Ratings based on 1,892 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 27, 2014
This Ramada Inn had it all, 1" thick plexiglas surrounding the check in desk, bed bugs, urine stained mattress, hair everywhere, torn and pealing wall paper, torn and dirty carpet, mold in the bathroom along with built up dirt in every corner, bathroom door which had the wood pealing away from the frame of the door due to water, broken and dirty chairs, smells that you normally get when you enter a bathroom in the subways of NY. When I tried using the phone (after whipping it off) to call the front desk it did not work. I had to walk down to lobby to ask for a clean room. I had to wait in line for two other couples that we're negotiating the price of a room by the hour. The individuals behind this 1" thick plexiglas ask me what I meant when I said the room was dirty so I showed them the pictures I had taken of all the above mentioned items. They just shook their heads and handed me a card to another room and told me to check this ro and see if it was clean. I thought OK I'll give this one more try because I may have been given one of the rooms that was rented by the hour. After entering the second room and with as tissue as I could wrap my hand in I pulled back the bedding to find a urine stained mattress. At this point I turned to my wife who was in tears by then because she was scared and disgusted with this hotel and said were out of here. We contacted Expedia and had them find us another hotel. Ramada close this place down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, tx

Uneven bed

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: close to ewr
Cons: lot
Location: ewr
there was an uneven bed and couple of times i complained to front office each time they told me they will send engineer to check it, but they never send me. i stayed there for 3 nights and end up having back pain. i will never book again to this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Aug 22, 2014
This hotel was extremely to access by road One entrance on a very busy highway.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Overall we were very pleased with our experience! Hotel is very close to the airport and the roads are uber confusing, but the hotel was good. The outside could use a little spiffing up, but the inside was beautiful. We ate at the resturant twice, I have multiple food allergies and they went out of their way to make me something tasty. The hotel pool was nice but could have been a bit warmer. I would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, VT

Nice hotel, not a great location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Staff, having the option of room service and three meals a day, and free parking
Cons: Quality of restaurant food, air conditioner leaked, and pool wasn't open very late
Location: The location isn't the worst but definitely not the best. The jersey gardens outlet mall is very close and there are a lot lf stores!
The hotel itself was nice and accommodating. I was not a fan of newark though. The restaurant in the hotel had some good food, but the mashed potatoes tasted like they were instant potatoes which was disappointing but the rest of our meal (shrimp cocktail, wings, BBQ chicken sandwich) was great and very reasonably priced. Staff here was very nice. The bed was a bit hard but still comfortable.. He didn't make it out to the pool but it looked very clean and peaceful! There is only an outdoor pool here. Great hotel for the price.
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to freeway

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Clean , ok , comfortable , friendly staff, close to city ,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far from Manhattan

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The hotel is OK for the price, but It takes 2 1/2 hours to get Manhattan using public transportation. And sometimes the bathroom ceiling falling down.
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

just ok

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: location proximity to the airport is a plus but if driving to the hotel it is extremely difficult to get to. The price was right
Cons: customer service needs to improve. Otherwise it is fine for the price
Location: Its near train to the city and near the airport but shuttle service is spotty and takes too much time.
The rooms are average. it is hard to get to and the courtesy van is unreliable and slow. Had to wait at the airport for an hour for a pick up.
5 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Near Newark airport

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Newark Airport, helpful concierge
Clean, nice-sized rooms, comfortable beds. Concierge was extremely helpful in locating nearby business for me. Business Center allowed me to print boarding pass for free; there was a charge for additional time on computers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Not Happy

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The bed is broken and our room is very far from the elevator. The closet is hard to open...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Don Sheneman, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear of the problem with your bed. I presume you contacted someone ,so we could send one of our engineering staff to fix it? If you had asked for a rom closer to the elevator we would have tried to accomadate your request. Please be assured I have shared your concerns about the closet door with my engineering dept. to see what may be the problem. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will give us another chance to service you in the near future.