Ratings based on 4,709 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay in the centre of midtown

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Weekend getaway , great stay in the midst of everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: very elegant, excellent staff
Cons: air conditioning system and change rugs
The service was very good from the staff, the A/C didn't work so they provided a small a/c unit and the next day they switched us to a suite with a working a/c unit. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was clean and enough towels. I didn't appreciate not having free wifi, after all it is not cheap to stay a the Waldorf Astoria. It's location was excellent. we got around fast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Conway, SC

Visit to New York

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: History of the hotel. Great shower.
Cons: Needed a blow dryer and a coffee maker in the room
Location: Times Square
Excellent experience. Wonderful hotel. My wife and I experienced a wonderful weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

A true historical hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Having stayed at this hotel many times, it was a little disappointing this time. The valet staff seemed very stressed and one night I came back to the hotel and noticed my car was brought around yet I did not call for it, made me nervous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, England

5 night stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Impressive architecture
Cons: Tea/coffee facilities in the room. Couldn't believe in this day/age there wasn't any.
Location: Grand Central stat very close & walking distance to Times Square if like us you don't mind a 20 - 30 min walk. Lots of deli's and coffee houses nearby
The hotel was in a good location for what we wanted & looks impressive. However the windows are very old and let the noise in from the street. The bed was very comfortable and the room spotless but no tea/coffee facilities or fridge. The hotel kindly gave us a free voucher each for a drink as it was our honeymoon but this was slightly spoilt by the barman taking 10 mins to serve us as he was so busy chatting to the large party in at that time (not actually serving them), Good to try once but not sure we would go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Awesome hotel in great location We loved it. This review requires too much text
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Horrible staffs at reception, need renovation

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Be careful when checking in, you might have paid for luxury room and you will end up in superior rooms, so many different room layout and the hotel staff get away with putting travelers in lower rate rooms . Asian woman who checked us in was extremely unprofessional and rude,. Mark was unhelpful too and wanted to just handle the room situation with couple of free cocktail at bar !!! Extremely low level staffs at such great and historical hotel!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near many NYC landmarks

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Check-in process
Walking distance from Time Square, Rockefeller Center. Short walk to bus line and subway station. Check in process cumbersome and slow for a hotel in it's class. Room clean and well kept, although the bathroom needed updating; wallpaper coming off walls in places and could have used a fresh coat of paint. All in all a great location, but I will most likely chose other accommodations on my return visit to NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft lauderdale, florida

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: the look of the lobby.
Cons: the bathroom could be upgraded.
Location: native new Yorkers now living in florida. Rockefeller center, central park, shopping
stayed two nights. service great! beautiful lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear Grandma, What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some comments regarding your recent stay. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to New York City in the near future. Thank you, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Ability to walk to most things of interest

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: We loved the history, attention to detail and the feeling of grandeur.
Cons: Perhaps signs in the lobby indicating which street you are exiting onto would be nice. It was a bit confusing since the lobby had two similar exits.
Location: Close to most things if you like to walk. We even walked to the Empire State Building from there.
The Waldorf Astoria has character and the lobby is beautiful. The people on the most part were very nice. The concierge we spoke to was extremely nice and helpful. The room was very small and crowded, but the bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also small. It could have used an update, but it was nice enough. It was disappointing to find that they charged you an upgrade on your car for parking if it is an SUV, which wasn't mentioned until check out. The reservation said a certain price per day, but no mention that I saw of an upcharge for oversized cars. The ability to store your luggage free for a few extra hours after checkout was a real plus. We walked to almost everything we did in NYC, using the subway only twice. Of course, we love to walk! Wear comfortable shoes! We took in two plays, one on Broadway and one off broadway. Didn't care for the dirtiness of Times Square. We could have done without the naked cowboy and topless grandmother, as well as the topless showgirls. Made me feel like I was in Las Vegas! All in all, we had a very nice time.