Ratings based on 1,734 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location - Hotel needs Upgrading.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Update the hotel lobby and rooms. Lobby gets quite crowded with elevator traffic. Put in some ice machines on every 5 floors or so.
Recently stayed at the Wyndham Midtown 45 and was not overly excited about it. My "Deluxe King Room" had a view of the back air conditioning units and dumpsters (Room 408). You have to call housekeeping for ice - which never arrived after 3 calls, so we went down to the bar and had to ask the bartender for ice. The location is great for subways and restaurants. Overall, I feel that the hotel needs a good updating....rooms were not as nice as others I have stayed in in the same area. The hotel could also use a business center that allows guests to use computers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Clean hotel with good location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The hotel was conveniently located near Grand Central. While the room was clean, it wasn't extremely comfortable. The bed and pillows lacked the "fluff" I typically associate with hotels. It should also be mentioned that the shower and toilet were highly difficult to operate. It took the strength of both hands to flush the toilet (a button on the wall), and we had to contact the front desk twice for instructions on how to turn the shower on. Aside from that, we had a great stay. Check in was rather late (4pm), but they had no problem holding our bags until then.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Decent hotel - room furnishings were outdated and worn.
1 out of 5
by Mr. Moore

The hotel was nice for the year 1965. Very old

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Hotel needs updates badly. Broken furniture. Stains in the leather sofas. The sweet we thought we ordered turned out to be sour.
4 out of 5
by Alfonso

THIS HOTEL AS SECOND OPTION

Posted Jun 7, 2014
TRY TO GO TO ANOTHER HOTEL, THIS IS OK AS A SECOND OPTION, SPECIAL OFFER ONLY, FOR THE PRICE YOU CAN GET MUCH BETTER IN MANHATTAN, TRY OTHER BRANDS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrew

Perfect hotel in midtown

Posted May 29, 2014
Very clean, very close to everything in manhattan. Service was friendly and the price was very reasonable for what you get in return. Excellent hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wyndham

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: large rooms
Cons: need bathrobes, more bathroom mirrors and lighting
Location: good pub next door
good, small lobby and check in, need better shampoos
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grigory

Just perfect

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Everything
Located in the very center of the city very nice hotel. So good for expedia's VIP excess.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No room available

Posted May 25, 2014
Showed up at 1:30am because of flight delay and lady at front desk said there are no rooms available due to a water leak...they paid taxi and transferred us to Tryp hotel, they paid for the room there and refunded the first night. Being really tired and being said that there is no room available even though we had prepaid months before was really terrible. Worst thing that could happen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Derbyshire, UK

Great stay

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: We weren't told about the rooftop area, which is open to all guests and had spectacular views across the city.
Location: Very close to Grand Central Station, which makes it very easy to explore the city. Nearby attractions include the UN building and Chrysler building.
We booked a 2 bedroom suite at the Wyndham for a long weekend break in New York. I had read mixed reviews, but booked regardless due to the location and description. I have to say that the accommodation exceeded all expectations. We were offered complimentary drinks in the bar whilst we waited a short time for our room to become available. Our room - a corner suite on the 20th floor - had amazing city views from the corner lounge, and both bedrooms. With two bathrooms, ample storage, and a full kitchen, the accommodation lacked nothing. For added convenience, there is a 24 hour shop right next to the hotel, along with a variety of bars, restaurants, and convenience stores all within a very short walk. The hotel is also only a 5 minute walk from Grand Central Station, which makes the whole of Manhattan very accessible. I would definitely stay here again.