Ratings based on 1,758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No room available

Posted May 25, 2014
Showed up at 1:30am because of flight delay and lady at front desk said there are no rooms available due to a water leak...they paid taxi and transferred us to Tryp hotel, they paid for the room there and refunded the first night. Being really tired and being said that there is no room available even though we had prepaid months before was really terrible. Worst thing that could happen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Derbyshire, UK

Great stay

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: We weren't told about the rooftop area, which is open to all guests and had spectacular views across the city.
Location: Very close to Grand Central Station, which makes it very easy to explore the city. Nearby attractions include the UN building and Chrysler building.
We booked a 2 bedroom suite at the Wyndham for a long weekend break in New York. I had read mixed reviews, but booked regardless due to the location and description. I have to say that the accommodation exceeded all expectations. We were offered complimentary drinks in the bar whilst we waited a short time for our room to become available. Our room - a corner suite on the 20th floor - had amazing city views from the corner lounge, and both bedrooms. With two bathrooms, ample storage, and a full kitchen, the accommodation lacked nothing. For added convenience, there is a 24 hour shop right next to the hotel, along with a variety of bars, restaurants, and convenience stores all within a very short walk. The hotel is also only a 5 minute walk from Grand Central Station, which makes the whole of Manhattan very accessible. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Comfort Cafe across the street.
Cons: Drop the volume of music in the very small lobby. Consistently positive attitude of staff.
Mixed experience with front desk staff-one pleasant and helpful, the other curt. Same true for bell staff. A promised coffee maker for the room never materialized, despite reminder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steph from Edinburgh, Scotland

Good location

Posted May 12, 2014
Good location, close to grand central and airport bus transfers plus a great pub just next door. Well worth the upgrade to a junior suite for a the extra space to make a 5 night stay more comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be back

Posted May 8, 2014
My first room was around the corner from the wifi router and, as the building engineer explained, the signal wasn't strong enough to reach my room. (In addition, the instruction card showing how to connect to the wifi covered the old system, not the one currently available.) The signal in the second room was better. However, there were no working lights in the bedroom -- both lights were disconnected and one of them had no bulb. Also, I found the bedroom door propped open with a wad of paper jammed under it; otherwise, the door would remain closed. Finally, all of the furniture - bed, sofa, etc. - was about 18 inches off the ground. I'm of above-average height and found it uncomfortable. But there was nothing wrong with the furniture. The hotel clerk was very nice -- he moved me from a regular room to a suite -- and apologetic. The engineer was very helpful and responsive. But I think Wyndham should take a look at these issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location for a NYC break.

Posted May 5, 2014
This hotel was perfect for a first time visit to NYC. Brilliant location close to Grand Central station. Comfortable spacious and quiet room at the wyndham 45. Would def stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2014
Day staff at the hotel was rude and unaccommodating. Restaurant staff was rude. Lobby was very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will from Baltimore

Close to everything, but far enough from crowds

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Great suites. Lots of room. Felt like I was at home. Not your typical NYC sardine sized hotel.
Cons: I'm easy to please. The hotel was fine.
Location: Close to all the Manhattan favorites but tucked off of 3rd and 45th.
Was in the city for the weekend. I've stayed here before. Great location and great rates. The rooms are spacious and modern. It also helps that the woman at the counter could be a model.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, great location, poor property.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
The hotel is centrally located, just east of Grand Central in midtown. The biggest nuisance was the mildew smell coming from the shower, along with the mold build up along the shower walls. the hotel is undergoing extension renovations which had the lobby under construction overnight, but functioning during the day.