Ratings based on 6,038 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Limited space for four people

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: See above also felt very safe and secure
Cons: See above
Location: Excellent location near empire state, close to bus tours, a variety of restaurants. Times square and Penn starion within walking distance. Shopping!
We were four people and had 2 twin beds - 2 queens would have been better. Also a coffee/tea maker in the room (such as in Comfort Inn ) would have been welcome. Wider shelves in washroom would have been more convenient as well as a clothes airer to dry out or air out worn clothes. We did enjoy the gym and it is well maintained but wondered why there was no pool. The room was cleaned thoroughly and fresh towels available every day of our stay. The business area was useful as we needed to print some bus tour vouchers. Even though they were small, it was very practical to have 2 restrooms in our room and 2 clothes lockers. The iron and hairdryer were also very useful and there was excellent lighting to choose from such as bright ceiling light or lamps on desk and over night stand. The staff are all very nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Decent hotel for price

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: Really busy shopping area - good for tourists.
The rooms are quite small and old/outdated. The carpeting and bathrooms need to be replaced. But for the money, the hotel is fine. It is conveniently located to public transit and Penn Station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation in NY

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We spent 4 nights at this hotel and have to say our stay was enjoyable. The rooms are rather small, as can be expected for NY. Still, the beds were comfortable and the room appointments functional. As others have mentioned, the hotel is somewhat dated. The bathrooms for instance are in desperate need for an upgrade. The shower heads and faucets were old and odd to operate, still all were always kept clean. Probably the hotel's best asset is it's location. Across the street from MSG, with a subway line right outside the hotel, and a short few blocks walking distance from the Empire State or Time Square. Service at the hotel was good. Surprisingly friendly staff made for a pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Hotel is close to Penn Station

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Penn Station. Cleanliness.
Cons: STAFF attitudes and training. Everything was someone else's problem. Not a helpful attitude in a customer service job.
Location: The subway stations nearby and the Empire State Building are pluses. NYC is a waling city…lots to do.
The New Yorker's proximity to Penn Station is it's only calling card. The hotel is quite adequate but they do need to work on customer service. We did find three helpful employees during our 2 day stay but not on the same shifts. As the title suggests…great location, though. Very convenient. They are fortunate for that reason.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Old hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: It's central location.
Cons: This hotel should not be advertised as a four-star hotel as it is misleading and we were disappointed when we arrived.
The Wyndham New Yorker is fantastic for its location - it's steps away from Penn Station, great shopping at Macy's and stores in the Herald Square area, and close to Times Square (just walk, no need for the subway). This is an historic hotel presently undergoing renovations with a great lobby, but everything else (e.g., elevators, hallways, room & bathroom) needs to be updated/renovated. The room was small, but not that important considering you are going to be spending most of your time away except for sleep. The counter space in the bathroom was minimal and was frustrating because it slanted down (so things placed on it would keep sliding off) in our room. The first night was very noisy outside (even checked if the window might be open), but the remaining days were okay except for some hammering sounds in the middle of the night that disturbed our sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Great Location; Terrible Service and Rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The only good thing about this hotel was the location -- walking distance to Empire State Building and Times Square. For the price we paid, we expected better facilities though. The staff was fairly rude as well and you had to wait several minutes to get through to the front desk and concierge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reception terrible. Hostile attitude

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The reception personnel were not Fit for hospitality business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Family Holiday

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Very handy location. Great air conditioning. Perfectt if you just want a bed to sleep in. Clean but needs new carpet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
old construction but the main advantage is location. It is near to Time Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada

Nice spot in NYC & close to Penn Station

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Well spotted in NYC, close to Penn Station, walkable distance from Times Square and Broadway shows, courteous staff.
Cons: Room cleanliness (we found a pair of socks from previous visitors on the carpet), some rust on the towels rack
Location: Times Square, Madison Square Garden, B&H Photo & Video, The High-Line, Circle Line cruises, Macy's
The hotel is in good shape but our room was extremely small. The bathroom had no ventilation so towels rack had a little rust on it. Soundproofing could be improved (bathtub noise from room next door).