Ratings based on 10,224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom c

Small rooms but close to everything

Posted Mar 4, 2015
My initial impression of the hotel was a negative one. When i approached the front desk to check in, the lady Romona, didn't even greet me. She stood there massaging her neck waiting for me to say something. So we had a bit of a stand-off until she finally decided to ask if i was checking in. ??? No urgency to welcome or accommodate the guest. The room was tiny but had modern fixtures and decor. The bathroom was very very tiny and out dated. My daughter wet the bed and i left it visible to house keeping so they would change the sheets. When we came in and settled for the night we pulled the covers back to find the sheets hadn't been changed. No available bell hop, waited forever for elevators even though there were about 10 elevators.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South

Great location at the Heart of midtown Manhattan.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The rooms need to be remodeled and modernized.
The staff is outstanding. That's is the only saving grace for the hotel. It is not up to the standards of other Wyndham hotels we have stayed at. The rooms are small, the bathroom is small, dirty and outdated. The tub in the bathroom was chipped; so we have to be careful taking showers so we would not get cut on the chipped ceramic in the tub. It was cold outside, 19 degrees; and it took a long time to get the room to warmed up. The bathroom was iced cold all the time because there was a window in the bathroom that was not insulated. The hotel's main lobby is beautiful; but the rooms and the lobby on each floor needs a lot of TLC. Overall it looked dirty and dingy. The hotel amenities stated that there was a kitchenette in the room; that was not true whatsoever, there was not even a coffee machine, microwave, refrigerator, nothing. I would not stay at this hotel ever again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Herten

gute Lage und Anbindung

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: die gute Lage
Cons: bessere Duschen
Location: s.o.
das Hotel liegt Eight Ave/34 th Street, die Penn-Station liegt gegenüber. Von hier aus erreicht man alle Ziele der Stadt mit der Subway. Ebenfalls gegenüber liegt der Madison Square Garden, den man besichtigen kann. Nach Westen blickt man vom Hotel auf das Empire Stare Building, welches man in 5 min zu Fuß erreicht. Auch der Time Sqare ist über den Broadway fußläufig erreichbar. Das Hotel ist ausreichend ausgestattet. Die Metrozimmer eignen sich gut als EZ. Man merkt jedoch vielfach die alte Bausubstanz. Altersspuren sind aber gut übertüncht. Das Hotel hat Zwei Restaurants, in denen man bedient wird. Das Tic Tock (einfach) und die Trattoria Bianca (gehobener). Vor dem Haus steht wohl bereits seit langem ein Gerüst, welches den optischen Eindruck schmälert. - Nicht zu empfehlen - weil sehr teuer- sind die Dienstleistungen. Ich habe eine Karte für die Metropalitan Opera geordert und mußte ca. 50 Dollar draufzahlen. Karten für Veranstaltungen bekommt man in der Stadt wesentlich preiswerter. Nicht gefallen hat mir ein Angebot für die Rückreise: Transport zum Flughafen und Online Checking mit Ausdruck der Bordkarten. Das Taxi kostete ohne Trinkgeld 85 Dollar und die Bordkarten musste man selbst gegen hohe Gebühr und mit vielen technischen Problemen ausdrucken.Das ist es einfacher, ein normales Taxi mit Flatrate für 58 Dollar ohne Trinkgeld zum JFK zu nehmen und am Flughafen normal einzuchecken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Very nice. Recommend to anyone, who are planning to visit NY.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Belgium

In desperate need of a renovation.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Excellent location next to Penstation and Madisson square garden.
Cons: Cleanliness. Long hairs in the bathtub, muck all over the tiles, etc. It seemed the room I was allocated did not have a decent "scrub" for years!
Check in was efficient and location is excellent however this hotel is in DESPERATE need of an upgrade as it all is SOOOO dated and old and tired. We got quite excited when we booked the hotel due to the excellent ratings and the interesting history of the hotel but would never stay here again. At least not until a proper upgrade has taken place. Also, cleaning staff starts there working day early and if you have a room next to their storage facility you may as well forget to sleep after 6am. No consideration for the guests whatsoever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, easy to walk to main sites!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Clean and well located.
Cons: Bit more natural light in room would have been nice.
Location: Walking distance of shops, Central Park, MoMA, Empire State etc.
Clean and well located. Great view of Empire State from our room. Not tons of natural light but given that we weren't spending much time in the room thus was not a problem. Helpful staff and easy to get around NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlottesville VA

Pleasant and close to amenities

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Cons: Free wifi is OK for text email but if you need to download anything you have time for a cup of coffee while you wait.
The rooms are small but very pleasant. There is a 24 hour diner attached and half a block walk to the subway. I needed to add an extra day to my stay and the staff was extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Location

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Location Location Location!!!! and GREAT customer service!!
Cons: the beds were a little hard
Location: Great location we were walking distance to a lot of shops, restaurants, and Times Square!!!
My husband and I stayed there for two nights it was pleasant but on the last night when I woke up the next morning the sheet had a big stain on it that looked like mildew but it wasn't there that night when we went to sleep, so that was strange and looked gross. The room was small but that's to be expected in NY I guess, but it was clean and the staff was excellent. Great customer service and great location we were walking distance to a lot of shops, restaurants, and Times Square!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico D.F.

Hotel muy centrico todo, todo te queda cerca.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
A pesar de encontrarse lleno tuvieron la habitacion lista tempranoy no tuve ningun problema cuando llegamos. Para llegar y descansar despues de caminar por Manhatan este hotel es ideal, a pesar de estar un poco viejo tiene buenos cuartos bien mantenidos y sobretodo limpios.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Great location. Bathroom needs renovation. Overall great experience.