Ratings based on 4,552 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for sightseeing!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The lobby is amazing and the rooms are pretty special too
Cons: The food and drinks are pricey but you're in New York so plenty of alternatives to choose from.
Location: Excellent location close to grand central station and Chrysler building. You can also walk to Times Square and Central Park from here!
What an experience! The Waldorf is a real treat to stay in. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel has a luxurious feel! We stayed as a family of four and thoroughly enjoyed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

30th birthday stay!!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
No tea/coffee facilities in room. No swimming pool In hotel. Great staff and clean room everyday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimberly from Upstate NY

Can't go wrong with the Waldorf!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Room was large and comfortable; price was very reasonable; loved the large bathroom!
Location: Excellent location in midtown Manhattan. Not too far from Grand Central, Rock Center, etc. Easy to get to many sites within midtown.
This is a wonderful hotel! We stayed for one night (my husband and 2 children) after a Knicks game, and were more than happy with our stay. The hotel is absolutely beautiful; our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was extremely large (by NYC standards), and there was a very large closet to store our belongings. Hotel staff was courteous and prompt. Price was very reasonable for midtown Manhattan!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from South Shields, UK

Old historic hotel in need of some refurbishment

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Very good location.
Cons: More attentive service, refurbishment of the bedrooms and bathrooms.
My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014. The hotel is very historic and has many original features from around the time it was built in 1931. I stayed here in 2009 and nothing has changed. The hotel is quaint but looks a little tired now considering the extremely high cost of the rooms. Very central location in mid town Manhatten about 7 mins walk to Rockafeller Centre, 20 mins walk to Empire State building, 2 mins walk to Saks on 5th Avenue and 5 mins walk to Grand Central station. The entrance is not as 'grand' as you would expect for such a famous hotel, there is no doorman to greet you like some of the other high end hotels in New York. The service is okay but not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from Ann Arbor, MI

Waldorf Astoria

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Art Deco design. Treated well by staff. Lots of history in this hotel. Very fun stay.
Cons: Double beds are too small. Should offer rooms with two queen beds for families.
Location: We walked everywhere. Close to Rockefeller Center, New York Public Library, Chrysler Building, Empire State Building, Times Square, Theater District.
Excellent location for mid-town sites and activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vivien from Frodsham

Great hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Position
Cons: Free WI Fi in other parts of the hotel, so that reception is not full of teenagers on their phones.
Location: All of Manhatten is close to this hotel
This is a lovely traditional hotel. There is a real history to this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by clive from Bury St Edmunds

Family break

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and excellent surroundings. Close to all the sights New York has to offer.
We arrived at 11:30 pm to be told our room was not ready as the previous guests extended their stay. Not what we wanted to hear having spent 7 hours on the plane, 2 hours to go through immigration and 40 minutes transfer from JFK....HOWEVER we were given $100 extra room spend and vouchers to get a drink at the bar while our room was being prepared. The overall experience was very good but the beds were not the usual king size we have come to expect when holidaying in the US. Guests do need to be prepared for very expensive meals at the hotel but you will be guaranteed excellent quality. We ate at one of the hotels restaurants and the food and service was first class!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Emma from England, UK

Highly recommended!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact that this is one of the older hotels in New York and is full of character and history.
Cons: Perhaps more staff on Reception as only 3 desks were open out of about 6, and queues soon built up.
Location: Fantastic location. On Park Avenue, near to Central Station. A short walk to 5th Avenue (for those who like shopping).
This is a truly historic and beautiful hotel. It would be hard to find fault with it. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was fantastic (junior suite). Upon arrival we were initially given a different room from that expected, but when we returned to reception, they were quick to change us to a much better room The breakfast, which was included in the booking, was amazing. Fresh fruit including delicious strawberries, along with yummy pastries, hot buffet (bacon, sausage, eggs, etc) and attentive waiters who just keep topping up your fresh orange juice. Just make sure you make a booking which includes breakfast as it is nearly one hundred dollars per person if not. No complaints whatsoever. Everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the heart of Manhattan.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Style, room sizes and overall facilities. Friendly staff and plenty of them. Well organised.
Cons: Internet access in the individual rooms. During busy holiday periods, it does need rather more medium priced restsurant and breakfast options.
Location: Central Manhattan. Everything New York has to offer is nearby. Theatres, cinemas, Central Park, railways, museums, shops, restaurants, etc etc.
Not a "budget hotel" but apparently competitive for central Manhattan. Very well appointed and staffed with generous flashes of its imperial history. Very well situated for all the major attractions in and around New York. Allow plenty of time for access and plenty of cash for drinks, food and staff tips. Rooms are quiet and well appointed. An upgrading of their mobile phone network was ongoing and the internet access was fine in the public areas but needs attention in the individual rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Doddinghurst Essex

Fabulous icon close to most attractions

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Lovely hotel, room faded luxury but still good - slightly chilly needed extra blankets. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel bar room service and mini bar silly prices but excellent location and not every day you get to stay in such a glamorous landmark.