Ratings based on 13,285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Nice Hotel in a Good Location

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness
Hotel was in a great location - close to Times Square, Shopping, Central Park, Theatres, etc. Grand Central Station was also practically right across the street, it had great food options and of course easy access to the subway. The hotel itself was nicely decorated - the lobby decorated in a more elegant style, and the rooms painted red with paintings above the beds. BUT we did find blood on our pillows and the lamps were run down with holes - cleanliness could be improved!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Posted Mar 3, 2015
It was good staff was helpfull just the hotel was old needs an upgrade
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本、埼玉県

グランド・セントラルに近く、マンハッタンを知りたいなら便利。

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: 普通にしていられる。余計なものがなく気楽なところ。
Cons: 部屋番号がわかりづらい。
Location: グランドセントラルまで徒歩数分、タイムズスクエアまで歩いても20分弱。マンハッタンの多くの名所を歩いて回れるロケーションです。
普通のホテルですけど、落ち着いた雰囲気もあり、ロケーションが合えばいいと思います。マンハッタンのホテルにしては安いです。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Nice central hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Conveniently situated in mid-town this hotel is walking distance to mostly everything. The staff are very pleasant. The rooms are basic, even the 'superior king', which is small and it lacks coffee/tea facilities. There isn't anything extra. Well except a hairdryer. We had a visitor come up through the sink (we stayed on the 8th floor) which was a bit of a shock - but plugged the sink and bath to prevent it flying into the room with its mates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel to Grand Central and theater dist

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Prices for Wi-Fi are way too high. I would be more inclined in the future to stay at a place that offers free Wi-Fi.
Location: I went to a play each night and found I was 10 to 15 minutes from all the theaters I attended. I also appreciate that I can easily walk to this hotel
I like this hotel for the location. It seemed a little frumpy on this trip and one night someone in the nearby room kept opening and closing their door in the middle the night which was very frustrating. The rate was reasonable but it's too bad the restaurants and Wi-Fi charges are as high as they are for what you get. I tend to go elsewhere for meals and to use Wi-Fi.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

An old gem that needs serious refurbishing

Posted Mar 2, 2015
This is clearly was a grand hotel...once upon a time. It's so close to Grand Central train station and the lobby is beautiful. However, our room was in desperate need of repairs. Our telephone didn't work, the electric outlet was cracked in half, the wallpaper/paint was peeling in corners, and the bathroom was outdated and subpar. Despite all this, the stay wasn't TERRIBLE. We had little interaction with the staff, but they all seemed pleasant, and I wouldn't blame the cleaning staff for the state of our room. The only reason why I would maybe recommend this hotel to a friend is that it's cheap and is very accessible to Grand Central.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

rude personnel, poor service and room quality

Posted Mar 2, 2015
This was a very unpleasant stay in the Roosevelt Hotel. The personnel is very impolite and not at all supportive. Never before I have felt so unwelcome in a hotel. When I booked a Superior Room in this 4-star-rated hotel, I expected way more (for instance w.r.t. the room quality and service).
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

Las habitaciones

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Demasiado pequeñas y el aire acondicionado muy ruidoso
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bethlehem

Location! Location! Location!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Grand Hotel. Outstanding staff! Immaculate. An absolute treasure. The Roosevelt is historic but has been lovingly cared for over the decades. Steam heat in the middle of the night with associated clanging leaves a bit to be desired...despite that..we can't wait to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom haarlem

Ligt goed in het centrum

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: De ligging, heel centraal
Cons: Sanitair op de kamer erg verouderd en niet echt schoon, veel kalkaanslag in bad ( daar bevindt zich ook de douche).dekbedovetrek zou fijn zijn
Location: Teveel, ontbijten aan de overkant kost de helft en erg goed.
Jammer dat ze geen gratis wifi verstrekken , niet in de lobby en ook niet op de kamer.