Ratings based on 9,847 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland. UK

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Just got back from a short stay at this wonderful hotel. I must say a big thankyou to the staff, as we were upgraded to a lovely suite, a cake and wine was also supplied as it was my wife's 40th birthday and our anniversary. Great location, just round the corner from central station. Lovely old hotel with a fantastic grand entrance, and charming feel about the place. The rooftop bar was also great, although was a little disappointed that they stopped serving food at about 9. Overall, would highly recommend. Thanks again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Mid-Town hotel, close to major attractions.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Good accessible hotel, nice bar and great rooftop terrace for drinks after 5pm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good location but outdated & needs maintenance

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Location good for sightseeing however the room was very small an in need of maintenance. Air conditioner was really loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Good Eastside Mid-Town Manhattan location

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: I think price for room was a little higher than comparable rooms at other hotels.
Location: Location was good. Close enough to a lot of things. After all---it is on East 45th street near 5th Avenue in midtown Manhattan---What do you want to
First time at this hotel. Hotel was as expected. Very good location. Standard room was small, but very clean and very functional. Not a good idea to be in NYC when President of US comes to speak at UN, but not hotels fault.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel that has seen better days

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location, bed
Cons: Clean properly, upgrade bathrooms
Charging So much for a run down former beauty is just too much, even for NewYork
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Close to Grand Central!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Great turn of the century atmosphere. TR greeted us as we checked in and departed!
Cons: Air units could be upgraded.
Location: Easy access as previously described.
Excellent meeting point for contacts arriving from different locations. Excellent location for convenient cafes, taxis, and shopping. Would recommend to anyone who arrives by train via Grand Central!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

This hotel needs a major renovation

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The only good part of this hotel is that it's right next to Grand Central in midtown so it's easy to get around.
Cons: The hotel needs to do a major renovation. I would not classify this as a 4 star hotel.
This hotel looks nothing like the pictures shown. It needs to undergo a major renovation. The room and bathroom was extremely small and very outdated. The hotel in general just looked dirty because it was so old. When you open the door to the bathroom it hits the toliet and only one person can even stand in there at a time. I was expecting this hotel to be fairly nice based on the pictures and 4 star rating, but it was extremely disappointing. We were only staying in the city for one night, so we put up with the room, however if we had been planning on staying any longer we would have cancelled the rest of our reservation and stayed elsewhere. For any traveler looking for a nicer place to stay, I would recommend choosing a different hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but needs updates

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Updates in all aspects
Hotel is in a great location in midtown but needs a lot of updates. Bathroom was very small and was in need of updates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Hotel was everything we expected. Great atmosphere as well, on our last day, Teddy himself was there greeting visitors. Excellent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The hotel is situated in a good location. Unfortunately the staff the we came across at the hotel weren't always friendly. We didn't like the fact porters at the hotel wanted us to use the more expensive unmarked unlicensed black cabs instead of the yellow cabs. It appears that the porters take a cut from the unlicensed cabs and arrange the price on your behalf.