Ratings based on 2,237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: desk staff, focus on guests
The hotel is in a good area but there were many things wrong. It took the staff an hour to bring our bags to the room. This was after we had already waited an hour past check in time because the rooms werent ready. The room temperature was 75 degrees. We called the front desk multiple times and in the end it was never fixed.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Poor conditions. Staff seemed to be disorganized.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Horrible conditions. First room the bathroom was not cleaned, furniture in poor shape. Called the front desk to speak to them, to only have the phone ring for 5 minutes with no response. Went down to talk to the manager who was already dealing with another very angry customer. They put us in a different room that had detached drapes hanging, cloth headboard stained pretty badly, nightstands in a pretty bad shape and stained, dressers had the doors removed. Website pictures are deceiving. I wish I could post mine to replace. Called Expedia to complain. I don't think we will ever go back to a Wyndham again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

try to find better

Posted Apr 23, 2015
I know it is a budget hotel, and I wasn't expecting much, but when I arrived, one of the three passenger elevators serving at least 25 floors was being used to take out garbage and the second to take out cardboard boxes. That left a bunch of us waiting for one elevator which had to make multiple trips to get us all. Once in my room, the bathroom floor was just gross (I'll skip the details). I had to have someone come up and clean it at 10p. Never heard a word from the manager or the front desk. Otherwise, a typical budget hotel room.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Wyndham Midtown 45 Very Disappointing

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Although no one ever told us about it, there was a decent community room on the top floor that we found. It had couches, chairs, glasses and ice!
Cons: Everything could be improved upon.
Location: It was fairly close to Grand Central Station that took us to the part of town we wanted to be at.
With tax, we paid $300 a night to stay here. We booked the wrong Wyndham and could not get out of our contract to move to another hotel. The cabinets and bedside tables were very old and the wood was chipped. The beds had no bedspreads, just a thin waffle blanket with a sheet under it and over it. There was no clock. The phone was old and had it's wiring all bunched up on the table. There was no mini fridge, no ice, no ice bucket. no drinking glasses but two coasters. The bathroom looked OK but the toilet paper holder was too far from the toilet, the plug in the sink was broken and the shower had instructions on what you had to do to get the shower on. When we called down to see where the ice was and to request glasses and an ice bucket we were told there was no ice in the hotel...that they would bring us some. They brought it an hour later after two phone calls. The next day, when they cleaned the room, they took the bucket and glasses back. They also did not empty the trash cans at all during our 3 night stay. Maybe because they only cleaned our room one time. The settee was also old, dirty and had pen markings on it. The carpet was soiled. Need I go on? It was a bad experience. I know hotels in NY can be small but you should never have to pay this kind of money to stay in a dingy, run down place. We decided we weren't going to let it ruin our vacation so we just joked about it and got several good laughs out of it. I will be making a formal complaint.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ca

Double charge cause I'm check out late.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Once I'm stepping into this hotel , it seen like the staff are so friendly but there not. Most hotel check out time is at 12pm but there time is at 10am. There late fee is $35 first hr.And $100 each hr. I got charge $190 just for late check out even thought I requested for another night without paying the late fee.they rejected me and told me if I staying another night . I need to pay late fee plus the room rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

Warning: This is supposed to be a 4 STAR hotel?!?!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
I cannot believe that the weekend I had planned for my boyfriend's birthday in the city began with me hysterically crying after walking into our hotel room. That is NOT what I had expected considering this was supposed to be a four star hotel, a Wyndham nonetheless and almost $300 for the night. It was outdated, the furniture looking like it had been through the war as my mother would say with holes in the "couch" leatherette and chips out of the wooden desk. There wasn't even a comforter on the bed! When calling the front desk to ask about switching rooms, I was basically shunned by the woman on the other end. She told me to take up my compliants with Expedia since that is how I booked the room. Not until my boyfriend went down to the front desk, were they accomodating in finding us a slightly more suitable room. Trying to sleep was a disaster as well. People were running up and down the hallways all night long screaming and yelling and not one staff member remedied the situation. After all that's, I barely slept. I have visited the spectrum of hotels from Hampton Inns to Ritz Carltons. As long as the hotel is well kept and the people are helpful, I am satisfied. I DO NOT RECOMMEND this hotel and I will never be giving ANY WYNDHAM my business ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom r

1 or 2 star hotel rating

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The ac was broken and the temperature was 87 degrees. The shower handles came right off very cheap. The room is nothing like the picture advertised. The place fell apart everytime you touched something. Only thing that worked was the tvs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills experience.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Paper thin walls that make your neighbor's shower sound like it was your own. A thermostat insistent on keeping the room too hot. No glasses to pour yourself a drink of water. You get the picture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Convenient hotel in manhattan, close to subway.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Great stay. Clean. Not noisy. Delayed check out. Coffee and tea available daily.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

No amenities

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: location was great
Cons: Provide coffee machine, ice bucket and ice machines, glasses, bottled water and a way to adjust thermostat in the room.
Location: great restaurants, theaters and shopping
We have never stayed in a hotel before where there was no coffee machine, no ice bucket or ice machines, no glasses, no bottled water and no way to adjust thermostat in the room.