Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Canada

Like a hostel with a private bathroom

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The location and cleanliness
Cons: The use of space in the room and the amenities should be as advertised
Location: Location in Gowanus is great and the free breakfast at the Union Cafe is excellent but don't forget that the tip isn't included
The room was tiny but clean. The bed was advertised as queensize but it was an uncomfortable double. It was like staying in a Manhattan YMCA with better decor and a private bathroom. There is barely enough room for suitcases beside the bed and nowhere to work on a laptop in the room or anywhere else in the hotel. No business center or common area no fridge no microwave no phone the TV is at right angles to the bed. There is a large armoire taking up space that could have been much better used for a chair and desk. The staff at the "front desk" (which was really a tiny podium) was robotic and didn't seen at all concerned if we liked our experience at the hotel. The neighborhood is great with stores and restaurants within an easy walk and open all night. We stayed 2 nights and moved to the Sleep Inn in Sunset Park which is a few stops away on the subway but a much nicer hotel for nearly the same price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Signal Hill, CA

Great value and close to the subway

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The Union Hotel happened to be directly across the street from where I needed to be, so I chose it based on location. The value was superb, and the location was incredibly quiet. The room was very small, but average by NYC standards. Everything worked well in the room and the complimentary breakfast at a diner a couple blocks away (at the subway station) was superb!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Great POD hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Very Private definitely a place for a person or a couple to have "Me Time/Us Time"
Cons: ROOM SIZES PARKING
Location: Very convientant to mass transit to get to attractions of NYC
The rooms are small but cozy. I believe hotel should state that in description. Bathroom was MARVELOUS, but hotel could have made them a little smaller to increase room size. Floors 4 and above give you great view of NYC skyline if assigned room in alcove of hotel.Breakfast voucher to local diner was AWESOME. I WOULD STAY HERE ANYTIME!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton PA

Good for price!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, price, breakfast included
Cons: Room size , or take the sharp corner off of the beds!!
Good location 2 blocks form R subway with breakfast included outside of subway stop, felt safe walking to hotel at 10PM , very small room, mattress soft, BR and shower fine. could leave our luggage before checking in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providence, RI

Weekend Wedding

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Location: Lots to do in the area, close to NYC, and Flatbush...
Reasonable rates for the weekend. the room was small but very clean. Only thing I would change would be better lighting in the bath, and i did not see a vending or ice machine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Getting better.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: It's convenient to the subway which takes you to Barclays Center (or you can even walk there), or into Manhattan.
Cons: Some of the bedding could be better.
Location: It's convenient to Barclays Center, hip Park Slope area and subway that takes you to Atlantic Terminal, which gets you trains into Manhattan or L.I.
I've stayed at this hotel plenty of times over the last 6 months so I'm used to the "quirks" of this place. The staff for the most part, do what they can to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are small (hence the term, "boutique hotel"), but if you are only looking for a place to lay your head for the night, you could do a lot worse. The key is knowing what floors to choose. I've found that the higher floors with low numbers (i.e. 306, 303, etc) have the better room setup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Updated, clean hotel close to the Barclays center

Posted Jul 1, 2014
When I first walked into the room and walked strait into a bed, the other reviewers weren't kidding when try said the rooms were tiny! But no reason to judge for a small room. It was extremely clean and comfortable. Very nice staff. Price is great for an area and getting a place so close to the Barclays center. Wouldn't definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adams from Kent

Good for the budget traveller, not for everyone

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Union Hotel is a nice, clean place to stay, with a good location close to Prospect Park, the subway, and the entertainment area of Park Slope. The staff was very helpful and I found it excellent for my needs. However, it is not a hotel for everyone. It is located on the edge of Park Slope with some industrial buildings on the same street. The room was very small and the air conditioner was located right next to the bed. If you desire some “white noise” to fall asleep or are not bothered by air conditioner noise, then this should not be a problem. The room was very clean and the bathroom was large. Overall, I’d stay there again, if I were traveling solo. If I had my family along, I’d go with one of the chain hotels not too far away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No space for comfort

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Staff is pleasant and helpful. Hotel is clean and easy on the eyes.
Square footage is a premium entity in this neighborhood hotel. If you don't mind bring cramped around a bed with very little room to maneuver suitcases or bodies than the rest is okay. The decor is sparse but clean and modern and pleasant looking. Short on amenities too-- no lotion, tissue, phone, food service or instructions for TV. Perhaps I didn't understand what a boutique hotel is.
2 out of 5
by Brendan from Australia

Tiny room hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, 24 hour desk, breakfast included at local diner
Location: Close to subway
Never stayed in such a small room, where the bed was against one wall and you couldn't open the door without hitting the bed to get in! Had to kneel on the bed to get into the wardrobe.