Ratings based on 14,255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Located at New York center

Posted May 26, 2015
It just take 4 blocks to Time Square. Very convenient for business people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Excellent staff, always helpful. Great location only 1 block from 5th avenue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Decent hotel with old NYC charm

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: - location - architecture - staff
Cons: - WiFi cost - bathroom cleanliness
Location: - Grand Central Station - less than 10 min walk to Times Square
My partner and I had an amazing experience for our first time in NYC. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel, as we explored various tourist places and neighbourhoods, but I would rate this hotel as a perfect spot for those who wish to tour around the city. We LOVED the location, just a block away from Grand Central Station! I loved the old-school feel, especially the lobby! I was concerned that the room would be tiny because of former reviews, but it was a decent size for the two of us. Our king bed was lovely, and we slept comfortably. I was a bit grossed out with our washroom; it had a lot of hairs in the shower and our towels were stained with make-up and other stuff (so we bought slippers to shower in, haha). Our television wouldn't turn on when we first arrived, so we called hotel service and someone came up immediately to fix it! We even received a follow-up call from hotel service to ensure everything was in order, which we thought was very kind. The location was great, the service was good, and the price was affordable. One last note, as a young couple, we enjoy being connected. And we do NOT enjoy paying $20 a day for 3 megabytes of WiFi. That's just an awful way to take people's money, which the hotel aims to do. But, in NYC, there's free WiFi in so many locations, so we did just fine. Do not buy the hotel's WiFi and just find businesses, like the Starbucks a couple blocks down, to use for free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom v sarasota fl

Posted May 26, 2015
Nice hotel with Character. Loved the town of the 20th century style. Clean comfortable close to theater district
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin TX

Great hotel for our first trip to NYC

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The lobby is gorgeous and room service desserts hit the spot
Cons: The carpet was dingy
Location: Very close to Grand Central, Rockerfeller Center, and Times Square.
I knew going in that the lobby and location would probably trump luxurious rooms but I was pleasantly surprised by the room. It was small but the hotel is old so that's to be expected. But it was comfortable, clean, and welcoming. We used this room to fall into at the end of whirlwind days of eating and shopping and they were perfectly suitable for that. Location was great. I have already recommended this hotel to a friend of mine planning a trip to the city. We would go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Cons: melhorar limpeza, corredor cheirando cigarro, banheiro muito pequeno
precisa melhorar a limpeza, corredor cheirando cigarro, banheiro muito pequeno.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Es war ein durchaus angenehmer Aufenthalt.Zimmer war sehr gut, leider etwas zu laut durch die Klimaanlage vor dem Fenster. Personal war hilfsbereit. Der Fitnessraum sehr gut.Allgemein eine angenehme Stimmung imHotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Old world feel, central to most sights.

Posted May 25, 2015
We had a positive and enjoyable experience at the Roosevelt Hotel. We booked two rooms for 5 adults, and managed to get them on the same floor. There was a delay at check in, we had to wait for a room to be cleaned at 5pm. They explained it was a 'holiday weekend' and hard to get staff. The room was obviously cleaned in a rush especially the bathroom. The same excuse was given when we went to meet at the 'roof top' bar that evening only to find it was closed for the weekend. It looked lovely on the website and was a key reason for choosing this hotel to start our evening there. It only takes two staff to run a bar, a waitress, and a bar tender.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas TX

Texas girls see the Yankees

Posted May 25, 2015
We were in New York to see the Yankees. We enjoyed the location of the hotel. The hotel lobby was beautiful. The concierge was helpful. The Bellboys were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated rooms

Posted May 24, 2015
The lobby is nice but the room looked so dated and boring. The area is good for high end shopping but beyond that I couldn't recommend the hotel