Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Wanted to stay close, but not too close to Times Square and this was a great spot for that. Not a busy street that sits around a bunch of restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. Easy walk to Times Square as well as to Grand Central and Penn Station. Room was clean and staff was nice enough. We weren't around the hotel much to have much interaction. The roof deck bar seemed cool, but was reserved for private events both nights we tried to check it out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MA

Nice hotel close to our conference!

Posted Sep 21, 2014
I found this hotel online, was taking a bit of a chance going to a hotel I did not know. Upon arrival our room was not quite ready, the check in staff directed us to the lobby restroom to freshen up from our journey. The bellman checked our bags and my daughter and I headed out for an afternoon of shopping. When we returned from shopping our room was ready. We loved the decor and the cleanliness. We only stayed one night, but will consider booking again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the rooms, and the attentiveness of the staff.
Cons: Pay per view movies would be a very good addition.
Location: Very close to Empire State Building, Macy's, New York Library, fairly close to Times Square. Also close to good restaurants.
Our stay at The Strand Hotel was one of sheer delight. We stayed in a deluxe room which was roomy yet cosy, the decor was modern and stylish, the amenities within the room were well thought out and accommodated all of our requirements. Our room was thoroughly serviced each day to a high standard. The hotel staff were welcoming, helpful and informative. The roof terrace is a gorgeous visual attraction for the hotel. The location of The Strand is perfect for exploring all that New York has to offer, we will be visiting New York again next summer and would not think of staying anywhere BUT The Strand Hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to visit New York. The only fault we found was that there was no facility for pay per view movies which would have made an excellent way to wind down after a busy day shopping and sightseeing!!! There's always room for improvement for any hotel, hence the 4 out of 5 in some cateogories.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Should have pay per view movies in the room.
The hotel is in a great location in midtown. Walking distance to the fashion district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location between 5th and 6th Avenue 3 mi

Posted Sep 8, 2014
A fantastic hotel with a personal touch. The staff are friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them, they are able to provide plenty of expert advice on places to go and things to do. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The rooms at the front of the hotel offer views of the Empire State Building. The rooms at the rear look out onto other buildings. The roof bar is expensive but the views are stunning. Walk to Macy's in 5 mins, Empire State 5 mins, Times Sq 10 and Central Park 25. We will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enfield Uk

Great location, easy to get downtown, uptown etc

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Great location, clean, friendly and a great roof top bar looking right at the Empire State.
Cons: Food menu could have a bit more on offer and sometime Wifi is very slow and you have to log out and in again to try to get response.
Location: Great Central Location
Very central and just off 5th, Bryant park two blocks away, great place to pick up a Starbucks, Pret or other. Then sit for breakfast, lunch or just people watch. Times sq very close, so great for Theatre etc. Macy's and Empire State only 5 mins walk. Things that are a must, Empire State, Top of the Rock, Statue of Liberty, Radio City, Helicopter ride/tour and of course shopping. Most eating venues are casual and fast, be aware most portions are enough for two. So don't order starters and mains each as much will go to waste. Average meal for two approx 130 dollars. Beer in Hotel $8 (£5 ish) and about $5 in a bar. A great break, would recommend a week, 4-5 days is to short as to much to see and do, so would be wasteful to fly over 3000 miles and just shop.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good experience spoiled

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The only reason I would not recommend The Strand Hotel is because the air conditioner in the room was extremely noisy. This was a pity, because apart from that it was a very nice hotel, very conveniently located and the staff were very polite and helpful. Unfortunately the room was very small and the air conditioner close to the bed which made it difficult to sleep, which is very frustrating when you are on holiday and we were exhausted after three days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful hotel close to the Empire State Building

Posted Aug 30, 2014
My sister and I stayed in the beautiful Strand hotel throughout our recent stay in NYC. We had views of the Empire State Building from our room and although in the centre of Midtown was reasonably quiet. Only a minutes walk from Times Square and broadway. All staff are very helpful and accommodating. Overall a fantastic stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location. Friendly staff!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I will definitely return! Perfect location between 5th and 6th Avenue. A great central point to go to Chelsea, Hell's Kitchen, The Roc, Macy's, Empire State Building etc. Close to 34th subway stop. Check it out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Beautiful hotel close to Times Square

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The hotel was well maintained and the rooms were very nice. Very modern look to everything. We would stay here again when we come back to NYC.