Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveller5678 from Northamptonshire, UK

Iconic New York Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Grand surroundings. Historic hotel.
Cons: Plumbing!
Location: Central to the main shopping area. Close to Central Park and Times Square.
We had a brilliant stay. We arrived at midnight due to snow delays at the airport and were greeted by friendly staff and a room upgrade. Our luxury suite was absolutely lovely. The decor is welcoming and grand, in keeping with the overall ambience of the hotel. The beds were really comfortable. The rollaway we needed was delivered before we had to ask for it! Throughout our stay the staff could not have been more helpful. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Uk

Great Iconic hotel, great location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
My wife and I enjoyed a great weekend at this hotel, the suite we had was very spacious and the staff could not do enough for you, although only a continental breakfast was included this was more than adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R from Scotland

Grand old Lady

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Ambience
Location: Easy walking and subway to everywhere. 10 minute walk to central park, times square, grand central, broadway.
Amazing Art Deco Hotel. The Astoria Lounge was a great breakfast, and the 19th floor fitness suite excellent. Concierge helpful and friendly. Worth the extra for the Towers. Will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by melissa

Great hotel but not as clean, updated as expected

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Great overall. But the price should afford better cleanliness and updates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Long Island

Luxury in Midtown

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Attended an event at the hotel, so decided to stay overnight and arrive a little before the event. The Towers staff is personable, efficient and highly accomodating. The Suite was quite large, and well appointed, and the free continental breakfast the next morning was outstanding (including eggs, breakfast meats, cereal and fruit, in additional to the traditional coffee, juice and pastries). The wait staff at breakfast was highly friendly and helpful. The only aspect that prevented "5's" across the board was that the bathroom is looking a little dated, as was the furniture in the dressing room. However, overall the experience was outstanding, and I do plan to repeat.
2 out of 5
by Jack from Scotland

Faded Elegance, more faded than elegant!

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Not Much. Its in a great area.
Cons: Refresh all the suites. You know it needs it when the gold plate has worn off the bathroom taps!
Location: Close to just about anything you might want to do in mid town.
The Towers was converted some time ago from apartments to hotel suites and rooms and it looks like it could do with refreshing. The first suite we were shown had a nasty smell (plumbing?) so we insisted on a different suite which, although better on the fragrance front, needed refreshing and some maintenance (air con in living room rattled). Staff were pleasant and accommodating as they could be but have an uphill battle on their hands. The breakfast room does not match its "refined" description so we ate out after not even finding room in the Astoria's breakfast room. Second morning we had a nice breakfast in the Peacock Lounge in the main Astoria reception. Overall, a bit of a disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sherry from New York City

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Staffs are excellent and very helpful.
Cons: I would like the rooms to be more sophisticated as far as the remodeling aspect of it.
Location: Many things. Very easy to access to places.
Overall stay was good. I can see the quality of decorations and upgrade labor work in the room and bathroom is not good. There are minor flaws. The view from the hotel was ok as well. Normally the housekeeping service come once a day, but I think for Waldorf Towers they come twice a day. It's fine, but they came in to our room while I was in the shower and while I was sleeping. It made me feel uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
3 out of 5
by Rnedewa from Madison, WI

Good Option for large groups

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: the spaciousness was nice, and having a piano was nice (not necessary)
Cons: Service when you have such a large group, beds, fully equipped, would be great to have when you check in.
Location: Near Rockefeller Center and a 10-15 min walk to Broadway.
We were with 4 kids, including 3 teenage girls, and we had a very large suite at the Waldorf Towers. We put the 3 girls in the dining room on rollaway beds, and could shut the door at night to allow them to giggle and talk about the recent show they just saw. That being said, one bathroom for 6 people was a bit troubling. There was some good, intricate planning on who would shower when. The worst thing was that we got 4 rollaway beds, and they came with sheets and pillows, but no blankets. We called at 10:45 for 4 blankets. We called again at 11:30. They said they were experiencing an unbelievable number of requests, but would get them to us ASAP. We called again at 12:30, this time angry. They assured us they were on the way. At 1:15, we couldn't get through (they wouldn't answer) but finally answered and said they were on their way. If I was a hotel attendant at that point, I would have gone and found 4 blankets, and brought them up myself. I even asked if there was a place I could go get them from housekeeping, but no dice. Finally, with all the girls dressed in their winter coats in bed (the heat was not very productive in an old building), we decided they weren't coming and we went to bed. At 1:45 the phone rang to tell us the blankets were there. 3 hours later. Worst of all, they only brought 3 blankets. The WiFi also worked very poorly in the room. When we didn't need to deal with staff, everything else was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel great... Room disgusting.

Posted Dec 28, 2013
While I appreciate the history of the hotel and the grandeur of the lobby, our room was like a cheap roadside motel. Stained and peeling wallpaper, peeling paint. I don't know if it was because we booked through Expedia and they gave us a cheap room, but I would not stay there again.