Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

good location but very SMALL room

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: the location and the bar
Cons: too expensive for the size of the room
Location: very convenient to 9/11 memorial
Nice hotel, great bar with a view. the room was a miniature, very small, very small, very small
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax

The hotel is in an excellent location but bring $$

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: World trade Centre Memorial Gardens, Wall Street, Battery Park, Brooklyn Bridge
The W considers itself an upscale hotel. So when you book there expect to pay for everything. ( as in extra) You want Internet cost $14.95 per day. Even if you are SPG Gold Card member. Want coffee in the room you can get room service coffee for $20 plus delivery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Wonderful Hotel Downtown

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The staff at the Concierge was excellent especially Nicole. I had many questions everyday like what the closest subway was to get to certain locations
Cons: Nothing really that I could think of.
Location: Very close to the 4 & 5 train to get to Union Square or Mid-town. As well as the 1 train to get to SoHo. Also close to C21 store and 9\11 Memorial.
The W Downtown is a fabulous hotel, very chic. The staff is wonderful. My room was a bit tiny - The Wonderful Room - but for one person is great. Not enough room for a family though. The location is fabulous because there are a lot of places to grab a quick bite to eat if you don't want an expensive meal. These places are open late too. Walking distance to subways - even in heels. The 9\11 Memorial is right across the street. There is a great view of Freedom Tower from the Living Room terrace. Free coffee in the am in the Living Room lobby. The C21 store is also walking distance away. You can also walk South on West St towards The Hudson and see the Statue of Liberty. All-in-all I enjoyed my stay at The W Downtown.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

NO GOOD

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Cons: SERVICE
I stay at W properties all over the world and this one is by far the worst. bad service. housekeeping refused to clean my room - staff not friendly. I do not recommend this property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view; wish the room had been cleaned better

Posted Jul 28, 2014
I was very excited to stay at the W as I have stayed at other locations in the past and was very pleased. However, I was disappointed when we checked in and noticed that there were many hairs in the bathroom from the previous guest. It looked like the rug had not been vacuumed either as there were feathers from the pillows all over the rug. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel terrace was lovely. The view of the Freedom Tower was incredible but I'm not sure if I would stay at this hotel again because of how disgusting the bathroom was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Downtown NYC Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, outdoor patio.
Cons: Hotel restaurant is not great & pricy, not enough breakfast food choices.
Location: 9/11 Memorial, Battery Park, Statue of Liberty, South Street Seaport, World Trade Center, World Financial Center.
Enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of the W Downtown Hotel. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room we stayed in had a great south view, and loved that it even opened for some fresh air. We also enjoyed the outdoor patio. Easy access to the Subway (1 train, Rector St.) and Path during the week. You don;t have to mind some views of construction going on, but it was not really noisy during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Queeny from TX

Great hotel & location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wanted to see the 9/11 Memorial & venture into the SoHo & Tribeca areas, so this hotel was right there! Chris the bellhop was amazing...friendly, helpful & suggested wonderful restaurants & night clubs! Fantastic price for the location I wanted! Gave room a 4 outta 5, only because it was super small!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Margaret M from Red Hook, NY

We will definitely be back!

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had the best time. The hotel was state of the art, service was amazing and the location was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teresa from MI

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Excellent location to the 9/11 memorial, battery park, and just short cab rides to a ton of other must see places. The rooms were perfect and the staff was more than helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com