Ratings based on 9,782 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Central location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Charming and filled with history.
Cons: Rooms could be updated to be more comfortable, such as more seating.
Location: Center of Manhattan, close to Grand Central Station, Empire State Bldg., Chrysler Bldg. Short rides to Central Park and the 911 Memorial.
We found the hotel conveniently located to the attractions we hope to visit. We walked to most sites and took short cab rides to locations further away. Our first visit to New York and had an enjoyable visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Convenient midtown location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Beautiful lobby. Attentive door staff.
Cons: The video system was out of order most of the time I was there. What little time I needed the TV is was unavailable.
Location: Great location not far from Time Square and the theater district.
I stayed two nights. The lobby is gorgeous and the room was ok. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable but otherwise the room was nothing special. I admit that I am not used to the pricing structure for hotels in Manhattan.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Cons: Another mirror in the room and a quieter air conditioner.
Location: Close to time square and grand central station a great advantage
As one would expect with a location in new york the rooom was small. We were out a lot of the time however when getting ready there was only sufficient room in the bathroom for one, which is fine if you are the only occupant but there were two of us. The air conditioning was a comfortable temperature however it sounded like a truck in our room consequently our sleep was affected. Great location though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel only thing it had going was location

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Rooms need to be up to date. And wifi included
Location: It's central New York lots to do
This hotel was such a let down coming off a trek America trip camp sites had better facilities then this. Our hotel we had in Newark was more up to date. One thing it had going was the central location could walk to Central Park and time square. Now what was wrong with our stay was the hotel was dated in need a make over would think they could afford it, then our air con didn't work so when we went out asked them to have a look at it but when we came back to our room in the evening found it they never looked at it. We had to ask them again then proceeded to wait 30 mins before anyone came, he looked left that was it until a phone call just saying your moving rooms come get your key so we changed rooms at 10.30 in the evening. Now this hotel doesn't have wifi not the biggest thing but it's nice to have they was charging more then a hotel we stayed in Vegas was charging which we thought was a rip off could go to Starbucks have two coffees and get wifi and it still be less then this hotel was charging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

US Open weekend

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The location and how beautiful it is
Cons: Some of the staff need to be more pleasant to the patrons and each other.
Location: Shopping on Fifth Ave, Rockafeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Grand Centeal Station
We stayed at this hotel earlier this year and enjoyed it so when we got a good rate decided to stay there again. It is a beautiful hotel and our rooms have been fine. Bartenders in the bar could use some training on customer courtesy however, but most of the rest of the staff are fine. The location is good too. It is close to Fifth Ave and also Grand Central Station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from isle of man

Nice , well located hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Booked the hotel through the expedia app on my phone as a last minute deal . The hotel was nice , big and close to all the touristy things in the city . And although it had no breakfast or internet included in my rate I still felt it was a very good price for what you get. The room was very spacious for a Manhattan hotel . Staff was very helpful and friendly .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Quick overnight with the family

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The decor, a grand old NYC hotel
Beautiful hotel, great location. Rate through Expedia was terrific. We have stayed in many NYC hotels and this by far was the most beautiful. The room, like most in NYC was small, beds were comfortable, pillows not at all. Hotel was suppose to call us when out room was ready, since we arrived around 1pm. We never heard from the hotel and when my husband called, they said they tried,and that he didn't answer and his voicemail was full, it was not. Wifi is 14.95 for 24 hours PER device. I have never heard of charges like that before, most have free wifi or a charge per room. Not a big deal since we were only there one night, but when you have 2 teenagers with you, it would be expensive to let the whole family have the luxury of the Internet. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Girly time in the city

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Was little worried after reading bad reviews else where over the hotel. We need not of worried as rooms were clean, big enough bathroom as well. I mean all the griping I had read but was no smaller than other hotels. Yes it was noisy but hey we were in the city that never sleeps. Yes our view was other building but hey this is Manhattan. Would happily stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Convenient location, nice lobby, bad room.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Room was very small and in poor condition. Tiny bathroom, shower barely large enough to fit an average sized person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milton keynes

Nice hotel close to all areas of New York

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The staff were extremely nice and friendly and were very helpful.
Cons: To ensure the air conditioning units are not noisy
Location: Close to everything. Only a short elk from Times Square, 5th avenue, broadway etc. you must visit Ellen's stardust diner, it's a must!
The sir conditioning was noisy and on our first night we were put in a room looking at air conditioning vents and a brick wall. They did move us when we complained the next morning.