Ratings based on 6,358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and very helpful staff

Posted Nov 19, 2014
From our arrival to departure I could not fault the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location - decor tired

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Condition of room
Location: Empire states building, Penn station, Macy'sA
The hotel is in a great location and at one time was obviously quite smart, but now it seems a bit tired, room needed a thorough cleaning and update.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all the tourist sites.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Close to all the sites we wanted to see.
Cons: Bathrooms desperately need updating!!!
the bathroom was extremely small and dated, but overall our experience was a positive one. The restaurant (Tick Tock Diner) attached to the hotel was a nice surprise. Their food and service was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel, ten minutes from Times Square

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The lobby area was great. Art Deco. However, the room was very small and cramped. The bathroom was partly renovated, with a new sink/vanity and floor, but the bath/shower was old and mildewed. Quite disappointing. The location was good, a ten minute walk from Times Square.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rugby, England

4 night stay at Wyndham New Yorker Nov 2014

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Great views from 36th floor but the room was tight and badly laid out, no mirror near plugs and bathroom fittings all rusting. No extractor fan and no light near the closet. All kept clean and the staff were friendly and the main bedroom was nicely presented. No mini bar or fridge and generally would say this is far more 3* than 4*. Having stayed in NYC before there are better hotels for the money and rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fontana CA

New York in November

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Proximity to points of interest
Cons: Room size and free breakfast. Tick Tock restaurant lacked in quality and service.
Location: Time Square, Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Subway access, Macy's, Shopping areas: all these places are within short walking distance.
We arrive early and the staff allowed us to check in early. VERY NICE!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

New Yorker too expensive for what it is.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
The hotel is well located, but rooms can hardly acommodate 2. The hotel looks terrible on the outside. It seems to me that Wyndham aquire an old poor maintained hotel and is trying to rent the rooms at a very high price. I paid over $250.00 per night for a tiny room in a very ugly hotel. Nobody should paying more tgan $150.00 in this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Great location. Hotel lobby was beautiful. (very Great Gatsby and Art-deco) The floors were in the middle of some renovations. As typical for NY - rooms were small. Bathroom had a nice 'retro' feel,, but the shower's water pressure and controlling of temperature wasn't very good. Security and Staff was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Good Location. Felt very safe and secure. Room was ready when arrived. Staff was very pleasant, courtesy and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but disappointing.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: The hotel is in desperate need of freshening up, new carpets and painting at the very least.
Rooms and halls are very tired looking and not inviting.