Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Signal Hill, CA

Great value and close to the subway

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The Union Hotel happened to be directly across the street from where I needed to be, so I chose it based on location. The value was superb, and the location was incredibly quiet. The room was very small, but average by NYC standards. Everything worked well in the room and the complimentary breakfast at a diner a couple blocks away (at the subway station) was superb!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Great POD hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Very Private definitely a place for a person or a couple to have "Me Time/Us Time"
Cons: ROOM SIZES PARKING
Location: Very convientant to mass transit to get to attractions of NYC
The rooms are small but cozy. I believe hotel should state that in description. Bathroom was MARVELOUS, but hotel could have made them a little smaller to increase room size. Floors 4 and above give you great view of NYC skyline if assigned room in alcove of hotel.Breakfast voucher to local diner was AWESOME. I WOULD STAY HERE ANYTIME!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton PA

Good for price!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, price, breakfast included
Cons: Room size , or take the sharp corner off of the beds!!
Good location 2 blocks form R subway with breakfast included outside of subway stop, felt safe walking to hotel at 10PM , very small room, mattress soft, BR and shower fine. could leave our luggage before checking in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providence, RI

Weekend Wedding

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Location: Lots to do in the area, close to NYC, and Flatbush...
Reasonable rates for the weekend. the room was small but very clean. Only thing I would change would be better lighting in the bath, and i did not see a vending or ice machine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Getting better.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: It's convenient to the subway which takes you to Barclays Center (or you can even walk there), or into Manhattan.
Cons: Some of the bedding could be better.
Location: It's convenient to Barclays Center, hip Park Slope area and subway that takes you to Atlantic Terminal, which gets you trains into Manhattan or L.I.
I've stayed at this hotel plenty of times over the last 6 months so I'm used to the "quirks" of this place. The staff for the most part, do what they can to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are small (hence the term, "boutique hotel"), but if you are only looking for a place to lay your head for the night, you could do a lot worse. The key is knowing what floors to choose. I've found that the higher floors with low numbers (i.e. 306, 303, etc) have the better room setup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Updated, clean hotel close to the Barclays center

Posted Jul 1, 2014
When I first walked into the room and walked strait into a bed, the other reviewers weren't kidding when try said the rooms were tiny! But no reason to judge for a small room. It was extremely clean and comfortable. Very nice staff. Price is great for an area and getting a place so close to the Barclays center. Wouldn't definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No space for comfort

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Staff is pleasant and helpful. Hotel is clean and easy on the eyes.
Square footage is a premium entity in this neighborhood hotel. If you don't mind bring cramped around a bed with very little room to maneuver suitcases or bodies than the rest is okay. The decor is sparse but clean and modern and pleasant looking. Short on amenities too-- no lotion, tissue, phone, food service or instructions for TV. Perhaps I didn't understand what a boutique hotel is.
2 out of 5
by Brendan from Australia

Tiny room hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, 24 hour desk, breakfast included at local diner
Location: Close to subway
Never stayed in such a small room, where the bed was against one wall and you couldn't open the door without hitting the bed to get in! Had to kneel on the bed to get into the wardrobe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JM from Hemel Hempstead

Good location to explore Brooklyn from

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room, much smaller, modern, wall mounted aircon unit to make better use of the space in the room.
Good location to explore Brooklyn - just one block down from 5th Street (avenue?) which has some great bars and restaurants and quirky shops on. Close to the Metro to get into Manhattan. Small, clean and comfortable. The room I stayed in was small with a noisy aircon unit but it did the job. The rate included a good breakfast at the local diner (but one of the 1st things the waitress said was that service wasn't included...!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ashley

Nice, clean hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: - clean - able to accommodate an infant - polite staff - convenient location to subways and dining
Location: The location was good - about .5 miles to the nearest subway and within a couple of blocks of restaurants, delis, and nightlife.
The rooms were very clean and tidy and the staff was polite and helpful. We traveled with our infant daughter and were able to add a crib to the room at no charge. It was a sturdy, clean crib. We brought our own crib sheet for our daughter so that she'd have a familiar material under her when going to sleep, but I wouldn't have been worried about putting her on the hotel sheets. The room is small and no fuss - don't expect a ton of space. While the hotel is off of a main street, there is an event space nearby that got a little loud on our first night's stay. We ran the fan on the other nights and it pretty effectively drowned out the noise. The location was good - about .5 miles to the nearest subway and within a couple of blocks of places to eat and bars. I'd recommend this hotel to friends and family.