Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but stylish rooms

Posted Apr 16, 2014
A good value. The rooms are small but worth the price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonble Brooklyn hotel close to subways

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: - Free breakfast at local diner - Free WiFi - Close to two subway stations
Cons: - Fridge/tea/coffee in rooms - Housekeeping conduct - Guest laundry
Location: - Close to 5th Ave, few good cafes/restaurants/bars - Close to Union St and Atlantic Ave stations for easy travel to Manhattan
I've stayed in New York before and payed the same for hotels not as nice in far worse locations. The Union is located near two subway stations (Union St and Atlantic Ave/Barclays Ctr) which is convenient. The immediate area of Brooklyn is OK, head a block or two east and it's a bit nicer. Hotel didn't have a guest laundry as some sites advertise. Wifi included, as is free breakfast at the local diner. Room didn't have tea/coffee making facilities or a fridge. Housekeeping were loud and did their thing at inconvenient times, i.e. vacuuming at 8:30am or cleaning rooms close to 5pm, a bit annoying. Gent at the front desk very helpful. Overall, considering the price paid for NYC, it was alright, but nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vera from Monroe, La

New York Cool

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: The location and the environment surroundings.
Cons: Keep doing what you do and making people feel at home.
Location: The area had plenty to get in to. The Altantic Mall, Barclay's, all the local stores and shopping choices nearby were very interesting to see & shop.
Staying at the Ascend Hotel during the cold days in NYC still made it a warm experience as I traveled the city by subway and bus. Being from Louisiana and visiting family in NYC for the first time, I was really surprised how i was able to get around in the weather. The hotel set up was nice and on point. It was easy for me to check in and get warm and comfy. The experience has me interested in coming back during the spring/summer season to get that famous NYC nightlife, maybe catch an event at the Barclay's and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dillon from Virginia

Excellent hotel, close to major subway and stores

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Cons: Nothing really, they make use of the space they have and make sure they keep everything clean and tidy. What more can you ask for?
Location: Like I said, big subway station one stop from Union Street (R line) that connects to a lot of other lines. Lots of stores and places to eat/drink
Great hotel, they have small rooms but it's all the room you need. I'm 6.3 so you'd think I would need a large room, I shared the room with my girlfriend and it was perfect. Nice big windows that can open, bathroom was half the size of the room which makes it a pretty big bathroom, very clean as well. It had all the appliances and such you need. The only negative remark I have to make about the hotel isn't even from the staff or rooms or anything. It's the people that stayed there, one guy was a little weird and tried to get into out room in the middle of the night. Said he rented the room for 2 nights but only got charged for one...it was a little strange. Staff apologized a bunch of times but it wasn't there fault. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends, I almost went with Chelsea Hotel or some stupid motel...i'm so glad I made the choice to stay with Union Hotel. What a relief it was seeing the hotel and rooms, sometimes you just don't know what you're going to get. Especially cause the price is so darn cheap for a hotel in the heart of Brooklyn. All I can say is if you're calculating which hotel would be best price wise etc Union Hotel is the one. Hotel was clean, clean, clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Jan 21, 2014
I appreciated the breakfast. The next day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by may from brooklyn ny

It was good to me

Posted Jan 14, 2014
I actually liked it besides the size other then that it was comfortable for the price plus the free breakfast at the diner is a plus I would deff come back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Consuela from Brooklyn, NY

MISERABLE

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bed had stains ewww! The room was super small heater barely worked it took about 3 hours to heat up a 10 x 10 room, the bed was uncomfortable I woke up with my back hurtly. I will never come back here again! WORST EVER
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by S & J from brooklyn

i liked it

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I like everything about the room and the hotel itself except the size of the room.