Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent hotel and location, extra friendly staff

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Staff were amazing with my kids who were treated like royalty. Nice, clean rooms and location was great for all modes of transport. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Some of the best service I've ever received. True luxury.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not sure what the hype is about

Posted Jul 14, 2015
The hotel has virtually no lobby nor public spaces. As many reviewers raved about how historic the hotel was, I was expecting something to see. Rooms were comfortable but bathroom had very poor lighting and pre-2000 hair dryers. The ones that suck your hair in the back end and leave you having to cut it to get it out of the fan. It was a totally fine stay but would spend $500 like that again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Northwest

A jewel in New York City!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: It has all the elegance of yesteryear, and all the conveniences of this very minute.
Cons: Nothing. It was perfect.
Location: Central Park is across the street! Hotel is ON Fifth Avenue for shopping! Theatre is 1 block away! Restuarants everywhere! What more could you want?
"The Sherry" is a precious jewel of a hotel, offering an exquisite taste of life on the Upper East Side for a reasonable price. If you've even wanted to know what it is like to live the life of delicious ease that only a very few could ever afford, or can afford today, then spend just a little bit more and stay at The Sherry, and you will never regret your decision! The staff is accustomed to pampering its many full-time residents, and they treat the hotel guests with the same gracious courtesy. It is just a sumptuous experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely, just lovely!

Posted May 28, 2015
This hotel was more than we could have hoped for. Great location, lovely spacious room with a view of 5th Avenue. The staff were friendly, helpful and most importantly genuine. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by wini from Irvine, California

NYC Getaway!

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
FABULOUS!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The charm, the elevator operators, the people.
Cons: Keep doing what you are doing
Location: Central Park is a hop skip away, and museum row, the Met, the Guggenheim, the MOMA. If you love museums, this is the place to stay.
I had a wonderful stay at Sherry Netherland. It's an older hotel and a place for guests who will be respectful that this is not a high gloss, new hotel that will cater to your every whim. It is a place to cherish the old school charm of the Upper East side, where you have wonderful doormen who care about your whereabouts, and a staff that is very kind but are not doormats. I personally love this type of hotel. I loved the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, and the location. I also loved the warm welcome I received when I arrived late and ordered a small bottle of wine to wind down. The staff were very helpful and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Iconic, old-school hostelry.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
The lobby renovation reminds one of the Gritti Palace in Venice (ditto the elevators). Great staff: desk, bellman, doorman, etc. The elevator operators even remember your name and your floor without being told, like Claridges in London still does. Also they don't try to nickel and dime you with the refrigerator stuff like most places -- everything is complimentary. Smallish rooms (at the lower rates), but comfortable, reminiscent of the fifties. Location unbeatable, right at the corner of the Park on Grand Army Plaza. A class operation. I am particularly fond of Harry Cipriani's restaurant, right off the lobby. comfort food, albeit pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Barbara from Los Angeles

Love the Sherry

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
This is a wonderful hotel. The staff never disappoints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bryan from Delaware

Iconic gem

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
This is a great place to stay in the city !! The location is perfect , the service is very attentive, the room wonderful and you couldn't ask for a better hotel experience