Ratings based on 14,644 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant Lobby, run-down room

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The room is too old and not comfortable. Lobby looks gorgeous. Doesnt worth your time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in midtown Manhattan

Posted Jul 25, 2015
This was our second stay at the Hotel Roosevelt (first was in 2010). We were sadly disappointed in the quality of the hotel this time around. The overall condition of the hotel seems to be in decline. The rooms need lots of little things -- new carpet, some bathroom amenities (the hair dryer kept falling off the wall mount, for example). The elevator system is quite frustrating and slow at times, to the point that we decided to take the stairs on occasion. The hotel staff were quite cordial for the most part, the exception being the individual manning the cloakroom/luggage hold table. He was surly, unhelpful and apparently does nothing but sit around all day while other people do the work. This is bad symbolism for such a storied hotel. We will not stay at the Roosevelt again. We should point out that we come to NYC 3-4 times per year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Ideally located.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Location.
Excellent hotel for price. Midtown location second to none.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfect location

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Wifi options.
Location: Excellent location! 20 minutes (max) from anything!
i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manhattan and if i return, I will likely return to the Roosevelt. The building was modern, yet you could tell it was very old, and very well kept. The lobby was stunning and the employees at the front desk were very friendly. The room itself was clean and tidy, your standard hotel room. There were 3 of us staying in the room, a Superior double I believe it was called, and it was a little small, but more than enough room for the three of us, considering we were basically only in the room to sleep! Upon leading for the airport, the doorman hailed us a cab within seconds which was very convenient. The only two cons I had were the wifi and the bellboys. First, the wifi was not included, which is understandable. But I would have really appreciated if there were more wifi options. You could only purchase wifi for 24 hours, for a high price of 25 Canadian. This normally wouldn't have been a problem except that we were hardly ever in the hotel, so I only used the wifi at night and the morning after. It would have been nice if the wifi was offered in hourly rates, or had at least other options. Second, the bellboys were very intrusive. We arrived before our room was ready, so we stored our luggage. The men were very persistent that they wanted to "hangout with us" and would not drop it. We laughed until it crossed the line. Also, they begged for tips which was not appreciated at a high-class hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

air conditioning too loud

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: The location is excellent
Cons: Air conditioning needs to be improved, the hotel is a little tired looking.
Location: Location is excellent
We had to change rooms due to the fact the air conditioning was too too loud and kept us awake all night. The room was disappointing with wall paper coming off the walls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel room tired needed updating.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Lobby very grand in an old style
Cons: See above.
Location: Good location
Lobby check in and baggage services need updating . Not enough staff on front desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Posted Jul 24, 2015
We were so disappointed with our stay bcz we found a cockroach in our room (very disgusting), he was alive then one of the light was not working. The room didnt have any trash can other than the one in restroom. The toilet is so outdated...There is also no fridge. The only plus is the safe in the room. No free wifi not even for couple of hours!! When we checked out we had to leave our luggages in their storage room so we had to tip the guys morning and pm when we left. they will tell u before u get the chance to do or say anything 'thank you for the tips' We've been to nyc many times but never had a bad experience. I know 1 thing we're never going back to this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much money for such a bad shape hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Very old facility, beds and pillows not comfortable at all.. Elevators?? It is impossible to access lobby from your room... You'll have to use the stairs ... Yes, even with your luggage....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sao paulo

Horrível!!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Procure outro hotel !! Os quartos sao pequenos e os quartos estao velhos!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all great locations in Manhattan

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service should be placed on high priority.
The hotel is well located and the staff are friendly. I only had 2 issues mainly, I had requested an early check in prior to coming but my request was declined upon checking in. This could mainly be due to the overwhelming no. of guests and my 2nd issue is with the room service line where I called and someone answered but I was on hold for about 25 mins. I had to approach the front desk before I could get food.