Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Huddersfield England

Four night celebratory birthday break in NY

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: See Above.
Cons: Nothing - from our point of view it was a perfect base.
Location: See above.
The Surrey Hotel is in a very good position; near Central Park just off 5th Avenue and in the quieter Upper East Side. Our room was extremely confortable with every amenity and kept to a high standard of cleanliness and comfort. Although the hotel was very busy you were totally unaware of adjacent guests. There was the occasional early morning street noise but not excessive over which the hotel had no control. We didn't eat in the dining room at night but enjoyed excellent breakfasts every monring.The hotel has a very lifely bar which attracted lots of other people as well as hotel guests. The hotel is close to the subway on 77 street and also buses running down 5th Avenue. We used both to explore Manhattan. The hotel is within walking distance of the Metropolitan Museum of Art and many other interesting museums and art galleries. My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to visitors to NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville TN

Loved everything about it. This isa myNY hotel.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: museums. Very quiet neighborhood.
SUPERB! My room was the perfect size. The room service was prompt and the door men were at my service. THEY ALSO LET ME STAY AN EXTRA 3 FOR FREE BECAUSE MY FLIGHT WAS DELAYED...... 5 STAR
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom bournemouth UK

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Service was stand out .
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location to explore New York with lots of close great bars and restaurants to explore.
Hotel was superb , great staff who could not help enough , room was very clean and delivered to a super standard which was maintain on every day during our stay .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
This is my favorite Upper East Side hotel. It's easy walking distance to the Metropolitan Museum, the Frick, Central Park and good restaurants. It's comfortable with understated decor in the rooms, an excellent restaurant, a really nice bar and a roof deck in the summer. Staff are pleasant and very helpful - much more so than in other hotels I've tried in the neighborhood. The only negative is street noise from Madison Avenue. Request a high floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surrey

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Lovely hotel, very conveniently located, cosy and elegant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse, NY

Nice hotel, great part of town. Thin walls.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Food and distance from the park.
Cons: The walls are incredibly thin. You can hear the next rooms conversations.
Location: Great location for central park, museums, and shopping.
The hotel is very nice and in a great area close to central park. My only complaint is that the walls are thin. The first night girls were up talking the whole night and you could hear them pretty clearly. The next night was okay but in the morning we were awakened by two people moaning and groaning. Not pleasant. The room is was nice and the food and service was great. Its a little pricey for what you get but it is in a really nice part of town so that is expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Pretty perfect.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff, fantastic location, delicious food, amazingly comfortable luxurious bed.
Cons: Remove the expensive wifi access charges and put a book in the room with details about the hotels' amenities and services!
Location: Great for Central Park, Park Avenue, Museum Strip etc. By 77th subway so you're right on the green 6 line going south to the tip of Manhattan.
I stayed for two nights in the Surrey and it was everything I look for in a hotel. Spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff, fantastic location right by central park and Madison Avenue and 2 blocks from 77th subway station, delicious food, huge room with everything you need, and an amazingly comfortably, luxurious bed that I wish I could have taken home with me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel, great neighborhood

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: the shower is amazing. Cafe Boulud is amazing
Cons: In room Internet should be free considering the room rate
Location: Cafe Boulud
Nice hotel, great neighborhood, close to Central Park and midtown. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The Surrey

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Wonderful Upper East Side location. Loved everything about the hotel, especially the rooftop space. One suggestion is to add a makeup mirror in the bathroom. Most importantly the rooms facing the street are extremely loud. We have stayed all over the city from the St. Regis to the Carlyle and this is the loudest yet. Otherwise its lovely. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Outstanding!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Luxurious accommodation with exquisite service...location perfectly central to all New York has to offer!