Ratings based on 712 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra D. from Toronto, Ontario

Fantastic location!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
We just got back from our trip to NYC. The hotel was in a great location (west 37th and fifth) and close to all the major attractions in that part of the city. The staff were lovely to deal with and our room was exceptionally clean. I had heard great things about the hotel's cleanliness and it's true. No bed bug issue there. The ONLY thing I was not really happy with was the shower and small bathroom. No counter space to put anything on and the shower had less water pressure than I prefer and there was only a half glass wall so the water kept getting onto the floor. It was not a huge deal though. I will stay there again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

top hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: friendly and situated in a nice street
Cons: coffee and tea making facilities
staff were very helpful from the moment we arrived early to check in and accommodated us with no problem food was nice in the hotel but quite expensive as was the really nice rooftop bar .Our room was very clean and looked after well it was quite small but all we needed for 3 nights .The hotel was situated in a really nice area ideal for sightseeing in midtown and downtown Manhatton.The concierge was very helpful could not ask for more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New York

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very clean. The staff very friendly, always greeting us, helping us hail cabs and looking after all our needs
Location: Excellent location for us. We walked everywhere from our hotel. There were so many things to do nearby, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Centre,
My daughter and I had a wonderful time in New York. The Strand Hotel was one f the best hotels we have stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Cons: Coffee maker should be in the room
The hotel was clean and very comfortable. The staff was beyond helpful, curtious and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anita from Southsea UK

Good location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Price of drinks in roof bar too high.
Location: Loved the location - managed to get to see all of the places we wanted to mostly on foot. Did not like the subway..... Cab is better !
Loved this hotel. Easy to explore all the sites on foot and only a few minutes to walk to shops on fifth avenue. Staff all very lovely and helpful. Room was very comfortable - especially the bed - slept very well! View of Empire State from roof bar was great .Would definately come back here and recomend to anyone . Very good value .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeanni from Toronto

Nice hotel downtown NYC

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Decor is nice, staff is very friendly.
Cons: Breakfast in the Bistro was not very good.
Location: Times Square, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center all within easy walking distance.
The hotel is very well-situated for sight-seeing in NYC. We walked almost everywhere.. We were first in a room on the 6th floor, which was very noisy due to all night construction across the road. After we mentioned this to the staff they moved us to a much quieter room on the 11th floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View

Posted Mar 24, 2014
The hotel was very nice, the view and location excellent. Staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nathan from Scotland

Great hotel in a great area for sightseeing.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
My wife and I stayed at The Strand for a long werkend incorporating St Patricks day. The hotel was bright and modern, it's perfectly situated for sightseeing with Time Square, Empire State and The Rockerfella within a few blocks. What really made our stay great was the staff, Peter at reception managed to get us a room change to the front of the hotel with a perfect view of the Empire State Building while Carlos was great for taxis and assisting with our luggage. The tiniest negative was our room didn't have a coffee maker or a full size ironing board (whereas others did), but we spent so little time in our room it really made no difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by becky from norwich

Nice hotel - really close to Time Square

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Room was lovely the one thing that let it down was no coffee making facilities. The mini bar was expensive and had to be used as we fell ill during our stay. Didn't like the table top mini bar that stated even if you "touch the items you will be charged"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from London Canada

Lovely hotel close to subway

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: The only thing I would suggest is that they indicate that food is not served at the top of the strand after 10
Location: The hotel is located very close the Herald Square subway station. We travelled all over Manhattan with ease.
We stayed at the Strand last year and decided to stay again. The rooms are small but quite sufficient space for two adults for a week. The staff are very courteous. No one passes without saying hello. We had breakfast three times in the restaurant. The food is good and the staff are very attentive. The fitness room looks good but with all of the walking that we did, we did not feel the need to use it. We did attempt to go to the top of the strand as we read so much about how beautiful it was. My husband and I had tickets for a 7 pm show so we grabbed a quick bite before and thought that we would go to the bar for a drink and some nibbles after we returned to the hotel. Unfortunately the kitchen closes at 10 and we were too late. The view did look good but we needed to eat so we had to leave. It would be helpful to indicate somewhere that food is not available after 10 as the items listed are bar type foods and I did not think to ask.