Ratings based on 766 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Less then expected

Posted Jul 24, 2014
The hotel is in a great location but my home although large was a bit old and tired looking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Loved the Strand!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Everything
Great hotel right in mid-town....staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Liked the location.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff.
Cons: Did not like the shower head. Also, the safe was in a drawer and not permanently fixed in place. Did not feel so great about leaving valuables in it.
Location: 34th street shopping, subway, diners and a short walk to Times Square.
We've stayed in Manhattan many times usually closer to Times Square, but I prefer this location. Quieter at night, close to subway, shopping and caf├ęs. They were great and upgraded us to a room with a view of the Empire State Building. Rooms are small, but updated. Staff are friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern ireland

Great hotel in good position

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Position
Location: convenient for all Manhattan attractions
Great hotel for experiencing New York City. Room was good size, with wonderful view of Empire State Building and Manhattan. Staff were extremely courteous and helpful, nothing was a problem. Definitely return to this hotel next time I visit New Yorkp
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Young and dynamic hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: I liked the room's view
Cons: The last floor rooms soundproofing
Location: The location is great .
Our first room was at the 20th floor and very noisy because of the ups and downs of the stairs to the roof top of the waiters. the second night we asked for another room and they moved us on the 19th floor and the room was more spacious and quieter. Beautiful view over the Empire State Building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel with comfortable rooms

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Able to check early early with a view of the Empire State Building. Staff was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, close to broadway

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Great staff, modern and clean room. If you go in weekends free street parking, no need for paid parking and very safe neibourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

Beautiful hotel, clean, close to time square

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Friendly staff. Accommodated an early check- in. This was terrific and allowed to maximize the stay in comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooftop bar and very good restaurant.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
I reserved this hotel for a weekend theater trip for my spouse and mother. Their reviews were raves. They found the staff very friendly and responsive, the rooftop bar and view something out of the ordinary and special, the room very nice and the restaurant very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in the heart of Midtown

Posted Jun 29, 2014
We found this hotel to be very good. It's location was perfect as a base for sightseeing, close to the Empire State Building, Penn Station, Macy's etc. the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was excellent, clean and the restaurant was very good too, if a little expensive (although this is NYC so it's to be expected). The rooftop bar offers great views although it's popular so expect it to be busy. We had no complaints about the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others thinking of basing themselves in Midtown.