Ratings based on 6,275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location great.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
All good, only 1 thing but this I think was just us being unlucky. Water repairs had to be made on our last night between 12.30-5.30 am, we were being collected for the airport at 5.15 therefore it wasn't very convenient for us as we had to use the lobby for the toilet and I wasn't able to have a shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great for seeing Manhattan

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, period features.
Location: Sky Light Diner one block West is amazing. Great Subway connections, nice real local bars , cafes and shops. You can walk to loads of tourist sites.
We enjoyed our stay. We spent time in the room which was clean and comfortable. We loved the period feel. All the staff were kind and helpful to confused Brits. Ate at the Tick Tock Diner when we didn't feel like exploring.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

PESIMO HOTEL

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: NADA
Cons: XX
Location: XX
HABITACIONES MINI Y MUY RUIDOSO HOTEL MUY VIEJO MUY MAL SERVICIO DE LIMPIEZA
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 29, 2014
The Hotel is close to all of downtown Manhattan. It is a good starting point to know the attractions of New York. We do not like the room: small room, small bed, old bathroom. We find that these features are not a 4 star hotel. However, I recommended the hotel for easy access to restaurants, shops, bus and metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central, comfortable and spacious hotel.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
. We could see the Empire State Biulding from our room and were just across the road from Penn Station. We really enjoyed.our stay and the staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Room kind of small but nice and clean

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Excellent location and totally refurbished room
Cons: Room could use a closet and restaurant is pricey
Room was small and had no closet, but was very nice and clean. Beds were incredible comfortable and there was very little noise (we stayed on floor 22th so maybe height helped). You can tell they listen to user feedback, room was probably old but looked like it had been recently painted and refurbished. The location is a huge plus, so close to Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. I totally recommend this Hotel!! Keep in mind that pretty much all hotels near Madison Square are either very expensive or old and tiny, so room size was no surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Yorker Wyndham

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent.
Cons: See above comment.
Great location. Nice to have both the diner and the restaurant right downstairs with good to very good food. Great staff....very helpful and attentive. I would definitely stay there again as long as prices are not raised. Comfortable room. Bathroom could use a little updating.....needs shelves for personal care products (no place to store anything) and some hooks. Two of us stayed in the room for a week and having no shelves or table became inconvenient. I wound up using the ironing board as a table/vanity/storage shelf. It worked, but probably a few more of those kinds of "conveniences" would have made the room more comfortable. Overall a very nice experience staying at the Wyndham New Yorker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Nice hotel next to Penn Station & MSG

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Our room was small but clean. Hotel bar was lovely with great service. This is not a full service hotel although they have an amazing concierge, Suzie, who's every recommendation was perfect! She helped make our NYC experience so wonderful! I would recommend based also on location, right next to Penn Station, shopping on 34th, and so many attractions within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a 4 star hotel!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms for sure. Great location for all who want to be around Madisen square garden area.
Cons: Rating needs to be changed... The New Yorker is what it is... No way is it 4 star.
Location: Fine! Close to Macy's , Flat Iron Distrct , MSG and penn Station.
The Lobby area is lovely! But the rooms are extremely old as are the bathrooms and hallways. I was extremely dissapointed. They did move me to a slightly larger room. The staff was nice and the rooms were clean for sure. The decor was ok... The entire problem is the fact that this hotel is not rated appropriately. 3 stars is about right. NO MORE!!! This way a guest's expectations can be met properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver,b.c.,canada

Strategic Location

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location,staff and room cleanliness
Cons: Elevator service and on site restaurant (diner)
Location: Shopping,Penn Station, Broadway and Times Square within reasonable walking distance
Well located for shopping and getting around.Lobby crowded and elevators full with only 2 elevators operating during busy periods. Dearth of good eating places within the Hotel though the Concierge remedied this by making excellent suggestions within walking distance. On going construction activity and temporary scaffoldngs can be an eyesore and at times noisy.