Ratings based on 4,711 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay in the centre of midtown

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Weekend getaway , great stay in the midst of everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: very elegant, excellent staff
Cons: air conditioning system and change rugs
The service was very good from the staff, the A/C didn't work so they provided a small a/c unit and the next day they switched us to a suite with a working a/c unit. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was clean and enough towels. I didn't appreciate not having free wifi, after all it is not cheap to stay a the Waldorf Astoria. It's location was excellent. we got around fast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Conway, SC

Visit to New York

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: History of the hotel. Great shower.
Cons: Needed a blow dryer and a coffee maker in the room
Location: Times Square
Excellent experience. Wonderful hotel. My wife and I experienced a wonderful weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big disappointment

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Historical atmosphere.
Cons: Service.
Location: Location is great. Many restaurants, cafes. Walking distance to many touristic spots.
Booked a deluxe room. At check-in I was told the room was facing Park Ave. Great! But it wasn't, instead facing the side plus in front of an air unit. So I asked to replace it with a one with a better view - if possible. They said "No problem but we can do it tomorrow morning and you pick up your new room key after 3pm". Who knew after 3pm would mean after 7pm, and only after reminding the front desk twice. The second room was much larger, but as almost always, bigger doesn't mean better. There was a strong mold/mildew smell, later tracking it to the shower curtain; mildew all over it. Then another surprise; carpet under the TV stand probably wasn't vacuumed for months. And then comes the bill for fast check-out. Charged for 3 nights instead of 2. I call front desk so we can fix it on the phone and I won't have to wait in the very long line at the reception (once again). Called twice, no answer both times. Well, thank you, the invoice was corrected but waiting at the line for almost half-an-hour instead of auto-check out. So, this has been the experience about the room(s). Restaurant in the lobby wasn't any better. First night cookies/pastries took 30 min to arrive, still very cold because very possibly frozen and took 30 min to defrost. Finally, last experience at the hotel; I order a sandwich at the lobby restaurant and it comes totally burned at the bottom - & I mean burned. Otherwise, great hotel, if you don't stay there and only visit the lobby area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

A true historical hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Having stayed at this hotel many times, it was a little disappointing this time. The valet staff seemed very stressed and one night I came back to the hotel and noticed my car was brought around yet I did not call for it, made me nervous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The comfort and location.
Cons: The cleanliness, a helping hand with my luggage when arriving and departing from the hotel, and consistency w/ getting a taxi for all guest.
I usually stay here because I love this place. The staff is awesome, and the place is extremely comfortable. I usually feel stress free. However, I encountered some issues for the first time, but it they were all resolved. I wanted to take a bath but there were bits of hair everywhere. It was a bit frustrating when getting a taxi on numerous occasions, and when I had to carry my luggage. I didn't have any help with my luggage into a taxi. Another night, I didn't get any help w/ getting a taxi like the other guests, which made me almost late to my show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, England

5 night stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Impressive architecture
Cons: Tea/coffee facilities in the room. Couldn't believe in this day/age there wasn't any.
Location: Grand Central stat very close & walking distance to Times Square if like us you don't mind a 20 - 30 min walk. Lots of deli's and coffee houses nearby
The hotel was in a good location for what we wanted & looks impressive. However the windows are very old and let the noise in from the street. The bed was very comfortable and the room spotless but no tea/coffee facilities or fridge. The hotel kindly gave us a free voucher each for a drink as it was our honeymoon but this was slightly spoilt by the barman taking 10 mins to serve us as he was so busy chatting to the large party in at that time (not actually serving them), Good to try once but not sure we would go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Awesome hotel in great location We loved it. This review requires too much text
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Horrible staffs at reception, need renovation

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Be careful when checking in, you might have paid for luxury room and you will end up in superior rooms, so many different room layout and the hotel staff get away with putting travelers in lower rate rooms . Asian woman who checked us in was extremely unprofessional and rude,. Mark was unhelpful too and wanted to just handle the room situation with couple of free cocktail at bar !!! Extremely low level staffs at such great and historical hotel!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near many NYC landmarks

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Check-in process
Walking distance from Time Square, Rockefeller Center. Short walk to bus line and subway station. Check in process cumbersome and slow for a hotel in it's class. Room clean and well kept, although the bathroom needed updating; wallpaper coming off walls in places and could have used a fresh coat of paint. All in all a great location, but I will most likely chose other accommodations on my return visit to NYC.