Ratings based on 9,020 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by yuval from israel

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Grate location. Small room. Not very clean. The staff is very nice exept the reception...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from NY

Old NYC charm

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Room was sufficient to get ready for a night out at an event. Close enough to 30 Rock to walk. Rooms/floors could use renovation --- tubs are pitted, the shower head arm pulled away from the wall. Light switch inoperable. But overall clean and safe. Bed & pillows were comfortable. Lobby has the old NYC charm that makes an evening special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location was great but the room was small

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: coffee maker!
Tight quarters, but ok. Wish there was a coffee maker in the room and that the hair dryer wasn't on such a short cord over the toilet. The bed was comfortable and the room clean,
2 out of 5
by John

4 Stars ??? Really??

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The room was old, with mildew visible in many areas of the bathroom. The cold air from the outside, comes thru the cracks around the loud ac/heating unit. Very disappointing. I have no idea how this place got 4 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from London

Average hotel very well located but tired.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Good position and nice common areas.
Cons: Rooms and friendliness of staff
My daughter was ill and they were not helpful. Extended the room for just 2 hours because they were full, but when pushed offered to extend it a further 3 hours but for $75.00, so not the hotel you want if you are ill!!! Rooms are tired and dull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from New York

Close to grand central station and shops

Posted Apr 18, 2014
6 days stay, bathrooms need updating, rooms and beds comfortable. Room service expensive as usual. No tea/coffee facility in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nance from San Francisco

Grand old hotel centrally located near Grand Centr

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Grandness. Lobby bar and hang-out spaces.
Cons: Tiny room. Service of concierge staff. Rooftop bar not open as advertised.
Location: EVERYTHING!
Gorgeous classic lobby with lots of hang-out spots and bars in lobby. Great location, across from Grand Central Terminal in mid-town Manhattan. Friendly, polite staff. Exception was concierge who, when asked about a certain tour, simply replied "We don't deal with them, we deal with x,y,z company." Made no effort to help us find or book the tour. Another concierge made reservations at a restaurant with whom they have relationship nowhere near where we wanted to eat. We cancelled and found our own place. Be careful that they are driving the agenda of a limited number of partners...not putting guests' desires first. Room was TINY! But clean and had what we needed. Who spends their time in the hotel room in NYC?? Disappointed that rooftop bar/lounge was not open. Was part of why I chose it. Listed as open in Spring, but wasn't open in early April (which is Spring). Overall a nice experience, but not exceptional for NYC. Got a good rate on Expedia, so all worth it. :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's an affordable NYC hotel, what do you expect?

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Typical non-chain Manhattan hotel. Very fancy and impressive lobby with rooms that are small and kind of beat. As with most other NYC hotels the bathroom was so small you had to strategize how to move around in order to shut the door, etc. Wallpaper in the bathroom was coming off and the shower was like you'd expect in a grandparents house. However, the room was clean, the location was great and the price was good for mid-town Manhattan. If you're looking for a brand new hotel with large rooms in this price point you need to drive about 100 miles in any direction. Overall I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old- expensive hotel with tiny rooms

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Quite simply- don't book here! This hotel is old, smelly and not worth the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from CT

Good Hotel, cramped room

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location and lobby.
Cons: Room size??
My 1st time staying there but have been to several conferences. Booked through Expedia, room with a Queen bed. Bed was at best a full size only. The room was tiny- bathroom fit 1 person if they are on the toilet. Great location near Grand Central. Service was very good.