Ratings based on 2,201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Very good hotel, great location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Been a great expeiremce, staff are great, location is brilliant round the corner from Times Square and all the main subway stations to go to the main tourist spots
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Nice for solo travelers and wonderful location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The location is wonderful for those wanting to go to Broadway shows or visit Times Square for shopping. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of central park and many of the flagship stores located along 5th Avenue. Grand Central, Rockefeller Plaza, MOMA, and many other sites are also within easy walking distance. The area also feels safe even at night. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the hotel staff. My return flight to Canada was cancelled by the airline and the concierge was extremely helpful in assisting me in rearranging my shuttle to the airport and flight plans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coastal Carolina

Mini stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Room was clean and up dated. No business center so printing tickets for shows, etc., was complicated. No complimentary breakfast, and ice was upon request. Staff were very accommodating and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent for the price.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The rooms were very small even for NYC. The location was good though and the rooms were clean and in good shape. There are not a lot of extras here - no refridgerator, etc. so be aware that it is basically just a place to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern, quiet. Free Internet
Cons: n/a
Location: Near Times Square and Columbus Circle! Lots of restaurants. Near several subway lines.
Small room, but space was used efficiently. Clean, modern, quiet. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel in convenient location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Clean Bathroom, comfortable bed
Cons: Both safes were broken in room. I was on first floor and it was noisy due to hall traffic (lots of doors slamming). Wireless was inconsistent.
This hotel was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and they had nice designer amenities. The bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful; they went out of their way to accomodate me. The hotel was in a convenient location, very near metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Perfect young explorers Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Much bigger comfier cleaner rooms than expected from previous reviews, nice and cool air conditioned rooms even in the stifling summer humidity. Big comfy bed and clean powerful shower and practical bathroom perfect to come back to after hours and hours on foot in a brilliant city. Absolutely fantastic location for tourists just off Broadway/Times Square just down from 50th street subway, just far away enough however to feel a bit more like proper New York for those wanting to explore a bit more off the tourist map. All that was needed for young travellers and people intending to spend most of there time out and about in the city. Perhaps could do with one or two more homely comforts, luxury extras for those intending to relax a bit more and spend more time in the room, but in the city that never sleeps it's perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

nyc hotel in amazing location but.....

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: location location location
Cons: cleanliness of the showers
Location: about 10 blocks from time square tons of things to do there!
This hotel comes as at a very reasonable price tag for the amazing location. The only down side is the bathroom shower did not look very clean.... Forced me to wear flip flops while i took a shower. Other than that the rooms displayed online are bigger than what is given to you (they show the suites in the online pictures and not the regular rooms), therefore slightly misleading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, CO

WJ Hotel Stay and first time in NYC!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of room and helpfulness of staff and close proximity to Times Square, Central Park and other attractions. Quiet location.
Cons: Fixtures were older and could be updated. Bathroom seemed newly remodeled in a hurry. Grout stains and dust still existant.
Location: Walking distance to Central Park, Times Square and other attractions
While my husband and I were a little nervous at first about the neighborhood being our first time in NYC....the hotel and it's location turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Just a few blocks off of Broadway it was located on a quiet street within walking distance of so many attractions including Central Park, Times Square, the MOMA, Rockefeller Center and of course, the theatre district to name a few. There was a wonderful Sushi and Sake Bar literally right next door which we enjoyed on our last night. As we explored the neighborhood, we found another delightful wine bar right down the street...it was awesome. This is an older hotel with character....nothing too fancy but, we felt safe and comfortable in the big city. The hospitality of the front desk staff was top notch sharing with us travel tips (first time on a subway!) and on our last day had a cab waiting for us when we needed to get to the airport. The rooms were small but very clean and pleasant and always made up for us when we returned at the end of the day. As a couple, if you a looking for a convenient and not to pricey room, I would recommend the WJ Hotel. We would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Location: Near Subway, Theaters, Restaurants and Tours
I attend to the Intrepid Museum and for may surprise the have the space shuttle Enterprise, bean a Star Trek Fan be in front of the ship it was a moment. The Sunday I found myself in an open market 7ave from 42st true 57st.