Ratings based on 4,895 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Still worthy of a 5 star

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The Waldorf has a rich and storied history and it lives up to it's reputation today.
Cons: Not much from our perspective. Perhaps some special pricing for return customers.
Location: Very centrally located in midtown.
Weekend at the Waldorf exceeded expectations for this family of four. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff was friendly and accomodationg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife, Scotland

Iconic Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Customer service, public areas, location
Cons: Some of the rooms need upgrading
Location: Shopping - obviously! Empire State Building, Cycling in Central Park, or skating in the winter, Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, The Freedom Tower.
We had a 5 day stay here, checking in at 10.30pm on the first night. We were very disappointed with our allocated room, it was tired and worn with a soaking wet carpet that had obviously just been deep cleaned, not at all the 'Luxury Suite' we had booked. When we raised our concerns with reception staff they were very apologetic and we were immediately moved to a much better suite and given complimentary drinks to boot . The staff are fantastic, from the moment you step out your cab to the time you depart. The hotel public areas are beautiful and grand but the rooms can be a bit tired, so don't always just accept what they are offering! Overall though a great hotel, perfectly positioned to walk to 5th & 6th St, up to Central Park and there are loads of great restaurants and cafes around - definitely take the concierges advice on that!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

A grand old lady past her due date

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: price of the rooms, coffee and internet.
This will be my last stay at the Waldorf. I have stayed there twice before and noticed the decline but now I have to say that the Hiltonisation of the facility is complete and a stay there now turns into a race to avoid extra charges. The facility is tired, beds sag, paint cracking, windows jamming and plumbing noise at all hours. Internet is about$20 per day , a cup of coffee the same ( no facilities in room) and if you only tip the bellman a dollar a bag he really gets grumpy. On the bright side it is still a great location and there is a very convenient starbucks across Park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Musty & Moldy

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Staff were all great!!!
Cons: Keep ahead of the improvements of this historic building and deliver on the total experience.
BEAutiful hotel that has huge history, but check in line was 20 minutes, public restrooms very dirty, no towels, mens handicap restrooms in main lobby area missing hardware on the walls (looked awful). Rooms were musty and smelled of mold. Waited in another long line to address room quality. Staff not overly surprised, VERY friendly and professional and moved us to a different room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Awesome NY Experience

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Cons: The Bell Hops were somewhat lazy. But after some encouragement he agreed to get our luggage from the lock up and bring it to the front of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is well situated close to Times Square, Central Park, and Grand Central Station.
Our first trip to New York and chose the Waldorf Astoria because of the history of the grand hotel. Comfortable and luxurious are words that describe the hotel and suite. We would come back after a long day of experiencing NY and our room would be perfectly made by the hotel staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear Sherman, It is so wonderful to read your kind words about the Waldorf Astoria! We are so pleased that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your recent stay. We hope you will return to the Waldorf Astoria in the future, and that we will become your hotel of choice in New York City. Many thanks, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Doesn't live up to it's reputation

Posted Aug 20, 2014
We chose to stay at the Waldorf because of it's reputation of excellence. It did not live up to its (my) expectations. The facilities were mediocre and the serivice was lacking. It started with a room that was not ready, even though we were only a very short time early, and it was all downhill from there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear John, We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service and accommodations you deserved during your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We will use your comments on our atmosphere and procedures as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations, and we hope for the opportunity to show you the true standard of service and luxury at the Waldorf Astoria in the near future! Yours in service, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not recommended if you stay at old tower!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
we stayed one night in old tower . for taking shower it took 15 min. for water gets warm. the room temperature was not working property and finally we have to turn it off. the bathroom and room was very old . the line for check out was too long and just 2 people was working at reception desk and when I asked to see manager it took another 20 min for her to show up! and when I complain about lines she just said ok thank you for letting us to know!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia Traveler, We are sorry for any and all inconveniences you experienced while you were here at the Waldorf Astoria. We realize that there are some areas of our hotel that require attention and improvement, and your comments will be used to further that commitment at our property. We hope you will reconsider your experience at our hotel and return to see the progress we are making in the future. Yours in service, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Close to places we went to.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location. Safety. Cleanliness.
Nice . A lot of walks/exercise. We were able to see all the places we planned to see. Tiring, yes but we felt relieved as soon as we reached this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia Traveler, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location in Midtown East, and that you were made comfortable as soon as you returned to our hotel after a long day in the city. Our aim is to impress each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case. Many thanks, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

It's the Waldorf Astoria! Need I say more?

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: Would love to have coffee service in the room. Having to schlep over to Stabucks for a coffee in the morning was annoying.
Location: Perfect location, walking distance to almost everything.
The grand elegance of the historic Waldorf Astoria! If you're looking for chic or trendy, you've booked the wrong hotel. THE Waldorf Astoria is everything you could imagine in old school elegance. Fit for Kings, Queens, Princes, and Presidents, the place simply resonates class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for your gracious remarks regarding the historic ambiance and character of the Waldorf Astoria! Indeed, our history runs deep, and we aim to make each and every one of our valued guests feel as if they, too, are a Prince or Princess of Park Avenue. We hope you will return to the Waldorf Astoria in the future to experience the highest standard of luxury once more, should your travels bring you back to New York City. My best regards, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stylish well located and historic

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The room was a good size for midtown manhattan. Decor is tired but clean. Common areas are stylish and well maintained. Problems with room eg missing blind and bathtowel were quickly fixed. Not a great location for restaurants but there are plenty to choose from further afield. Avoid the Rockefeller centre restaurants. They are touristy and overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear Tanuja, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Waldorf Astoria. Thank you for taking the time to let us know the details of your personal Waldorf experience! Yours in service, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms