Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location to museums, restaurants, and transp

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Disapointed with cleanliness of room. Lumpy pull-out bed, smelly loft bed. When we asked for toilet paper we were given a partial bag of 6 mildew rolls. The bathroom was very dirty, moldy with no ventilation. It did have good kitchen facilities and free phone calls to anywhere in the US and Canada.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location but... dirty

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good points: The location wass great (two blocks from Central Park). Bad points: Apartment smells very bad. Air conditioning not on when we showed up (it was a very hot day so it took long to cool down). Dirty: living room and bathroom carpets stained, spider webs in bathroom, hair in shower, dust on pantry items, food not well kept in containers (cereal box left open). Fan not working in the bathroom. The inflated mattress for the sofa is NOT comfy at all; we couldn't find sheets for it either (had to use nude pillows and winter blankets instead). But worst of all: waking up at night to find a HUGE cockroach in the bathtub!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by S & D

Posted Jun 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location. Very neat floor plan. Charming and funky. Lots of room. Great kitchen. More like being a guest in someone's home. However, deferred maintenance and, at least when we stayed there, no A/C, and it was uncomfortably warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Brownstone with fantastic location

Posted Apr 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Brownstone apartment includes one loft-bed for 2 people, and a sleeper sofa (for 2 people). An air-mattress is offered to supplement the sofa. This option offeres basic amenities in a fantastic location, situation 1 block from central park. We shared the room with 4 people, and were happy with our experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta, GA

Great location - look for some other place to stay

Posted Dec 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
We loved the Upper West Side. It feels like a 'true' neighborhood with lot of good restaurants and bars. The location of the Brownstone is perfect. You are at walking distance from everything, Central Park, the Guggenheim Museum and the Subway. But.... The Brownstone shouldn't be classified as a hotel and not even a Bed with no Breakfast. It is an apartment rental. You won't get any kind of service during your stay. The apartment has the potential to be nice, but it is dirty, very dirty. And it should not be rented to groups over two people. The couch that should serve as the third bed is sagging badly. The solution to this problem? A cheap air mattress, not exactly what we were expecting. We wish someone had told us. We would have never booked it. The place was not expensive for this time of the year, but be warned....you get what you pay for. Our suggestion for travelers on a limited budget would be to choose a different period of the year to visit NYC and look for a different place to stay in the same neighborhood. This was the best part of the deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from wales

would stay there again the langlord was very nice and always there to give advise

Posted Nov 14, 2011
really good location especially for ny marathon finish there was no breakfast but we had our own kitchen and was a nice place very homely , and the manager was always there and give us lots of advise he was so friendy and we will go back to stay for sure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Funky studio in great location

Posted Oct 14, 2011
This is not a hotel, although I found it by searching for hotels on Expedia. It is not a B&B either, in the sense that there is no breakfast. It is a studio apartment in a brownstone that is let out by the landlord - whom we did not meet because he was out of town. Instead, we knocked on the super's widow and he passed us out the key. The apartment is more run-down that it appears in the pictures. The bathroom and furniture have seen better days. It is acceptably clean if you don't look too closely in the corners. There are parquet floors and impressive Victorian woodwork. There is a surprisingly well-equipped kitchenette that even has a little dishwasher. The spiral staircase to the loft bed is sturdy, but it takes some agility to climb out if you need to get up in the middle of the night! The location can't be beat. Just blocks from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. Zabars and other West Side delights are right in the neighborhood.
3 out of 5
by Diarmuid from Stafford, UK

Have realistic expectations

Posted Sep 16, 2011
This not a bed and breakfast - some staples are provided with a fully kitted kitchen and easy access to some top-class deli food including the iconic Zabar's on Broadway at 80th. It is a very convenient location, pretty much across the road from the Museum of Natural History, a block from the subway, with the 79 cross town bus on the doorstep. It is expensive for what you get - you get the room and the key and after that are left to your own devices: there is no effective service, which may suit some. It seems amateurish - but the owner is very pleasant if somewhat surprised by guests turning up expecting their room to be ready. The bathroom is very tired. It is interesting to see all the period detail.