Ratings based on 10,193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mobile

Close to Grand Central.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location in proximity to Grand Central Station.
Cons: A little flexibility on check-in.
Entry point to Grand Central Station is just across the street from the hotel which is very convenient. We stayed Thurs-Sun and lived out of suitcases as there were no dressers in the room. The room was so small (2 double beds) my suitcase would fit between the wall and the end of the bed leaving no room for moving around. The bathroom reminded me of my last cruise ship. It was tiny! We choose the hotel for location and package deal but I would not recommend it to other travelers. No flexibility with check-in; arriving at 2:15 p.m. we and at least 6 other travellers were made to wait to check-in. Check-in staff was rude. She took cell number and did not call when room was ready as she had promised. She mentioned we were prepaid with Expedia and honestly we felt that was a negative because they had our money and could care less if we were dissatisfied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset

Great location.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The hotel was a little tired and could do with a little decorating. Having said that it is a charming hotel,you could feel it had alot of history. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend it and stay there again if I'm in New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice chilled and relaxed

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Nice chilled and relaxed place to go , some rooms could be a bit bigger , bar quite expensive .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
It was my first time in NY. I was traveling with my 10 year old daughter. We were welcomed warmly by the staff. Everyone was so friendly and respectful. We definitely will stay at Rossevelt Hotel in our next trip to NY.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Clean but a bit tired

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Perfect location for seeing all the sights in New York.
Cons: Individual rooms very tired and dated. Need new bathrooms, heaters and carpet.
Location: Everything is within walking distance which is why we picked this hotel. Two minutes and you are in Times Square.
The entrance and reception area is fabulous but the individual rooms let it down as they are very tired. However, they were clean and had what we needed as we were out most of the time. The heater in the room was noisy and was either too hot or too cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, excellent location.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Small bathrooms, awful pillows and questionable mattresses. Friendly and accommodating staff. The location is perfect. Can't get much more convenient. Close to Grand Central and within a ten minute walk to Times Square and Rockefeller Plaza. Easily accessed bus lines to museums and major attractions. Never took us more than twenty minutes to get places. Overall, I would stay again because of the location. The rooms are nothing special. 3.5/5 stars. The staff was great and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Great hotel, elegant style, convenient location

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Only poor experience that we had was the rooms were warm. We were there during a time when it was hot one day and cd next. AC was not able to cool room to our normal level of comfort. Other than that we loved it, had a great time, and would stay again!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smack bang in the Middle of Manhattan

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Well located, public areas far more impressive than suite we had though room very clean and everything in working order.Some noise from construction next door. Quality of food a surprise! Very tasty and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Excellent hotel situated near Grand Central.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Great base for exploring all that New York can throw at you, enjoy.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay area

Old Warhorse: good location; few amenities

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See "write about your experience" above
Location: Convenient to mid-Manhattan meetings, e.g., at Rockefeller Ctr
First time stay. Location is great. Old refurbished room, bed and furnishings OK but nothing special. Bathroom tiny but clean; Under-elevatored for that many floors & rooms. Wi-fi is terribly expensive and poor; bar is unfriendly. None of the usual amenities found at most modern hotels: eg, free wi-fi, newspaper; coffee-maker in room; an early-morning coffee in the lobby.