Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lillian from San Francisco Bay Area

Nice hotel at the best location in New York

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel is excellent. We walked through Central Park to the museums and took subways to explore the city.
Cons: Air conditioning system is making too much noise.
Location: We spent a lot of time in Central Park. My daughter loved the playgrounds there. Unfortunately the carousel was not open to public during our stay
We stayed in the hotel for a week for my daughter's spring break. The hotel is located right off the central park in a very old building. The room itself is fine. The staff is very polite and efficient. Every time we made a request, they showed up at our door in a minute. The murals on the ceiling were just restored the day after we arrived and they added a lot of elegance to the hotel lobby. The food at the hotel restaurant was very good too. The only thing that makes me think about twice about returning to this hotel is the air conditioning system. It makes a lot of noise. The heater works independently from the air conditioning system so we could not turn off the heater. I could not sleep the first night with the air conditioning on so we turned it off the next day and the room was too hot then. Finally we requested blankets and keep the air conditioning off the whole night. In summer time, it may cause troubles to people who have sleep problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Great hotel, great staff. Wonderful stay and boutique experience. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by frank from San Francisco

nice hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2014
This hotel offer excellent location and services, room is very comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Houston

Great botique hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Cons: Internet speed
Location: Right next to central park on 5th Ave, adjacent to the iconic NY Apple store
Really enjoyed our stay - pet friendly, close to Central Park, but the most outstanding aspect of this hotel is the staff. Attentive but not intrusive, friendly at all times, couldn't ask for more. The room was spatious and well appointed. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bruce from Dallas, TX

Great location on 5th Ave & 59th Street

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location, staff friendliness, competence & helpfulness.
Cons: Elevator operators, really! Room Service needs work. WiFi Internet connection was too unreliable - dropped connection, unable to connect & slow speed
Location: Great location at 5th Ave and 59th St-Rockerfeller Center & St. Patrick's Cathedral are close. The Met and the Guggenheim are a taxi ride away.
These kinds of surveys are misleading, since it is difficult to convey nuances. The facade of excellent service, friendliness and helpfulness is in place. Indeed most of the employees exhibit these attributes. The very idea of elevator operators is so anachronistic that it points to a management deficiency or a prioritization of form over substance. That said, our stay was enjoyable and generally met our expectations. The one exception was Room Service. There was an order accuracy mistake that we chose not to deal with and the food was not hot by the time we received it. In the scheme of things, these are admittedly minor issues. The lobby ceiling renovation was a surprise that we should have been advised of -- before arriving. The concierge did an excellent job of securing scarce tickets for Billy Crystal's broadway show - 700 Sundays, albeit at a 2x premium over the face value of the tickets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Birmingham, MI

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Spent a weekend in October with the wife for her birthday. Great location with easy access to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was large and comfortable. I have a tricky back that gives me trouble on most hotel beds but not there. Only negative point was the renovation activity and all that went with it, but then again it seemed like a great number of places were being renovated as well. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay near Central Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Davidsonville MD

Worthy of it's Number 1 ranking

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: The "tone", you feel like a full-time resident not an overnight guest.
Cons: Be aware that the on-property Cipriani restaurant, while quiet at breakfast was a loud bustling place at dinner. Went looking for a romantic dinner.
Location: NE cor of 59th and 5th Ave. NW cor is entrance to Central Park, SW cor is the Plaza Hotel, SE cor is Apple store and FAO Schwartz. 5th Ave shopping.
Booked the Sherry based on its number one ranking on trip advisor and I understand how it earned the rating. I booked an Executive room but was given a suite without anyone mentioning it. Compared to the other high end hotels the price was reasonable, New York city reasonable that is. The Sherry is a co-op residency hotel. Only fifty of the units are available as hotel rooms. Therefore the staff really does work for the "guests", the residents. Those of us there on a temporary basis benefit from this attention. A wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penelope from Perth Australia

Perfect hotel for a stay in New York

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: EVERYTHING, location, service, staff, quality, amazing bed, little extras. Just amazing!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central Park, Hop On Hop Off Bus and Shopping galour
This hotel ticked every box for us from the moment we arrived till the day that we left. Fabulous service, upgraded to a room with a view of Central Park. Arrived early and was checked into our room as the General Manager was leaving the room after inspecting it. She stayed to show us the facilities in the room. VERY impressed! We just couldnt fault this hotel. Especially the little touches like free WiFi and drinks in the mini bar each day. Just a perfect place for our first visit to New York and wouldnt stay anywhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service and great location.

Posted Aug 28, 2013
The restaurant in the hotel was great, room was stocked with beverages free of charge and the staff was courteous. Would stay again, definitely.