Ratings based on 1,628 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Matt from manhattan

Disappointed

Posted Apr 22, 2014
I asked for two queens and got one. The room was the smallest room I have ever been in and worse than a stateroom on a cruise ship.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivan from Montreal

great Manhattan location

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Great location. Very lively, young and trendy. Practical and smart use of space. Anything but boring.
Cons: Mattress is a little weird... not totally comfortable
Location: Close to Times Square, Highline, Circle Line boat cruises. Short cab ride to Central Park and museums. Subway nearby. Great restaurants on 9th ave.
part of breakfeast included (muffins and beverages). We completed by ordering and sharing the amazing fruit plate, eggs or yogourt from the menu. Ended up with great meal at reasonable price. Stored our luggage through the Yobot on our last day, which was lots of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from Liverpool, UK

Fabulously quirky hotel!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: General funky vibe about the whole place was great
Cons: Clearer guidance from the concierge on airport transfers!
Location: 15 minute walk to Times Square and everything beyond!
Overall it was a great hotel. The check in was great, and having read reviews on here saying you can ask for a room higher up we did that and were easily moved from the 9th floor to the 24th (27 floors total!). All really helpful. The room was really crisp and clean, and the shower was fab. The view was incredible. Getting a corner room really does pay off. The muffins and coffee for breakfast were great too, as was the galley which was right next to our room. There was some confusion about how to transfer back to Newark Airport. The day before we were due to leave we spoke to the concierge about getting a minibus transfer booked - all fine, this is how much and we said we'd think about it and let him know. Went the next morning to book in to leave at 5pm and was told by a different concierge that we had to give 24hrs notice so that was out. PANIC! Told we could get a cab (expensive) or take the train or bus (fiddly!). Went downstairs to leave and chatted with the yobot guy whilst storing our bags and he said that they had private cars they could book for us which would be cheaper than a cab - booked that and no problems but it would have been great if the concierge told us! Overall though a fabulously modern, quirky hotel and I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel, it's in a great location and the staff in general were great. Yey!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mark from north east england

Does the job

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Decent location and free wifi a definite bonus
Cons: Beds are useful when retracted to give more space, although all comfort is lost through this. Be ready for a poor sleep.
Location: Not too much in the near vicinity but an uncomplicated 10 minute stroll to Times Square scores the hotel points
For the price you get a decent location only 5-10 min walk to Times Square and pretty much all the facilities you will need. We requested a cabin as high as possible up the building as it was our first time in New York marking a 10 year anniversary. The room allocated was on the bottom of a possible 27 floors. So any request you make when booking the hotel will most likely be ignored or reversed maybe for a hotel employees amusement which was very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Coventry, UK

Great modern hotel in a good location

Posted Apr 19, 2014
No real complaints about this hotel. Very modern and stylish and in a great location. Times Square is just a 5 to 10 minute walk, the Empire State Building is 20 to 30 and the Rockefeller Center is around 15 to 20. The rooms are a decent size and the hotel offers some great and quirky features including the Yobot, the rooftop bar/terrace and the beds which 'transform' into sofas. Price-wise, there are definitely cheaper alternatives out there, but it's worth paying the extra to feel comfortable and safe. Only downsides are: The bathrooms are not private at all, there is only a curtain to separate from the bedroom from the bathroom area. Not too bad if you're a couple, but still not great. There is no formal welcome/greeting. It's entirely possible to check-in and get up to your room without any human interaction with hotel staff whatsoever. For some people this might be great, but I'd have liked it if someone could have highlighted a few key points - e.g. the concierge service, where to go for breakfast etc. Overall, a great experience and I probably would go back because the location is so handy.
3 out of 5
by Shaker from New York

OK if you have no other option

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The room is very efficient and clean, check in process is automated so it makes things simple. However the rooms are like very small boxes, you almost hit the bed when you enter, the bed mattress is some cheap IKEA mattress that is too stiff, when you sleep the light from the hallway - not to mention noise - comes right in and you are forced to sleep looking away from the door. Then there is the blinking motion sensors which are a little eery since it goes on every time you move in bed. The shower design is weird in that water keeps splashing outside the small stand in tub, and gathers where the toilet is located, so if you have to use the toilet it means you have to dry the floor first unless you don't mind standing in a puddle of water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by R J

Excellent position for seeing the sites

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and food excellent
Cons: Nothing needed
Location: East access to all facilities maps from hotel were very helpful
Great facilities inside hotel rooms suitable for sizes for short stay in New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, so modern and practical.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Chose the Yotel in NYC due to it's good reviews on Trip Advisor and we totally agree with them. The hotel was funky, modern, clean and practical. Great for a short break in the city due to its location. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by izwiz from exeter uk

Well located and practical

Posted Apr 16, 2014
The rooms were a good size and had all the facilities needed whilst on a city holiday. Very functional and the location is convenient for midtown and the subway stations. Restaurant was good too. Only real criticism was the lack of attention to detail with the cleanliness ie around the skirting and under the beds could have been better. Overall good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara from Vermont

Great place for the price!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
This was a great place to stay for the price that we paid. The location was perfect, not IN Times Square but really close and a good amount of fun places close by for eat and drink considering the proximity to the edge of city. The 4th floor is a lounge floor with a great little bar, eatery and an outdoor patio with a great view. The rooms are small but that is something to be expected in NYC, EVERYTHING is small there so if you expect a lot of space you should probably expect to pay through the nose for it as well. Super clean room, very up to date and modern. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there and highly recommend!