Ratings based on 14,472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Perfect Location
I have scored the hotel as requested and now find that I cannot complete the review as I cannot get past this box.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

The foyer is GREAT...but

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The foyer. The people at the front desk
Cons: The hallways stink of smoke.
Location: Grand Central, midtown. But if you want a bite to eat after midnight, forget about it.
This is a great location, if midtown is your preference. Proximity to Grand Central is also good. The foyer was lovely, but it set you up for a letdown, the rooms did not come close. Our room was extremely small, and ery outdated. But most disappointing was the fact that the hallway stank of stale cigarettes. Midtown is closed at midnight, so we couldn't find a place in the neighborhood to eat when we wanted. The following morning, we thought we would hit the dining room (since we were famished) The prices were ridiculous. I was a New Yorker for many years, so I am used to crazy prices, but seriously? There was little reason to wonder why there was hardly anyone there. And the service was so slow, no one even noticed that we were leaving, until we brought the check back to the front desk of the restaurant and said, "Thank you" Nearly empty, and no one bothered to even offer us some coffee. With other choices in the general vicinity at the same prices, I don't think I will bother again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice hotel, good location for walking.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Experience went well until I left and made a right hand turn off of 45th street and received a ticket because apparently you can not turn right on that corner but because there were so many cars being valet parked that I could not see signs. I think there should be a better process for the cars being parked as there was a lot of commotion on that corner. The hotel was located very conveniently and I had a great trip overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
This was the second times we stayed in Roosevelt Hotel. We will definite come back again whenever visit NY city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nykvarn

Perfekt centralt läge

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Gammaldags lyxig stil
Cons: Det borde vara bättre WIFI täckning i rummen samt borde det vara gratis
Location: Perfekt centralt läge mycket nära tågstationen Grand Central
Väldigt fint gammaldags hotell vilket känns lyxigt. Trevlig personal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel easy to reach sites

Posted Jun 30, 2015
My self, husband and 2 daughters 16 and 18. Have just spent 10 days in the big apple. Hotel was well placed to visit all sites. Found it easier to walk or get subway and grand Central just minutes away. The hotel staff were lovely and had few meals in hotel were great too. Rooms were clean and maids in every day. Would say deco bit dated but overall would recommend it to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roosevelt, new York

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Needs a kettle in the room. And foreign staff not to speak there own language in front of guest found very rude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

There's no excuse for rude staff!!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
I've never experienced rudeness like I experienced from the doormen, porters and concierge at this hotel. They wouldn't even raise their eyes from their book or interrupt their conversation amongst each other to acknowledge us, let alone answer simple questions (except of course if they felt they could harass us for tips for unwanted services.) I don't expect people to bow and scrape, but I do expect basic courtesy from staff of establishments I have paid good money to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Revisit the 90's with WiFi

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Free in-room WiFi.
Staff were friendly and enormously helpful. Room and bathroom were about the right size. Both of us thought our beds were firm and comfortable. The housekeeping staff were quick and thorough. There was some amicable disagreement about the 90's decor. With the exception of Lincoln Center and Coney Island, it seemed that we were always within 30 minutes of our destination.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Good location

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The rooms furniture is too old and bathroom is too tight and old