Ratings based on 822 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Beautiful hotel close to Times Square

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The hotel was well maintained and the rooms were very nice. Very modern look to everything. We would stay here again when we come back to NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted Aug 23, 2014
First time staying at this hotel, very impressed with cleanliness of the hotel and how welcoming the staff was. Walking distance to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping made this hotel an easy choice. Highly recommended!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Good location & friendly staff

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff were helpful and attentive, including concierge (Ms. Jackson), front desk and lobby attendants. Lovely view from the rooftop bar.
Cons: Noticed a few holes in the bed sheets and bathrobe. Consider extra hook or towel rack in the bathroom.
Location: Walking distance to Times Square and plenty of shopping nearby.
We stayed here for 3 nights for a girls' getaway. The room was on the 8th floor facing another building so nothing special about our view, as other reviewers. We chose this hotel for it's location - walking distance to theatre district. Pretty tight room but as to be expected for the area. Despite the huge bed, the room seemed more like it was for one guest, as there was only one bathrobe and one hook for towel in the bathroom. Was disappointed that we couldn't use the fridge as it was full of mini-bar items that would incur an automatic charge if removed, but we were able to request a coffee maker in the room, which was nice. One out of two elevators was down for maintenance during most of our stay, which was a bit of a nuisance, so we just made use of the stairs a few times. The rooftop bar was closed between 5-9pm 2 out of the 3 nights we were there for private functions, so we only visited once briefly after we came back from a show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

First time in NYC.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The Strand was a great place to stay in NYC. The hotel was easy to get to from Penn Station and very close to Times Square and Empire State Building. Our room was very nice; king bed with good linens and lots of pillows, large stand-in rain shower, big screen tv, mini-bar and great view. Although our view wasn't as high as some (9th floor), we could see the Empire State Building and the busy street below. The staff were very friendly and helpful, providing maps and tips on where to eat and what to see. Service was prompt when we asked for wine glasses and extra towells and body lotion, which was a change from our usual experience. Obviously we would recommend this hotel to anyone, and look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I would stay here again. Great service, location, and staff. Close to attractions. We were able walk to the big bus and walk to times square.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

UGH! Really disappointed. Poor experience!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
A warm welcome on arrival and a spotless bathroom were the only good parts! I was given a voucher for a drink at the roof top bar - wait staff dismissive, verging on rude, and I was invisible to the bar staff. A large area, mainly unused, was off limits due to a private party and there was nowhere else to stand or sit. A pity as the view looked pretty. In my compact room there was no coffee or drinks maker. I was told by a concierge that if I had been staying longer I could have asked for one. I ended up going out when I was thirsty, although I felt it is not brilliantly located from a personal safety perspective, there seems to be a 'private' shop a few doors along on the same street. Questions asked of staff were either incorrectly answered (such as access to the roof top bar for photos during the day) or met with a dismissive attitude. Housekeeping knocked really early (9am) the next morning so I felt rushed to check out. At check out, no-one thanked me for my visit, nor enquiried about my stay.... Overall a very poor experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent choice

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Staff, comfort, location.
Location: Bryant Park for a morning coffee or afternoon drink is two blocks north. The High Line is a 15 minute walk southwest.
We stayed in a rear facing room on the 17th floor. The view was of other buildings instead of the Empire State Building which you can see from the roofirst top bar. Being on the back of the building shielded the noise of the DR parade staging on 37th. Our room was large, the king bed very comfortable and the bathroom/shower were large enough. All of the staff we interacted with were friendly and professional. The hotel is very nice and well located. Our cab to LA was $32. The rooftop bar gets crowded and loud later but that's the type of place it is. There are many pubs around if you want lower key. We would return for sure and recommend to friends who want a Midtown location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Next to the Empire State bldg.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Rooftop bar
Cons: Concierge sent us to a bad restaurant
A nice boutique hotel in midtown close to th Empire State bldg. Conveniently located but on a nondescript street with some empty storefronts and an adult club. Staff was friendly. Rooms clen and quiet. Good rooftop bar caters to a younger crowd. Breakfast not included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Very nice

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Customer service was great; hotel staff very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View of empire state building

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Got a room with a view of empire state building. We book this hotel especially for a night tour of empire state building. A lot of restaurant nearby fiting every budget. We tried a new yeak steak restaurant while walking to time square and the empire state building. The night view on 86th floor of empire state building was spectacular. walked back to hotel after midnight. The beds are very comfortable. Will stay if visit nyc again.