Ratings based on 7,079 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointment

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The pillows.
Cons: For 570.00 for two nights, I would have liked a coffee maker.
Location: You better know New York and have a lot of money.
First of all no coffee maker in room. Second, the bathroom sink was just a basin. No counter top. Third, the shower did not drain and you were ankle deep within a minute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

Waldorf nyc

Posted May 21, 2015
FABULOUS! The staff, the decor, the food!! Esp at bull and bear steakhouse
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Grand hotel, prime location

Posted May 21, 2015
Spent my first time in New York in this beautiful hotel. Tastefully decorated throughout and the staff are welcoming and incredibly helpful. The public areas of the hotel are stunning from the mosaic when you enter the hotel to the clock in the lobby. The rooms were clean and incredibly comfy, some aspects of the rooms were looking a little tired such as cracking paint and the air conditioning was showing its age but other than that no complaints!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom OCNJ

$18.95 for WiFi - it's free at Holiday Inn Express

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The lobby was beautiful the staff were exemplary. The location can not be beat.
Cons: Wifi should be free. Sunday brunch should be complimentary or at a discount depending on how many days you stay.
Location: The hotel is directly on Park Avenue easy access to shopping, plenty of restaurants and Central Park. The area felt extremely safe.
The lobby is beautiful, the rooms not so much. The windows were so filthy we could not see out of the to tell if it was raining. The paint was chipping and pieces missing off of the bathroom door, the door to the room squeeked so loudly the neighbors complained. The hotel staff was exceptionally curtious. Easy to get a cab. The hotel is on Park Avenue close to shopping and Central Park. There was a charge for WiFi daily! Eighteen ninety five per day! Just ridiculous ! When you are paying a bundle a night for a room - the WiFi should be free. This is a Hilton Hotel for goodness sakes! Sunday brunch is ninety eight dollars per person. we went next door to St. Bart's for brunch it was lovely! Three of us had brunch for less than the cost of 1 person.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Beachy, Thank goodness for our impressive lobby and the inspirational setting. Yet obviously we cannot be resting on those aspects. There is much we can do to rectify the issues you referenced regarding uncle windows and other elements of your room's condition, and so I hope we had the opportunity to provide a solution for you in this area. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed the service received from our staff! The Waldorf experience is meant to be one of carefree indulgence, with everything you could ever want just a wave of the hand away. We promise our guests a singular Waldorf luxury experience, and we will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal. Thank you, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Posted May 19, 2015
Beautiful, historical hotel in a great location!! Friendly staff. Would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Jaime, Thank you for your wonderful review! Our was designed to inspire, and it is a treat to see that you enjoyed your visit with us. Should your travels bring you back to New York City, we hope you will return for another unforgettable guest experience. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big name, low standart!

Posted May 17, 2015
The service quality is such a dissapointment. Most of the appliences such as bed light and refrigerator door were not functioning properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. I always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas of opportunity. There is much we can do to mitigate the issues you described in your review, and I hope that we were able to provide a solution during your stay. I also hope that we have the chance to restore your good faith in the Waldorf brand sometime in the future. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york city

Perfect location, iconic hotel, sense of history

Posted May 17, 2015
Lovely hotel, comfortable rooms that could do with some refurbishing, but part of its charm is the olde world glamour that is evident throughout the hotel. Hotel and bar staff very friendly, nothing too much trouble. Quite pricey but to be expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Tonia, Thank you for your kind words and review of your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria. Our historic element and bar service are commonly cited as positive elements of the guest experience in reviews such as yours, and it was a treat to see this standard reflected in your feedback. I would like to share that we are currently planning for a restoration of our property so that every detail will match the highest standard of luxury. We hope for the opportunity to share the results of this work firsthand with you in the future. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was lovely and helpful was necessary.

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: It is situated perfectly. Had no problem getting a taxi the few times we needed one.
Cons: Check-in was pretty crowded. Could have used more people.
We would absolutely stay there again. Holiday time for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for spending your special New York City holiday visit with us at the Waldorf Astoria. It is a tremendous reward to see feedback like yours and learn that we succeeded in our goal of providing exceptional hospitality. Please come back soon, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
Hotel facilities were excellent but room safe and radio did not work otherwise room was superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review! It is excellent to see that you enjoyed our service offerings to the highest degree possible. We do regret that there was non-working safe in your room appointment, and I hope that we had the opportunity to provide a solution for you in this regard. Again, thank you for your kind words and please come back soon. My best, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Classic but noisy

Posted May 15, 2015
Beautiful hotel , classic , nostalgic . noisy even on the 19th floor you an hear the traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our hotel was designed to inspire, and it was a treat to see that you enjoyed our Art Deco interiors. The inconvenience you cited regarding noise is unfortunate, but it is a casualty of being in this beautiful city. I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to demonstrate our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager