Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Darwen

Beautiful city and an amazing hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel rooms are so nicely designed have comfiest bed I want to take that bed home. The view from the room was breath taking especially at night.
Cons: none
Location: The hotel is in a good location close to most thing and is right arcos from the empire state building. Its close to a lot of restaurants.
This was our first time in New York and it was everything we dreamed of and more their is just so much to see and do we didn't have enough time to d it all in 1 week. We actually got married in New York in a helicopter ride so this holiday is always going to be more special for us. One thing that I would recommend it so to and see a Broadway show it was a really god night. The food in America is good everything is double the size to ours but enjoyed everything we had. I would recommend going to new York and defiantly recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look elsewhere

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The room had a good view and was comfortable. Continental breakfast was nice.
Cons: Noise levels / insulation. Staff engagement.
The hotel room itself was very nice and comfortable HOWEVER that is where the favourable experience ends. The walls are paper thin and the hotel was extremely noisy, you could hear other guests until late at night, additionally, housekeeping staff made a huge noise in the mornings. The elevators make a noise whenever they arrive on the floor with a loud "ding" that wakes you up at awful hours. Room service was extraordinarily expensive, have stayed at many 5 star hotels and never experienced anything so absurd, cost $100 for breakfast for two and it was a bad breakfast on top of it. The location is close to busses and grand central however in hindsight being so close to the UN plaza is a bad idea as there are delegates coming though at all hours for conferences etc. The continental breakfast was nice. Staff appeared completely uninterested and disengaged. Not the best hotel for travellers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janine from Surrey

Superb location!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The location was out of this world, the breakfast was fantastic, it was perfectly clean, staff were helpful, I couldn't find fault with it at all.
Cons: The check in was a bit slow and some of the reception staff seemed a little fed up but that may be because we were unlucky, our guy was lovely though.
Location: Right next to United Nations building. Empire State a few roads away, Central Park maybe 15 mins walk.Times Square about 20 min walk. Perfect location
Excellent hotel made our stay in New York an amazing experience. We had a room on the 40th floor and I can't believe that there was a better view in NY anywhere, to lay in bed and look out at the Empire State building and Chrysler Building was so much better than expected. We booked breakfast which was continental style but there was so much on offer we didn't ever need lunch as we were too full. Staff were always helpful and polite, there was quite a queue when we checked in that dragged on a bit which didn't bother us too much I think we were just unlucky. You could not beat the location we walked everywhere even back from Staten Island and it didn't take very long. If you are visiting Staten Island get the ferry from Pier 34 just near the hotel its only $4 and takes you right down to the Staten Island area. Theres also an excellent coach service just outside Grand Central which is two minutes away from the hotel that takes you to and from Newark Airport, wish we'd known that when we arrived. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel in fact have done so already to some friends who are going to book, I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Inverness, Scotland

Fabulous

Posted Feb 25, 2014
What more can I say. Staff all friendly and helpful especially Michael who allowed us a late check out fot a late flight. Enabled us to freshen up before long journey home. Staff in Skyline lounge all friendly and courteous and very attentive. Room on 39th floor was amazing. Breathtaking views, spacious and spotlessly clean. Swimming pool a real bonus for Manhattan. I would recommend the West tower to anyone. A wonderful honeymoon for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathryn from Chatham NJ

Basic amenities

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: nice view of east river.
Cons: Pool lining was deteriorating. Pool hours were limited.Advertised indoor tennis court was actually $170 per hour hire.
Location: Short cab ride to anyware in NYC.
Basic hotel stay for midtown area. Across the road from the United Nations building. Continental breakfast included. Old, small swimming pool. Rooms renovated but pool arae needs overhaul. Not a 5 star standard hotel but more a 3 star Holiday Inn standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Conni from Toronto

VIEW VIEW VIEW

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: The view for sure was amazing. The bed was also fantastic.
Cons: More coffee in the room!! (but that could just be me)
Location: Grand Central Station is just down the street which makes everything close. Also a quick walk to Times Square (but nice not to be in Times Square)
The room was very large (for NYC) which was nice. The view from our room and the club floor was amazing. No need to go up any buildings cause we were looking at them. The location was fantastic and I enjoyed it seemed a bit quieter then other locations we have stayed at. Quick walk to Grand Central made it even better. I will choose this hotel as my number one choice from now on when staying in the big apple!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrice Massoni from New Yorl, NY

Our "Pied a Terre" in New York

Posted Jan 28, 2014
We stay at the West Tower, Friendly staff, luxurious, comfortable and modern 5***** hotel, we recommend this hotel, you feel like at home!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kerri from surrey, uk

West tower is comfortable, the rest....

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Refurbished rooms, level 30 sky lounge, location and views
Cons: Attitude and service at reception. Whilst a pool is advertised and a deciding factor in choosing the hotel, staff should know when guests can use it.
Location: A little walk to to the centre, but striking distance to all the main tourist attractions. We walked for miles, but preferred this to the subway.
First weekend in NYC. Would recommend the west tower of the hotel. Lovely rooms, with the 30th floor club a nice touch. However, beyond the level 30 staff, this hotel would not rate highly on staff attention to guests, falling far short of other 4 and 5 star hotels we've stayed in. Little effort and at time guests appeared to be an irritation and disturbance to telephone calls. For example, we were keen to use the pool in the other tower - checked opening times and scheduled a swim within our packed agenda for the weekend. On heading over, swimming lessons for young children were underway (no sign at main reception or floor reception), changing room rammed with young children and buggies. Not conducive to the relaxing swim we had planned. Upon raising it with the hotels main reception we were advised that she didn't know, pool was run by a separate company. We had to push for her to agree to ring us in the room and update us, she simply couldn't be bothered to own or sort the issue for us. V poor. The general experience at reception was not friendly or memorable, a real let down for a lovely hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One UN Tower

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Awesome room with an amazing view and super comfortable and clean bed. Like a spa. The staff was not friendly at all. When I checked out she did not ask me how my stay was? The concierge gave wrong instructions and acted like I was a bother. The staff needs some customer service training. If you can ingore the staff this is an awesome hotel for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from South Africa

Great value!

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent two nights at the West Tower at ONE UN just after New Years. We were blown away by the elegance of the hotel, and every encounter with staff was pleasant and efficient. Despite arriving at 10am, our room was ready for check-in. Being on the 35th floor (all rooms are above the 30th floor), it had a spectacular view of New York - we kept our curtains open at night and used the Chrysler Building as a 'night light'!. The amenities are very modern. The whole room's lights can be controlled through various points in the room and the climate control was quick to respond. The bed was heavenly, with a wonderfully plush duvet. Though it was disappointing to not have a bath (we had a Superior King room), the spacious shower quickly washed these regrets away - it was simply perfect! The inclusions of the Skyline Club truly added to the value. The continental breakfast spread includes fresh fruit, a variety of cereals, pastries, bagels and coffee choices. The complimentary cocktail hour in the evening included fine wines and scrumptious snacks (I would have appreciated more of a snack variety, but at least the snacks available were delicious!). Though not exactly in a prime location for tourists and in a quiet area, Grand Central is only two and a half blocks away and the subway to Times Square is incredibly short. It also provides direct access to the Green Line, which is convenient for those wishing to explore the Upper East Side.