Ratings based on 2,235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Wonderful midtown comfort and views

Posted May 24, 2015
The service team was exceptional and the location was fantastic for easy, walkable access to the theater district, Madison Ave shopping, and Rockefeller Center.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC area

Run-down hotel disappoints at graduation weekend

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Bring the hotel into modern times. Cleanliness. Condition of room, furniture, bedding. Functionality: clocks, lighting, internet. Staff.
I'm sad to report that Wyndham Midtown 45 is a terrible disappointment. I stayed here for my daughter's college graduation. We had stayed here several times a few years ago in its earlier incarnation as The Alex, then a wonderful boutique hotel. Now it is worn-out and dirty. The staff are unhelpful. The furniture in the room is in bad shape, stained, dented, with wood fraying off. The room is not lighted well, and the main source of light, a floor lamp, was not working. The fabric headboard of the bed was stained and partially covered with a blanket. The sheets did not fit properly on the bed. The small settee was also stained. The carpet was stained. There was no clock in the room. The internet connection did not work properly. The TV did not receive all of its channels. This stay at the Wyndham Midtown 45 was a poor experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Disappointing!

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The location was pretty good.
The hotel was not at all what we expected of a Wyndham Hotel. There was no coffeemaker in the room, and while the hotel provided coffee in the Lobby, there was usually no coffee to be had, even relatively early in the morning (8:30 am). Getting ice was another matter--you had to order room service and wait 20-30 minutes for it to arrive. We valet parked our car for only two of the three nights we stayed at the hotel. We had to explain the valet situation to hotel staff 3-4 times before they correctly charged us. The room was noisy too. There was this continual humming sound all night long, every night. Just not a good experience generally speaking.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mililani, Hawaii

Not worth the money

Posted May 21, 2015
Cons: Better lighting in the room and a refrigerator that works.
This is not a 4.2 rated hotel. I was very disappointed with the room we had. For one, it was very dark (even with the curtains opened), lighting insufficient and couple of the lamps were not working. I left a note to have the lamps checked/bulbs changed but still wasn't working. Refrigerator was useless; it took over an hour and 2 calls to housekeeping to get fresh towels, which they had to come back to deliver the hand towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom west midlands, uk

Great location rubbish hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
On arrival lovely room but nothing worked and fixtures weren't fixed. Moved room much inferior no view still lights didnt work properly, dust etc.. staff not bothered. hotel being refurbished and should not have taken bookings. No real facilities to speak of. Not worth 4 star rating. Not even close.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasant Hill, CA

Oh my, where to begin?

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Awesome location -- three blocks from Grand Central Station.
Cons: Need more responsive staff. Don't over-promise and under-deliver. Why can't I get my own ice?
Location: Amish Market down the block is a gem!
In order of events: Day 1: 45 minutes and 2 phone calls to get a bucket of ice, Day 2: our keys stopped working and housekeeping skipped our room, Day 3: after asking, confirming, asking again, we were told that the roll-away we were promised FOUR TIMES was not available, but they would happily rent us another room for almost what we were paying for our room, or they would "make up a cot-like thing on the floor". We opted for the floor. It was not cot-like at all. It was two blankets and a sheet. Uncomfortable is not the right description. That said, the manager was nice and friendly. Everyone was nice and friendly. On our final day, we left our bags there after checking out. To get our bags took about 1/2 an hour. Four people standing around in suits staring at themselves couldn't get our bags, but the sweaty overworked bellman took care of us. I really, really, really wanted to like this hotel. I stayed here on my honeymoon when it was the Alex - great memories. But I was so disappointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
The room provided was clean, but on check in the toiletries provided seemed to be used one. Since we had our own, did not go to the hassle of asking for replacements, but the next day new ones were provided making it apparent the one we saw on first day were indeed not unused.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, good price, but needs updating.

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: The staff, room size, and location.
Cons: Really need to update the rooms with better air conditioning and newer furnishings.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The beds were reasonably comfortable and the room was spacious. However, the entire hotel was very warm and there was no way to adequately cool the hotel room. The shower also had very low water pressure, which was annoying. Pretty good experience overall, but I wouldn't stay there again if better options were available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heat needed

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Location, staff was very friendly
Cons: Upgrade rooms more electrical outlets for modern chargers, media room,
Location: Good food
50 degrees outside and no heat in the room because the hotel turned off the heat for the year. WIFI was nonexistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Unlike many NYC hotels, we thought the overnight street noise was minimal.
Cons: Strangely, our room did not have drinking glasses. We had to ask for them.
Our experience was positive. We would definitely stay there again.