Ratings based on 5,634 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SE England

Customer service lacking

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Conveniently situated for Penn subway, Port Authority Greyhound buses, Times Square , Madison Square Gardens and Empire State building
Cons: A warm welcome and patience with guests new to the City
Location: Penn subway, Port Authority Greyhound buses, Times Square and theatre street , Madison Square Gardens and Empire State building.
We had three nights in this hotel in midtown Manhatten. The hotel lobby is very impressive and the rooms presented at a very high standard, although a little dated decor.We split our stay into two parts so experienced more than one room, although both eooms were on floor 24. In both rooms the bathroom decor needed some attention.The housekeeping staff were polite and hardworking, however the reception staff were far from welcoming. The service at check- in on both days was very slow, and they kept us waiting when we were tired and new to the city, and answers to any questions or clarification were in the form of abrupt responses, almost patronising. The bell boys were more friendly and smiled, and naturally expected a tip. We used the business centre for doing our online flight check-in, which worked well. The hotel offers no in room refreshments as the diner and cocktail bar on either side of the hotel are part of the same hotel group.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chan from australia

Central spot!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Super location to all attractions - Madison square garden, time square , shopping. Room was perfect for 4 people. I would book here again . Room was clean and we received an upgrade to a larger room upon arrival for free. No complaints about this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chan from australia

Central spot!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Super location to all attractions - Madison square garden, time square , shopping. Room was perfect for 4 people. I would book here again . Room was clean and we received an upgrade to a larger room upon arrival for free. No complaints about this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Maryland

Nice Place to Stay

Posted Apr 15, 2014
We stayed at The New Yorker for two nights. We enjoyed our stay. The staff was very welcoming, the room was clean and check-in and check-out were efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location walking distance to Times Square

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Had a great stay here only downside is on the fri we were hoping to have a nap during the day and their were works being carried at on the floor above very noisy, thankfully no work on the weekends so we were safe but take this into account when staying here mid week
4 out of 5
by joni from montana

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
My only negative about this hotel was the lack of space. Tiny bedroom, tiny closet. Otherwise it was just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: construction scaffolding outside our window blocked view and the work was noisy from 9:00 am throughout the day
NYC is a fun place to visit, especially when the weather cooperates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from Austin, Texas

Perfect location when visiting.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms are very small. Sound proof the rooms? Very noisy in that part of town. Maybe its just NY.
Location: Very close to the subway and walking distance to a lot of cool places.
One staff member was extremely rude and not helpful at all. He should know that he chose to be in the hospitality business. There was mistake on the number of beds in the room and he was awful and did not even attempt to help me.The rest of the staff was very nice and helpful during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Hells Kitchen.....great location!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Front desk was excellent, very courteous and helpful. Mohammed upgraded us to a bigger suite which was wonderful for our group. Room was exceptionally clean and user friendly. A bit older but in great condition and very comfortable beds. All staff friendly and charming. Diner was excellent for breakfast. We will come back again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mo from England

Good Location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Handy diner for breakfast
Location: Handy location close to Empire State Building and Macys. Times Square a 15 min walk and two subways for longer journeys
Excellent position for sight-seeing. Subways close by together with eating places and close to the theatres and shops