Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
nice but didn't realize hotel was under construction.. room was a little claustrophobic as you look at a wall from window
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Hotel Stay

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Convenient to restaurants, etc.
Cons: Better fluffy pillows and robe. The room could use a little more décor, very plain.
Location: Location is on Park Avenue South. Movie theaters, restaurants, shops, parks, bars were all nearby.
The check in was fine, but the room itself wasn't anything to write home about. The pillows were not comfortable, not to mention the bed. For the price you pay, you should at least have a fluffy bathrobe to wear. The robe was thin cotton. Nothing glamorous about the room. Very plain room, but the hotel is good if you want to stay in the vicinity.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom washington DC

Disappointing

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Modern look
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Disappointing stay. When we booked the room we were told there will be a third (roll up) bed and that is why we booked a room at this hotel. There wasn't. The lady at the reception pretty much said it is what it is and they will give us free internet access instead. Wi-if did not work. Neither did the TV or the phone at the room. Complaining again, we got to change rooms. A bit better. Elevators did not work the night we spent there. Had to take service lifts. Was a joke - how many things did not work! Never again at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Solid, but needs a refresh

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed many times here, always solid with a great location. Rooms need a little refresh though as they are looking a tad tired for the W's reputation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bryce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami Florida

it is the premier Hotel in Union Square

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: A great vibe for anyone looking to experience that part of town
Cons: Hallways were a bit dowdy and felt like they could use an upgrade
The hotel has a nice ambiance and is fun to stay there. The bar is always busy and the service excellent. For someone not used to the hustle and bustle of New YORK it is a perfect place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Bra

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vi var nöjda
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elizabethfrom Philadelphia

Disappointed by the customer service

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I expected more from the W. We stayed here the weekend of the NYC marathon and although the hotel was busy, they only had 1 front desk person working at a time, so at every interaction (check-in and check-out) we waited a long time. Our room was also not ready in time and instead of upgrading us to another room, downgraded us to a lower floor and room. I have never experienced such poor service from a hotel on their level. When we needed the concierge, he was not at his desk. The car valet was rude and spoke for an extended time with other guests while we were left waiting without even a hello. I know the staff was busy, but customer service goes a long way in my book. I wont be back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

too much attitude and extremely unhelpful

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
room was not made up when i was given it. more important, hotel staff were extremely unhelpful. was given conflicting info several times re availability of rooms for an extra night. lobby is always too loud to think or talk. would not stay here unless i absolutely needed the location, which i did this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisbethfrom Asker

Midt på Manhattan

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotellet ligger midt på Manhattan. God service (fikk beholde rommet til kl 15 uten ekstra kostnad) fra hyggelig betjening. Stort flott rom ("Fabulous room") med stor komfortabel seng. Lynrask temperaturregulering på rommet. Velfylt minibar, badekåper, strykejern, flatskjerm-TV og gratis toalettartikler. Noe støy fra trafikk, men ikke veldig plagsomt. Anbefales!