Ratings based on 6,230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Close to times square but not so nice

Posted Oct 21, 2014
The hotel was on construction from outside. Room was small' didnot looks like the pics.The hotel is in good and safe place and is fine even in late night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great spot to stay in Manhattan

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location, art deco design, inviting lobby, very friendly helpful staff, clean
Location: Fantastic location in mid-town Manhattan; within walking distance to attractions, shopping, theatre, dining, transportation.
We really enjoyed staying at this hotel during our 5 day stay in Manhattan. It offered a pleasant, centrally located home base while we explored the city. Hotel staff were always very friendly and helpful. The lobby, elevators and our room were always very clean. There was a diner with great food, large portions and reasonable prices attached to one side of the hotel and a more upscale restaurant and bar attached to the other side. The subway, Penn station and Port Authority were steps away from the hotel. Reasonably priced transportation to major NYC airports was also located about a block away. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel, in heart of midtown.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Attention to detail in cleaning.
Location: Within walking distance of Empire State, Times Square major shopping and Broadway theaters.
Hotel's period features are lovely. Rooms were comfortable, some slight cleaning issues but not enough to spoil the trip. Good location in heart of Midtown opposite Madison Square Garden. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Nice spot, great location! Typical old New York!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly service, and great for getting us a cab at a great rate - even to New Jersey!
Cons: It is looking its age! Needs some renovations. But it is old school NYC. It added character.
Location: Best Pizza slice, and I eat a lot of Pizza when in NYC - Pizza Suprema, 413 Eighth Ave., midtown west. And very close to Madison Square Garden.
Great location to go to the Javits Center for a conference. Great location and friendly neighborhood. Best thing it was located one block away from the best pizza slice in NYC - Pizza Suprema, 413 Eighth Ave., midtown west. For this reason the New Yorker hotel was great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles Ca

a+ location in the Big Apple

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: the room is in need major upgrades
Location: close to Madison square Garden , times square , and the Famous Macy's Mall
The Hotel is old and outdated I do not believe in the star Rating that was given to the New Yorker the room was so small that to spend time in the room and enjoy is not. My opinion this is a place to spend just one night because there is nothing else close by at a very high cost I will definitive think twice before booking this hotel the hotel is in need of a Major renovation....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Cowboys !!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing !
Cons: Everything !
Location: Location is spot on - the hotel is not !
Queen sized bed was the smallest bed I have ever seen and they insisted to me that a queen size bed is smaller in New York! REALLY ! And then the smart arsed bar man shortchanged me - a load of cowboys !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jackson nj

Not so happy ...

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Extremely small room overpriced pictures were nothing like actual room !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very noisy making it hard to sleep

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Location: Location was fairly central to most things. We would choose a place further north next time closer to Central Park as it is cleaner and more upmarket.
We were just over half way up the building and it was so loud with other guests and room service coming at all hours of the night. The walls must be made from paper as you can hear a door being closed down the other end of the level you are on. Definitely the city that never sleeps.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the rate

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Good location, bad rooms. Not worth the price. Better places have better hotels and lower prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

FIRST TIME IN NYC

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: hotel bathrooms.
Location: Madison Square Gardens, restaurants, Macys
Hotel is in a great location, close to Madison Sq. Gardens, Macys, etc.. good and friendly staff, rooms are small but clean, bathrooms are in need of update. Tic Tock diner is good but menus need updating as several items are not available anymore. Would use hotel again.