Ratings based on 9,964 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
It's was just fine. Great lobby, rooms were a bit tatty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms need serious upgrading.
Old hotel. Nice lobby. Rooms need serious work. No amenities in rooms: no coffee maker, no fridge, no listing of hotel services, no clock. Expensive for what you get, but it is NYC. Hotel located very near Grand Central Station, 5th Avenue, Midtown stores and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Birthday Celebration

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location is a big factor and very clean and tidy
Cons: Room facilities
Location: All the attractions / sites are easy to get to either by short walks or the subway system. Plenty of bars and restuarants.
We booked the hotel for my wifes 50th Birthday via a package with Expedia. We arrived via shuttle from JFK. The hotel is in an excellent location and the lobby / reception area is very impressive. We were dealt with very quickly at reception and alllocated our room. Although rather small the room was very clean and tidy but did not have any tea / coffee facilities or any details of room service etc available. We later found out you needed to request a coffee machine to be delivered to the room. We never used any of the dinning areas as never saw any menus etc. Overall the hotel is very clean and comfortable and is in an excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Good, central location in Manhattan.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location, history
Cons: floors/rooms face lift
Location: Grand central around the corner, times square, empire state and rockefeller center are few blocks away
Good, central location in Manhattan. Grand central around the corner, times square, empire state and rockefeller center are few blocks away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Average hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Air condition in room was very noisy and kept turning off. Room was not as new as we thought. Its about a 10 minute walk from Times Square which was good for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wincanton

OK hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
As soon as you walk in it looks all very glam & 5 star.Then when you get into your room it all changes(desperately needs redecoration) Luckily we were upgraded(which meant we got a tiny bath) When I asked reception for some help(one of the vending machines on our floor had swallowed my money and hadn't given me the bottle of water) he said "he thinks there's a pizza take away shop around the block that sells water" I said I was kinda hoping you would at least offer me my money back.he just shrugged his shoulders.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, Uk

Great location, lacks character

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Location, room layout, size and cleanliness.
Cons: Better customer service from reception. Prices high in the bar
Location: Excellent location, near to Grand Central Station, Time Square, etc etc Subways handy but walking best fun of all.
Great location at the heart of Midtown. Fancy hotel, perhaps trading on its past a little. Rooms are large and comfortable and housekeeping staff very pleasant. Reception left a lot to be desired with minimum conversation exchanged almost to the point of coolness. On checking out we weren't asked how our stay had been except by the very helpful bell hop. Bar prices very high and not good value. No refreshments in the room, whatsoever. Safe was useful, but charges for wifi astronomical which was astounding given the populace of the place. A hotel with an interesting past, in the very best location possible, but disappointing services.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Functional

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This hotel is functional. The room was clean and quiet. The lobby is beautiful. The staff is detached and not friendly. The aminities are not mentioned in any literature upon check in. It seems they would rather avoid any extras, if possible. This philosophy is counter intuitive to the hotel experience. We had been looking forward to coming to New York for months. The city was vibrant and amazing. The big let down daily, was coming back to our hotel. First and last stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice location but hotel has seen better days.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This classic hotel is located mid-town, close to Bryant Park, 5th Avenue shopping and Time Square. While the lobby of the hotel is grand and reminds you of an era of opulence gone by, the rest of the hotel feels run down and in dire need of a refresh with stained carpets, yellow stained sinks and non existent water pressure in the bathroom. There are better options out there for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

October visit to NYC

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Very historic and close to my destinations.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. My favorite by far was Nocello for excellent Italian food.
Great hotel located within walking distance to businesses and retail shopping on Madison and 5th Ave. We had a great 3 night stay but on the last night, the City of NY started extremely loud street repair at 11:30 pm and didn't stop until 2 am the next morning. I know this was not the hotels fault but maybe they can file a complaint with the NYC street department.