Ratings based on 1,988 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Good for stay for catching up early morning flight

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Good for stay for catching up early morning flight. The hotel staff are friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

In considerate Front Desk staff

Posted Oct 27, 2014
I made a reservation for a guest at this hotel and when they went to check in they were told that unless the reservation was in their name he would not allow the person to check in. Even though I spoke directly to the front desk flunky and assured him I made (and paid) for the room he would not budge unless I changed the reservation through Expedia. What makes this all the more unbelievable is that the guest was a Lutheran Pastor wearing his clerical collar! After 45 minutes the reservation was changed and my guest was permitted to register for his room. I will never stay at a Wyndham Garden hotel and tell this story to whomever I see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newark

Nice & comfortable

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Friendly
Cons: Nothing I could see
Location: Not sure as only stayed overnight
Very pleased with the whole visit only there overnight before flight
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

One night airport stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: Furnishings are a little tired
Location: Only stayed 1 night no idea about things to do in this area
The hotel runs a 1/2 hour shuttle service to the airport but on arrival it took 35 minutes for the shuttle to show up. The room lighting was some what dim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overnight for flight

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Convenient, clean, comfortable, friendly and safe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pleasant hill ca

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: very little
Cons: hotel transportation to places other then airport...like cruise ships in NYC...even if it came with a price.
Location: awful
elevators seem ready to crash, hotel laundry way too visable to guests...we don't need to see and hear your washing sheets and towels, hotel public areas seem dirty, this hotel would go out of business on the west coast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Good hotel for the price

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Reliable shuttle, 24/7 snackbar, decent restaurant, clean comfortable room, convenience to NYC
Cons: Very limited counterspace in the bathroom
Location: Convenient if you want easy access to NYC but don't want to deal with staying in the city (or deal with the expense of Manhattan hotels)
Check in was very quick and easy mainly because I had pre-booked through Expedia. Room was clean; only complaint is the A/C fan was a bit loud and uneven. All in all, the stay, albeit only one night, was comfortable. I like the 24/7 snackbar where you can get an espresso drink even if your day starts at 5am. The burger in the restaurant is decent. The shuttle leaves reliably on the half hour so you can plan when to head to the airport (or the EWR train station to pop over to NY Penn). This has become my go-to hotel for my NYC trips because the price is much less than it would be on Manhattan and the convenience of using the EWR train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
If all you're doing is booking this hotel to have an ok place to stay, it's ok I guess.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Decent hotel near airport

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pretty clean hotel close to airport. Nothing luxurious and no restaurants in the vicinity. It's very basic if you need to be near airport it's fine. The service was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Last minute hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
I missed my flight and had to spend the night in Newark so didn't have time to research a hotel, but this was a good choice. Well kept and clean for an older hotel and the price was right. Staff was professional and I had no problems with the room itself. Close to airport and good shuttle service.