in front of Macy's. We had ventured to Greenwich village, Flatiron district and Central Park area as well for meals. The little place across the road is quite good for cheap breakfast when we were in a hurry to go somewhere. Otherwise, there are little cafes up the road. We also had a quick breakfast at the hotel which was great because they accommodated our one croissant and coffee in their buffet restaurant as we were in a hurry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London

NYC

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: clean & friendly & quiet
Cons: It's a little over priced for basics like a cup of tea! Tea / coffee facilities in rooms would be a bonus
Location: Its in an excellent location - pretty central but not in a busy area, close to Empire state.
Excellent location, friendly - this is about my 6 or 7th visit! highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by initiales "CMR"from france

excellent

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, bel immeuble en briques, emplacement parfait à proximité des belles avneues (Park et 5th) du metro et à 3 stations des sites à visiter au nord ou au sud de manhattan. Ambiance tranquille, belle décoration.Prix élevés mais qualité au rendez vous. Dommage pour un hôtel de cette classe de vendre la petite bouteille d'eau 6 dollars. Elle pourrait au moins être offerte au prix où est la chambre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jackiefrom Saskatoon

Fantastic!

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at The Roger was fantastic. The location is perfect. Service was great. Very clean and comfortable beds. We had a Queen room and the only negative thing was the very tiny bathroom. But it's New York and is to be expected. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Bon hotel, bien placé.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
En visite sur New-York nous voulions un hôtel bien situé et confortable. Nous n'avons pas été déçu. Personnel serviable et accueillant, chambre confortable et hôtel très bien situé. Seul la salle de bain aurait mérité d'être plus grande
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rose Ann Kozlowski

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com