Ratings based on 14,226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Nice hotel, great location

Posted May 23, 2015
Enjoyed our 5 night stay very much. Grand hotel with beautiful decor. Rooms could do with a refurb but suited our needs! :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Appearances can be deceiving

Posted May 22, 2015
This hotel is excellently located and the hotel lobby looks like this hotel is well cared for but the initial appearance is definitely deceiving in this case. It's a real shame and some what sad this hotel is let down by the poor standard of room decoration, particularly the bathrooms which look like they haven't seen a refurbed since the 1997 renovation. In my opinion the owners of this hotel are doing it an injustice. For a hotel that has been around since 1924 it's a real shame. I appreciate the good price of the room charged is probably a reflection on the room standard, but once you leave the great lobby and take the lift to the room floors it is clearly evident that this part of the hotels looks neglected. The dated patterned carpets stretching the long corridors along with unmatched wall coverings could be taken from a scene out of the Shining! This hotel should be brought back to the standard it deserves. The beds and room furniture are fine - just requires a few cosmetic changes - ditch the carpets in the corridor, simplifiy the wallpaper and refit the whole bathroom with modern fully functional suites. This hotel should be shown the care and love it deserves. It has great potential, and deserves to be a front runner with substance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, Va.

First Visit To NYC Wonderful..

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Granduer
Cons: Bathrooms need to be updated
Location: Great
Roosevelt was impressive..Couple of employees seemed they didn't want to be bothered but overall we had a good experience...Our granddaughter had breakfast delivered on our 50th Anniversary, it was very nice..& she seemed to feel that the ordering process was very good. We are ready to return to the Roosevelt..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Utmärk läge

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Trevlig lobby och trevlig personal
Cons: Rummen hade behövt en uppfräschning
Location: Nära till tåg och busstationer och alla sevärdigheter
Trevlig stad att vistas i med mycket trevliga människor och enormt mycket att se å uppleva.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to 5th avenue and grand central. A bit old.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location. Comfort. Quiet.
An old style hotel beside grand central, very grand, still a bit too old in places however. Would benefit from the upgrade of bathrooms mostly. Great lobby and service was pretty good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane Australia

Great reputation but disappointing

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Checkin was chaos our room was not ready till 1600.The staff were O.K but we had just come from Honolulu and Vagas where staff were exceptional. Location is great of course. the roof top bar is O.K but try and get service!!! on leaving got our own taxi because we didn't get the bell boy to collect our bags (they wants tips)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel in super Lage

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Die Zimmer waren für ein New Yorker Hotel in einem sehr guten Zustand.
Location: Man ist in ein Paar Schritten direkt am Grand Central Terminal (Bahnhof und Subway). Time Square ist in ca. 15 Minuten bequem zu fuß zu erreichen.
Dank der Zentrallen Lage und der Metro Card haben wir sehr viel gesehen. In der unmittelbaren Umgebung des Hotels waren einige Möglichkeiten zum Abendessen und Frühstücken. Wir haben kein einziges mal im Hotel gegessen.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

Lärm

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Empfangshalle (Lobby)
Cons: Ja,kein Zimmer zu dieser Seite.
Location: Lage des Hotels ist sehr gut und vieles ist zu Fuß erreichbar.
Ich habe Hotel Roosevelt fünf Monate vor meiner einreise gebucht. enttäuschend war für mich dass, im Zimmer(Nr.1145) keinen Kühlschrank existierte und mein Haupt Problem war Lärm, auf dem Dach der neben Gebäude könnte ich einen große Ventilator sehen, der am Tag und Nacht in Betrieb war und das hat mich Gantzer Zeit gestört. Obwohl ich nicht so empfindlich bin kam ich nie zu Ruhe. Um Zimmer zu wechseln blieb Erfolglos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Nice hotel within walking distance of times sq

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location, historic
Cons: Provide free internet, need more storage for clothes
Location: grand central terminal 5 th Ave, Times Square Broadway
We were recommended to this hotel by a friend. We weren't to sure since it didn't have the amenities we wanted (free internet, free/ cheap breakfast, pool/ hot tub). But we were pleased with the hotel as it was historic, and very close to grand central, 5 th Ave, and of course Times Square were we spent most of our time and where we could catch the Big Bus which allowed us to see the most of the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roosvelt Nigthmare

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: the lobby
Cons: everything
Location: a lot of attractions nearby
Guys i`ve stayed on floor 14 in Roosvelt hotel for 3 nights. The bed not so confortable, dirty bathroom, tiny room, the dressing was broken, we had to buy taps for ears because of the strange noise outside. Terrible experience