Ratings based on 14,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel close to all the main sights

Posted May 28, 2015
Great stay comfortable rooms and very good for getting around NYC
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice hotel lobby, terrible room.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The lobby was beautiful. Also, the bartender (From Ecuador) was the only nice staff person. He was very nice.
Cons: Renovation to rooms and staff training.
Location: Times Square!
This hotel lobby is beautiful but the rooms need some renovation. The bathroom tube was cracked, the hair dryer did not work and the staff was not friendly at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
Had to wait 35 minutes for van upon arrival at the airport. We called and then waited 30 minutes. The hotel was only 4 minutes away so I'm not sure what the delay was about. The lady checking us in was rude. Hotel was clean and we felt safe even in this area. We have stayed in this area before and we did not feel safe so this was a positive.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom P

Tourist Trap

Posted May 27, 2015
Upon arrival had to change rooms 3 times util five hours later . All sort of neusances from the smell(horrible) , dirty , phones not working And a very big cost of 400 dollars a day, sanctioned by Expidia as an refurbished antique. Nothing doing for 90 years. Very bad food and expensive as a real delux NYC hotel. Solis not returning EVEN if they Payed me .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great accommodation

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Location. Nice spacious rooms.
Cons: Bathroom can be upgraded
Location: Grand Central Station, Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza
The location of the hotel is very ideal. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom could use an upgrade but it was clean and roomy. This hotel is huge. We had trouble in finding our room at first. I love that it has an old fashioned lobby. It was a pleasant stay for 2 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good location in Midtown

Posted May 27, 2015
This hotel has a good location in Midtown just round the corner fr Grand Central and a short walk from Times Sq and the Empire State Building. The lobby is very nice and while the room could have done with a bit of updating it was clean and the bed was comfortable. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
The bathroom is extremely small! The room has very little in it. If you're staying over night for one night it may be ok , but for the price you are paying you could stay at the double tree and get more out of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Located at New York center

Posted May 26, 2015
It just take 4 blocks to Time Square. Very convenient for business people.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by MMurat, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Roosevelt Hotel. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. See you Soon! Marjory
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Excellent staff, always helpful. Great location only 1 block from 5th avenue
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by MMurat, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you for your comment shared and the staff compliment. Best Wishes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Decent hotel with old NYC charm

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: - location - architecture - staff
Cons: - WiFi cost - bathroom cleanliness
Location: - Grand Central Station - less than 10 min walk to Times Square
My partner and I had an amazing experience for our first time in NYC. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel, as we explored various tourist places and neighbourhoods, but I would rate this hotel as a perfect spot for those who wish to tour around the city. We LOVED the location, just a block away from Grand Central Station! I loved the old-school feel, especially the lobby! I was concerned that the room would be tiny because of former reviews, but it was a decent size for the two of us. Our king bed was lovely, and we slept comfortably. I was a bit grossed out with our washroom; it had a lot of hairs in the shower and our towels were stained with make-up and other stuff (so we bought slippers to shower in, haha). Our television wouldn't turn on when we first arrived, so we called hotel service and someone came up immediately to fix it! We even received a follow-up call from hotel service to ensure everything was in order, which we thought was very kind. The location was great, the service was good, and the price was affordable. One last note, as a young couple, we enjoy being connected. And we do NOT enjoy paying $20 a day for 3 megabytes of WiFi. That's just an awful way to take people's money, which the hotel aims to do. But, in NYC, there's free WiFi in so many locations, so we did just fine. Do not buy the hotel's WiFi and just find businesses, like the Starbucks a couple blocks down, to use for free.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by mmurat, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 stars review. I appreciate all shared. Your comments are being reviewed by the leadership team. We hope to see you back at the Roosevelt in the near future. Warmest Regards,