Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Excellent all around experience

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Can't say enough good things about it! The staff was excellent room was comfortable and as it was my birthday the hotel provided us with a nice surprise and personalized birthday card!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robyn from Long Island

Convenient Hotel with nice Touches

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Very convenient to 5th Ave/Central Park South. Nice room touches included fresh flowers, complimentary in-room water, sodas and coffee. Friendly and attentive front desk. Breakfast discount at Cipriani.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lillian from San Francisco Bay Area

Nice hotel at the best location in New York

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel is excellent. We walked through Central Park to the museums and took subways to explore the city.
Cons: Air conditioning system is making too much noise.
Location: We spent a lot of time in Central Park. My daughter loved the playgrounds there. Unfortunately the carousel was not open to public during our stay
We stayed in the hotel for a week for my daughter's spring break. The hotel is located right off the central park in a very old building. The room itself is fine. The staff is very polite and efficient. Every time we made a request, they showed up at our door in a minute. The murals on the ceiling were just restored the day after we arrived and they added a lot of elegance to the hotel lobby. The food at the hotel restaurant was very good too. The only thing that makes me think about twice about returning to this hotel is the air conditioning system. It makes a lot of noise. The heater works independently from the air conditioning system so we could not turn off the heater. I could not sleep the first night with the air conditioning on so we turned it off the next day and the room was too hot then. Finally we requested blankets and keep the air conditioning off the whole night. In summer time, it may cause troubles to people who have sleep problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Great hotel, great staff. Wonderful stay and boutique experience. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by frank from San Francisco

nice hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2014
This hotel offer excellent location and services, room is very comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Houston

Great botique hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Cons: Internet speed
Location: Right next to central park on 5th Ave, adjacent to the iconic NY Apple store
Really enjoyed our stay - pet friendly, close to Central Park, but the most outstanding aspect of this hotel is the staff. Attentive but not intrusive, friendly at all times, couldn't ask for more. The room was spatious and well appointed. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by julie from RI

What a hotel should be...

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The very best location. Consistently, courteous, professional and discreet staff .Large rooms with beverage-stocked refrigerator. Included are all the basic overnight essentials should you forget something. Super comfortable bed. All the comforts and safety of home. I would not stay anywhere else, unless forced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bruce from Dallas, TX

Great location on 5th Ave & 59th Street

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location, staff friendliness, competence & helpfulness.
Cons: Elevator operators, really! Room Service needs work. WiFi Internet connection was too unreliable - dropped connection, unable to connect & slow speed
Location: Great location at 5th Ave and 59th St-Rockerfeller Center & St. Patrick's Cathedral are close. The Met and the Guggenheim are a taxi ride away.
These kinds of surveys are misleading, since it is difficult to convey nuances. The facade of excellent service, friendliness and helpfulness is in place. Indeed most of the employees exhibit these attributes. The very idea of elevator operators is so anachronistic that it points to a management deficiency or a prioritization of form over substance. That said, our stay was enjoyable and generally met our expectations. The one exception was Room Service. There was an order accuracy mistake that we chose not to deal with and the food was not hot by the time we received it. In the scheme of things, these are admittedly minor issues. The lobby ceiling renovation was a surprise that we should have been advised of -- before arriving. The concierge did an excellent job of securing scarce tickets for Billy Crystal's broadway show - 700 Sundays, albeit at a 2x premium over the face value of the tickets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Birmingham, MI

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Spent a weekend in October with the wife for her birthday. Great location with easy access to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was large and comfortable. I have a tricky back that gives me trouble on most hotel beds but not there. Only negative point was the renovation activity and all that went with it, but then again it seemed like a great number of places were being renovated as well. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay near Central Park.