Ratings based on 6,268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central, comfortable and spacious hotel.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
. We could see the Empire State Biulding from our room and were just across the road from Penn Station. We really enjoyed.our stay and the staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Room kind of small but nice and clean

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Excellent location and totally refurbished room
Cons: Room could use a closet and restaurant is pricey
Room was small and had no closet, but was very nice and clean. Beds were incredible comfortable and there was very little noise (we stayed on floor 22th so maybe height helped). You can tell they listen to user feedback, room was probably old but looked like it had been recently painted and refurbished. The location is a huge plus, so close to Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. I totally recommend this Hotel!! Keep in mind that pretty much all hotels near Madison Square are either very expensive or old and tiny, so room size was no surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Nice hotel next to Penn Station & MSG

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Our room was small but clean. Hotel bar was lovely with great service. This is not a full service hotel although they have an amazing concierge, Suzie, who's every recommendation was perfect! She helped make our NYC experience so wonderful! I would recommend based also on location, right next to Penn Station, shopping on 34th, and so many attractions within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a 4 star hotel!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms for sure. Great location for all who want to be around Madisen square garden area.
Cons: Rating needs to be changed... The New Yorker is what it is... No way is it 4 star.
Location: Fine! Close to Macy's , Flat Iron Distrct , MSG and penn Station.
The Lobby area is lovely! But the rooms are extremely old as are the bathrooms and hallways. I was extremely dissapointed. They did move me to a slightly larger room. The staff was nice and the rooms were clean for sure. The decor was ok... The entire problem is the fact that this hotel is not rated appropriately. 3 stars is about right. NO MORE!!! This way a guest's expectations can be met properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver,b.c.,canada

Strategic Location

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location,staff and room cleanliness
Cons: Elevator service and on site restaurant (diner)
Location: Shopping,Penn Station, Broadway and Times Square within reasonable walking distance
Well located for shopping and getting around.Lobby crowded and elevators full with only 2 elevators operating during busy periods. Dearth of good eating places within the Hotel though the Concierge remedied this by making excellent suggestions within walking distance. On going construction activity and temporary scaffoldngs can be an eyesore and at times noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amazonas, Brasil

Classic but modern hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The location is excellent, the rooms are confortable and modern.
Cons: My room was a little tiny, and it didn`t have a fridge. It was weird cause even cheaper hotels have a fridge in the rooms.
Location: Just a few blocks from the Empire State Building. You can easily walk to the Herald Square, Times Square, Bryant Park and 5th ave.
It's a very good hotel, with an The services are excellente, and the room are very confort, but strangely, my room did not have a fridge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Avoid this hotel like the plague

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The TV had a decent selection of channels.
Cons: Just about everything else.
Location: It's by Penn Station so convenient for travelling by train. However, it is a bit of a hike to get to areas in midtown, so need to take the subway.
The front desk staff seem like they don't want to be there. Why does it take 5 people to serve two customers? Their response to my complaint about construction noise was "What do you want me to do about it?" I had a bitter argument when they said they weren't able to move my things to a new room to get away from construction noise. The security staff look at you like you're a criminal until you show them your room card; I've never seen anything like it in a hotel. The noise from the water pipes when someone takes a shower is unbearably loud. The closet is so small that I could only hang some of my clothes in there at an angle and the rest of my clothes on the wood trimming around the room. Though common of many New York hotels, the decor is fairly old and dilapidated; this hotel has definitely not been refurnished to the standard they indicate on the website. Avoid this hotel like the plague.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Minuscule room.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
The room was very, very small. The noise kept me up all night between the construction and people getting ice from the machine. In addition, I had the thermostat up to 75 degrees and could not get warm. I slept with a sweater on. The draft from the window was very noticeable. The bed was right up against it. On the plus side, it was a good location, clean and had a great gym.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Convenient location, tight fit

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Location and prices
Cons: Check in process, rooms are small even by NY standards
Location: Near MSG and subway. Empire State Bldg.
Formerly simply the New Yorker Hotel, this hotel is conveniently located close to Madison Square Garden and the subway. The hotel itself leaves a number of things to be desired. The check in process was very slow and though I got an upgrade as an Expedia VIP, my room was tiny. This is often the case in NY hotels, but I'd anticipated that I'd get a bit more space. During my stay, there was heavy rain, and the hotel did not offer umbrellas for its guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Ive never been too newyork before and this hotel was a great location for a first visit. Walking distance times sq, empire state and rockafella. Dinner adjourning hotel was nice aswell. No complimentary breakfast and no tea/coffee facilities in room. Disappointing for a 4 star hotel?