Ratings based on 4,950 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Big name, no substance

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Lets say the hotel is miles away from its glory days. I spent a few days there in late 90s. It was pretty nice then. Now, mostly chipped paint and smelly carpet. Bathroom was old, cracks everywhere and even the vanity door was remaining half open all the time. I guess nobody even has bothered to fix it. Overall, not a pleasant experience at all. I frequently travel to NYC, and I have stayed in much nicer hotels for less than this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from U.K

Beautiful classic hotel.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The style, grandeur and opulence. Central location and very comfortable rooms
Cons: Redecoration and modernisation of the rooms. Serious overhaul of the room service ( lack of )
Location: Very central for all the sights and venues. Taxis buses and subway all on the door step.
This is an iconic beautiful classic hotel where so many famous people have stayed in the past. It is now run by Hilton and some of the rooms seem rather 'tired' and in need of redecoration. Whilst the reception staff, and bellhops are very helpful and pleasant the same cannot be said for room service staff. They were rude and unhelpful and were unprepared to deliver hot drinks to the room in under an hour at any time of day or night. Come on Waldorf either fire these people or put beverage making facilities in the rooms. The in house breakfast restaurant Oscars was very good but outrageously expensive for a buffet style offering - no wonder nearby the coffee shops and diners were full of Waldorf guests enjoying similar food in a buzzy atmosphere at a quarter of the price. Much the same could be said about the main restaurant - the Bull and Bear. So many other options locally at a fraction of the price and equally as good. Overall a fabulous experience but marred slightly by the points mentioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Historic Hotel that is getting rundown

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Historical hotel and location. Park Ave is not as busy with pedestrian traffic as other streets and I love that.
Cons: Service. There needs to be more people available at reception and definitely more people at the front doors.
Location: Close to Fifth Ave., Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Times Square and MOMA.
Our family has stayed at the Waldorf Astoria many times while visiting NYC. We just got back after a four night stay and I have to say I was a little disappointed. The hotel seems to be getting more and more rundown. I found some of the staff to be more than accommodating while others appeared kind of lazy. It used to be that when you walked into the hotel there were people opening doors or welcoming you. There were always people around to offer to get a taxi for you but this time it was hit and miss. I guess you have to stay in the Waldorf Towers if you want that kind of service anymore. We were on the floor of the Club room and saw tables of half eaten food (in the hallway) that were left there for over 24 hrs. We upgraded rooms upon arrival (for an additional fee per night) and were able to get into it right away which was great but later that afternoon (after we were totally unpacked and wanted to freshen up for dinner) we were told they had to move us to another room because of some maintenance issue and they needed our room for access. I understand these issues arise and cannot be helped but the packing and unpacking thing again was a pain and didn't make the beginning of our stay the most pleasurable. This hotel is not the highest end of hotels in that area but it's also not the lowest and is still pricey. We continue to stay in this hotel because it's historical and we love the location but if the service continues to go downhill we will look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

New York Landmark

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Everything was perfect right down to the Bull & Bear and the accommodating staff! Only complaint was the terrible view of the exterior ac vents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

It was an excellent stay we love the location.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: We loved the hotel all around awesome stay.
Cons: The room need a little improvement around the bathroom area and the window need to be clean by the outside.
Location: Excellent
The family love the hotel it was in the middle of New York very easy to fine. It had a great location and a beautiful view of the city. We will make plan to return in the soon and we will tell our friends. Thanks hermes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Collingwood

Wonderful hotel.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: They have maintained the old time grandeur and charm
Location: You are within walking distance to several of the attractions - Times Square, Macy's, Rockerfeller Centre, NBC Studios, Grand Central Station.
The staff could not have been more accommodating. We arrived early and were allowed to book in. It rained on the Saturday afternoon and we all received umbrellas. Concierge very knowledgeable about everything. The room was impeccably clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

We would certainly stay there again.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Our room was scruffy and tired. Free wifi and a coffee machine.
Location: Location is terrific, we were able to walk to lots of places. Not too far from Central Park, Times Square, the MoMA.
We would certainly stay there again, the location was great. The staff were very approachable and helpful. We did have a problem with our shower, which we spoke to the reception about. We think they tried to fix it but were not able to. The room was clean but tired and outdated. Window blinds ripped, bathroom needed renovating. The bed was clean and comfortable. It was easy to print off our boarding passes in the Business Centre. It is a shame they charge for wifi in the room and don't provide a coffee making machine in the room. New York was a terrific experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
I guess with the reputation of the Waldorf Astoria, I expected top of the line. It is an old hotel, and our suite 17A was very outdated. Even with the A/C turned off, the room was always cold. The bathroom was also so very small. The staff were nice, but didn't go out of their way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley, CA

Very nice hotel with a lot of history

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: I love the grand decor that brings thoughts of a gilded age.
Cons: My TV remotes were tough to use--probably bad batteries. I called up late one night for a replacement, but it never came.
Location: It's in the heart of NYC. There's everything to do.
The experience was very nice. I had a suite that was spacious and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The hotel's location is convenient.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
The room we were assigned to is in need of updating. It was clean , but, old.