Ratings based on 1,566 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Hotel good; view bad

Posted Apr 23, 2015
No complaints about the staff - they were super friendly and accommodating of our late checkout request. Room was pretty clean - just a small (barely noticeable) stain on our bedsheets... Rooftop bar was as good as advertised for the view. A little disappointed they don't serve dessert up there to go with our nightcap! The big disappointment was our view from our room. I totally understand that a lower rate room in price will not have a gorgeous city view, but ours was of the back alley and the old fire escapes and it just felt super dirty. Overall, would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Lovely hotel but shame about outside noise

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Location/staff/friendliness
Cons: Soundproof rooms, can think of nothing more.
Location: This hotel is close to everything, my daughter and i walked everywhere
Great hotel and great staff, very clean and room very comfortable, my only criticism was outside noise which went on all night.But would stay again.Lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cranston

Great location and a cool vibe

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The roof and break value
Cons: more seating on the roof
Location: centrally located, 15 minute walk from Grand Central. 2 miles from Central Park
I booked the hotel for my wife's 50th birthday weekend and it didn't disappoint. The room with a king bed is a little small but it worked OK for two. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had one maintenance issue, (broken hairdryer), and within 5 minutes it was replaced. The breakfast is extremely reasonable by NYC standards but the star of the hotel is the Roof top bar. The view is spectacular, the drinks were amazing although a little pricey, the DJ was great and the waitstaff were attentive. I would suggest you get there early if you want a comfortable seat since it does get crowded and there is limited seating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom München

Sehr gutes Haus

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Liegt toll, hat Stil, die Bar auf dem Dach mit Blick auf das Empire State ist der Hammer. Besonders hervorzuheben ist das ausgesprochen freundliche Personal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: modern style,comfort
Cons: very low water pressure in the shower
good modern small hotel in midtown comfortable small room, good quality bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom High Wycombe

Very Good Hotel in very Good Location

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: View from room and roof top bar amazing.
Cons: tea and coffee making facilities in room. Room service and downstairs bar close very early
Location: Very close to lots of attractions
Everything was as expected as we booked the hotel based on reviews, very friendly staff, had an excellent view of Empire State
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds

Great beds in a good location.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: The comfortable beds.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Great location for Broadway.
Great position. A fabulous rooftop bar where you can get light bites. Room was very clean, bathroom very usable and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast, which was an added cost, not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Washington

Great location to Times Square

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location, clean atmosphere, and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Lower the price of the drinks...so expensive!
Location: Close to times square, Macy's, and Madison Square Gardens.
We had a great time in New York and loved staying at The Strand. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We loved Kevin in the bar....so friendly and mixed a great drink!!! The room was very comfortable and we would definitly stay at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

The Hotel with the best staff ever!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The excellent and professional staff.
Cons: The in room coffee maker that I requested was an espresso maker. I prefer brewed drip coffee.
Location: The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Time Square.
I stayed for 6 nights at the Strand in New York City and it was more than I expected. The best part was the very helpful, personal and through staff. Everyone from the manager to housekeeping was extremely friendly,helpful and courteous! The location is perfect too. I recommend it highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Jose , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of The Strand. Our entire team sends a big thank you for your words of encouragement. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Strand when your travels next bring you to New York City. Warm regards, Jose Lema Regional Director of Guest Relations & Training
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lugnt läge vid 5th

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Härlig personal Rent och snyggt Löjligt bra utsikt från rooftop över Empire State Building
Cons: Åtgärda den bullrande airconditionanläggningen
Location: Lugnt läge vid 5th, nära till tub och tåg. Bryant park runt hörnet och gångavstånd till Times Square och Grand Central
Byggarbete i huset intill löste morgonväckningen när vi var där 2/4-12/4 inget annat att beklaga sig över. Härlig personal!!