Ratings based on 5,620 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Maryland

Nice Place to Stay

Posted Apr 15, 2014
We stayed at The New Yorker for two nights. We enjoyed our stay. The staff was very welcoming, the room was clean and check-in and check-out were efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location walking distance to Times Square

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Had a great stay here only downside is on the fri we were hoping to have a nap during the day and their were works being carried at on the floor above very noisy, thankfully no work on the weekends so we were safe but take this into account when staying here mid week
4 out of 5
by joni from montana

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
My only negative about this hotel was the lack of space. Tiny bedroom, tiny closet. Otherwise it was just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: construction scaffolding outside our window blocked view and the work was noisy from 9:00 am throughout the day
NYC is a fun place to visit, especially when the weather cooperates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from Austin, Texas

Perfect location when visiting.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms are very small. Sound proof the rooms? Very noisy in that part of town. Maybe its just NY.
Location: Very close to the subway and walking distance to a lot of cool places.
One staff member was extremely rude and not helpful at all. He should know that he chose to be in the hospitality business. There was mistake on the number of beds in the room and he was awful and did not even attempt to help me.The rest of the staff was very nice and helpful during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Hells Kitchen.....great location!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Front desk was excellent, very courteous and helpful. Mohammed upgraded us to a bigger suite which was wonderful for our group. Room was exceptionally clean and user friendly. A bit older but in great condition and very comfortable beds. All staff friendly and charming. Diner was excellent for breakfast. We will come back again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mo from England

Good Location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Handy diner for breakfast
Location: Handy location close to Empire State Building and Macys. Times Square a 15 min walk and two subways for longer journeys
Excellent position for sight-seeing. Subways close by together with eating places and close to the theatres and shops
2 out of 5
by Nomar from Belgium

Great location but way too noisy

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Overal look and feel, the atmosphere it breathes, the location, and the shops close by. The staff was also very friendly.
Cons: Noise insulation!!! Other than the banging: why can you hear the elevator's dinging in the rooms? Why?
Location: Macy's is just a block away, MSG is next door, Empire State is close by.
It's a good looking hotel, art deco style. Really breathes 1920/30s atmosphere, that's definitely a big plus if you like it. Staff is also really friendly and overall it's very clean. It would have been a fantastic hotel if it wouldn't have been for the constant banging and shaking that was going on. For some reason about every 10 seconds you could hear a dull,blunt bang in the background (like you can hear when they are driving a pile into the ground for foundations). At first I was on the 22nd floor and after I heard the bangs I could feel the vibrations in my bed. Very annoying!!! I requested another room and I got one on the 39th floor, where I could only hear it and no more vibrations in my bed. However in the other part of my room, the whole room was constantly vibrating. There were also rattling noises, and off course the banging, be it a very little less disturbing. I'm not sure if it was because they seemed to be renovating (scaffolding outside the building) or if it were the elevators (the noises seemed to die down a bit between 12 and 5 A.M) The bed sheets weren't 100% clean: on the backside of the edge there were smears, but the majority of the sheets was clean. Rooms were very tidy. TV still had analog channels, which on a flatscreen is a pain, not that you're going to watch a lot of TV in New York, but still it's 2014!
3 out of 5
by Helen from yorkshire , England

Definitely not a 4*

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Long unwelcoming check in. We went for my sons 18th birthday and we were told that we wouldn't be able to have our two rooms on the same floor! I insisted and miraculously Mohammed found us two rooms but insinuated that they were too small for two even though we booked for two double rooms!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Cons: The shower took ages to heat up
Right next to the subway and within easy walking of Times Square, The Empire State, Chelsea and Greenwich Village via the Highline. The hotel was really clean and staff friendly. The Tick Tock Diner (if part of the hotel) was over priced compared to other breakfast bars close by and not so friendly. A pity because it looked great.