Ratings based on 4,858 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Discount rate = discount experience

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: GOOD: bell staff was excellent; responsive and friendly, front desk staff and housekeeping also excellent; clean towels, comfy mattress, good pillows
Cons: BAD: heat in room clanged all night; the ceiling in the bathroom was crumbling on my stuff; elevator was small like vertical coffin, lights hissed
Location: Location was good - near Times Square
comfortable enough for two nights, but not a great experience. If I go back to NYC, I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Unbeatable location, pleasant stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The fact that I was walking distance from all the theaters of Broadway.
Cons: They were working on the elevators at the time, making them always down one, but the work seemed to be proceeding apace and likely will be done soon.
Location: A few blocks from The Plaza, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Times Square and a decent walk from the Empire State Building and everything else in Midtown
The Wellington is an older hotel on 7th avenue, just a few blocks away from Times Square, surrounded by bigger, newer/fancier hotels. The rooms are small but I'd rate them as "cozy" rather than "cramped". The staff was very friendly and helpful and everything was clean and neat as a pin. The sausages in the diner downstairs were to-die-for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Great location, few complaints

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Feels rundown a bit, some paint peeling on walls. Car service was too expensive for being a van with no heat.
Location: Times Square
For NYC the value of this isnt bad. It really is a wonderful location, just down the street from Times Square and everything else you would need. My only complaint is it is older and feels a bet run down. We used their car service to get to the airport upon departing, and paid $130 for a 30 min ride to newark....in a van with NO HEAT in very cold weather. Seemed like a waste of money. I wouldn't use the service, but since it was an early flight and there were 5 of us, we weren't sure what other choices we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Times Square, Central Park, access to sights.
Room was cramped with 4 people in 2 double beds. Linens were lacking, but housekeeping bro't more 2 times. Water left in same glasses 2-3 days w/o replacing. Bed throws and pillows left in floor after remaking. Elevators being worked on. Long waits since hotel was full of travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orlando

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Great location. Our room was recently updated and was reall a small apartment with amazing space for New York. Hotel overall is dated with a crowded lobby and not all rooms are redone. Have stayed several times and is great for a family of four or more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kitchener

GREAT location in NYC

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: elevator service
Location: just a few blocks south of central park & a few north of Times Sq.
The hotel is very nice, we had a tiny room, but didnt spend much time in it anyway. The elevators took forever to arrive, but a perfect hotel if you're on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Brilliant location, clean rooms and comfy beds!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The location of the hotel was brilliant, close to Times Square and Central Park and a subway station at the front door. The hotel itself was fine, the room was clean, the beds very comfortable and overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Very well located.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi
Location: Most of the attractions are on a walking distance, empire state building, top of the rock, Broadway, 5th avenue, and so on.
Well located, cost - benefit is ok, you can get most of the attractions from there (walking or using the subway).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Broadway theaters

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Walls were rather thin and you could hear the people and tv in the next room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands

Excellent Position

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: We were able to walk to most places we wanted to see. Plenty of bars and eating places really close.
Cons: Rooms a bit tired but clean and warm
Location: Central to Times Square & Central Parks . Theatres 15 mins walk. On Big Bus route so able to see all attractions and take boat trip.
Really good position for Times Square area and Central Park. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Asked to be moved from first room provided due to air conditioning noise + pipes banging constantly outside also faced brick wall. Second room more modern and had a better outlook - staff were helpful. Cafe within hotel was good value and staff were friendly