Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Cons: The height of the beds
Not a bad place to stay when you're on a budget and willing to share with others. The people I shared with were good people and there was nothing displeasing to say about them. The rooms were in good condition, the beds were made everyday and a fresh towel was supplied everyday as well. The bathroom was decent but they could have at least provided us with a small bar of soap per person to use. But nonetheless good condition warm water was there. The beds were a little uncomfortable and I barely managed to fit in there (height wise). My feet were still dangling off the bed which was quite annoying when trying to sleep as the metal bar would be in the way and I would be constantly bashing my feet on it. Overall a good stay if you're on a budget and looking for something clean, tidy with decent people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Awesome

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: cleanliness, safe neighbourhood
Cons: Wi-fi
Location: There were bus stops a dinner and the subway within walking distance
There overall experience was awesome and I would totally do it again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto CA

Nice hotel near the transportation service

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Good place for arrive late a leave early, near to La Guardia international Airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The room is so close to high speed way, so was very noise we can't sleep. No tooth paste In the bathroom and no shampoo either
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Either very careless or purposefully unethical

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: booking!
Location: near LGA
My main issue with the Westway Hostel is that they "messed up" my booking. I had booked via Expedia the Female Only 4-bed dorm, and when I got there, discovered that I had been assigned a room with three men. The guy at the front desk was very polite and apologetic but said that he was limited in what he could do because they were FULLY BOOKED for the night. So how did they make this "mistake"? Well, I don't know, perhaps it really was just a computer glitch or someone not being careful when they were entering reservation requests. OR, perhaps when 3 men requested reservation and the management saw that the last remaining "female only" dorm only had 1 girl in it, well, the dorm just conveniently became a "mixed dorm". Again, I have no proof that this happened, but the fact that they were able to be fully booked and have all of the dorms "work out" as requested (of course, except for the "mistake" with my rooming) is very suspicious to me. Another thing is that when I asked the front desk person to call a cab for me to the airport, the cab he called was a limo-taxi that charged a starting rate of sixteen dollars. So even though LGA is only 1.5 miles from the hostel, I had to pay $18. Again, it could be completely coincidental that the company they called sent over a more expensive transportation option, OR they are connected to an overpriced company...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Could not be better

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Will stay there for next 1 month for my job duration has me go to other site for an other job
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Not bad. The guy who used the same room was very rude but this is not the problem of the hotel. But I will never book a hotel that uses a room with a stranger anymore.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You have to share the room

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I couldnt stand in that hotel, i had to share and the check in was at 3pm and they didnt tell me, so i arrive at 6 am that was really bad
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Unknown

Needs a lot of work overall-Hotel part

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was not happy to see that I booked for a King bed and end up with double beds....that had unwelcome visitors. What kinda place is this?! The bathroom had hand towels for to dry off and no wash cloths. No plug in the bathroom to use any electronic. Both service desks stated that there was a miss confusion on booking. I normally read the reviews but I didn't this time. Seeing it was 3.6 stars I took a chance....whoops on my part. I normally don't place a review unless it is important to share information. Please....please....don't book at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charles from New York, NY

Inexpensive legit option

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Legit option
Cons: Nothing really, it's a cheap option in a very expensive market.
Location: Near La Guardia. Seems like a safe working class neighborhood surrounding the hostel and an adjacent budget motel.
I needed to book at the last minute because of a problem with a gray-market hostel booking. This place was a bit further but it was legit and I didn't have any problems.