Ratings based on 3,265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Cannot beat the location!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
I don't know why this hotel is not rated higher. We just stayed here for the third time and it was just as great as the other two times! The location of the hotel is the selling point. It is literally two to three blocks from everything - Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller Center. The hotel is a boutique hotel which I really like. It doesn't have the same feel as the big hotel chains. The rooms aren't huge but that's what you get in NYC. The rooms are clean and the beds are nice and comfortable. I love the bath products - CO Bigelow - which is made locally in NYC. The staff was friendly and helped us with everything we needed. They also have free wifi which is a huge plus! I highly recommend the WJ!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom a

Budget hotel and near to attraction areas

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Ilke 2 star Hotel but clean small rooms and near to times and Central park. Budget hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Nette hotel op een toplocatie (dichtbij metro, bezienswaardigheden), vriendelijk en behulpzame personeel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Isle of Dogs, London

Good hotel, amazing staff

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Found the hotel location ideal - just a few minutes walk to Times Square, metro stop, and other attractions. Found the hotel staff brilliantly helpful. We flew out and arived very late on valentines day. But, with the help of the hotel staff, we had romance sorted by helping arrange for champagne, flowers, and chocolates to be waiting in the room on arrival. The room itself was very clean and nice new looking bathroom with spacious shower. Compact in the same way as most hotel rooms but a good use of space made. Comfy bed. Complimentary wifi a little slow but to be honest there was a faster option available for about $10 a day but didn't really need it that much - the complimentary one does work well enough. Good selection of TV channels. A really good thing was the room was so quiet as faced the inner courtyard. Heating was very effective (needed as went down to -16c outside). Worth mentionin the staff one last time - they were all gery helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom liverpool

Ideal location and Great Service

Posted Feb 19, 2015
A lovely hotel that is a 5 minute walk from Times Square
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bem localizado

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: O principal foi a localização
Cons: A mobilha do quarto mais atrapalhou que ajudou, os quartos são muito pequenos por isso fica difícil se movimentar
Location: A localização e boa fica na 8°AV com a 51 st então você fica próximo do central parque e do centro da cidade também
Bem bacana. O hotel não é aquelas coisas mais nos atendeu bem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumbria, England

Well-placed, comfortable and good value

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: It was what we wanted for a short trip - not too many facilities, but we were out and about most of the time. Very comfortable and friendly.
Cons: The lift was definitely elderly - inspection certificates on display, but it could definitely have been updated.
Location: Ideally located for all the main attractions, tour bus routes, Broadway and Times Square, but reasonably quiet. Lots of places to eat nearby.
We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and it was ideal. Smaller and with eccentrically numbered rooms (no 470 was next to 451), the rooms were small but had very comfortable beds with very good quality linens and the shower rooms was small but the water was hot and again, the toiletries were ample and of good quality. We stayed in some of the coldest weather New York had ever experienced and we were very warm. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming, and the hotel was ideal for our needs, and good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

Nice location. Good staff.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Very good location. Staff was polite. Room was too hot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall, UK

Perfect New York Stay

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: rooms, staff, location
Cons: nothing
Location: Times Square, Central Park, 5th Avenue, Broadway, BSide Pizza, Rockefeller Centre, Trump Towers, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station
We stayed at the WJH in New York in January 2015 for my husbands Birthday. I had notified the hotel of this and our room was upgraded and cookie's, wine and flowers were left in the room, which was a lovely bonus. The room was comfortable and had all the facilities you would need for a busy weekend break in the city. The shower was to die for. The room was a little warm, but remedied by opening the window, however we did hear another customer ask for the radiator to be turned down and the staff happily obliged. The staff were really helpful and no question was to much trouble for them. They lent us plug adapters, booked transfers and offered a friendly smile, no matter the time or the weather. The hotel itself was in the perfect location, just off a main avenue. The hotel was close to 5th Av, Times Square and Central Park, all within 10-15min walk. As it was on one of the side streets it was quieter, with less traffic than some of the Avenues, but remained easily accessible to the rest of New York. There was a subway station on the corner, a drug store and the most yummy pizza place I've eaten, since we went to Rome, (and we eat lots of pizza!!). We had the perfect stay and plan to return in the not so distant future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Very close to the theater district, great location for musical fans. Staffs were nice, just hoped the bathroom was a little bit cleaner...