Ratings based on 6,821 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
We stayed for 5 nights at the end of March/beginning of April and had a really lovely time. Checking in and checking out was very quick and we didn't have to wait around for the elevators at all throughout our stay. The room was very spacious, with plenty of storage and the bathroom was a very decent size too. We had fresh towels provided every day and the room was cleaned with the bed made every day too. Although I can understand why some people found the lack of free wifi an inconvience, we actually enjoyed having a few days away from our phones and enjoying everything New York had to offer and there's free wifi in the lobby if we needed to check anything. We had room service on the first night and the food was really delicious, although a little pricey. The hotel is in a fantastic location and very close to lots of the main tourist sites such as the rockefeller centre, empire state building and central park. We would definitely recommend staying at the Waldorf and overall had a fantastic experience staying there!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Disappointing

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The lobby is beautiful and the bars and restaurants are top class, but not for families. I may have enjoyed it more if I was there with my wife only.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi in the rooms
Location: The location was good, with easy access to all the best things to do and see in NYC.
I stayed there with family over Easter and found the staff cold and unhelpful, and was shocked to find I still had to pay for Wi-Fi having just come from a lovely hotel in Boston (the Lenox) where it was free. I may have enjoyed it more without the children because the bars and restaurants looked lovely and were always busy, but they are too expensive for a 14 and 7 year old. I would have been better off staying at the Warwick hotel again. I think the Waldorf is more for business trips.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Such a shame

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The food, the lobby,
Cons: The staff
Location: Great location
They promised me (3 times) a roll away bed and said it would be brought in to the room at 6pm. At midnight they brought it up (after 2 or 3 phone calls) and they realised the bed didn't fit in the room. At 1 am they moved us to another room. Not once was there an apology. Nobody seemed to know what was happening. It was only the check out girl who seemed to have a clue what she was doing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Perfect location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
The Waldorf was perfect for our first visit to NYC. Our room was big and beds and pillows amazing making for a comfortable sleep. The only downside was room smelled of cigarette smoke and water pressure for shower was poor. We were on 17th floor facing park Ave so quite noisy - esp at weekend not helped by having ice machine right outside our door. Staff were all very helpful and we loved the grandeur and just sitting in foyer with the piano playing. We did not eat in the hotel - seemed quite expensive. Surprisingly difficult to get a cab on weekend evenings. Would try Uber next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Nice size room for NYC.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Large size room
Cons: wi fi
Location: good location for St. Patrick's Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, Saks fifth Avenue...a bit of a walk, but do able to Times Square.
For NYC it was a large size room and lovely. Of course no view for this special price. Staff very nice and accommodating. All extras expensive. Seems a shame they do not offer free WI FI and yet all the chain hotels do. Beautiful surroundings in the hotel, but that all comes at a cost. It was a pleasant experience I had been looking forward to...I was satisfied for the special price with expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Yang

Too old facilities

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: facilities
Location: very good and decent Chinese restaurant next to the Lexington Exit.
old facilities, noisy A/C, weak water flow, and as Anbang, the Chinese Insurance company already purchased this hotel, why the Chineselization is so poor? and the lounge is so popular that we have to wait in lines to have a cup of coffee...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paisley Scotland

Old fashioned style!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Fabulous ambience and excellent location in heart of New York.
Waldorf was what you might imagine - a hotel with history!! Beautiful lobby with good old-fashioned style. Staff were helpful, professional yet friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review! It is wonderful to see that we were able to exceed your expectations with the service received and our historic element. Historic sophistication and modern luxuries are uniquely part of the same compelling experience at the Waldorf Astoria. I am pleased to read that this was your impression, and we hope that we have the great pleasure of hosting you again on a recent trip to New York City. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Perfect location!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The location is so ideal for shops, restaurants and the theatre! And of course the old world charm and ambience, spacious rooms with high ceilings!
Cons: Maybe update the carpets and drapes.
Room was available upon check-in and was nice and spacious. There was a little problem of water dripping in the tub so we called to inform them and they sent someone up to fix it immediately. Since it was not going to be a quick fix the front desk offered to change our room and upgraded us to this fabulous suite on the top floor! It was amazing for the rest of our 6-day trip that when our flight home was cancelled we were so happy the room was available for us to stay one night longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to the Waldorf Astoria, and that we were able to provide you with an exceptional solution to any issue you faced. We know that your interactions with our staff members can define your hotel stay, and we strive to provide a unique service experience that is anticipatory to the highest degree and personalized to the occasion. We believe that the very best service experiences are genuine, anticipatory and personalized and we will continue to work to ensure our guests find that level of service at our hotel. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: very polite staff and lovely room
fourth visit would not stay anywhere else geat stafff and fantastic room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
What a great review! We’re delighted that we are your go-to place to stay in the city, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Wonderful for the history but showing a little age

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The history and the decor.
Cons: I would like to see a coffee maker and a fridge in the rooms rather than a mini bar.
Location: Great location. Everything is close in NYC Never a problem finding a cab. Working on subway but just a few blocks to the next station.
The experience of staying at the Waldorf Astoria is a treat. The hotel is beautiful but it is showing some age. Our room had some peeling wallpaper along the windows and the back of the bathroom door was in need of repairs to the door and the paint. The rooms and beds are comfortable but not large. The rooms are kept very clean but we did have to ask for bath soap twice when they did not replace it during our stay. There are no fridges or microwaves in the rooms and no coffee either but there's a mini bar with a bunch of alcohol which is useless to me. The lobby is comfortable and has a wonderful decor. The on site breakfast buffet was outrageously expensive--$44.00 per person and mediocre at best. The eggs on the buffet table were not great but I do have to say the freshly made omelettes were very good. The pastries were dry and rather tasteless. Certainly not worth the calories or the price. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The concierge didn't know where to go to have coffee in the area. The hotel hosted two black tie events while we were there and it was great fun to see everyone in their evening attire.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Cat, Thank you for your review. The Waldorf experience is meant to be one of carefree indulgence, with everything you could ever want just a wave of the hand away. I am glad that this was your experience, for the most part! Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand. Warm regards, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager