Ratings based on 2,351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean modern but small rooms hard beds.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Beds are quite hard. Rooms are very small. No privacy in the bathroom. Decent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warner, NH

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Cons: The bed was a little hard.
The staff were very helpful. My room was small but very clean. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington, MA

Cute and compact

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The Yotel is an interesting hotel in a great location. The rooms are small but cleverly arranged so all the space is used and everything you need is there. One thing to note: there is no fridge in the room. Staff was friendly. Complimentary muffins in the lounge were good - I had the almond one two days because it was so tasty - but if you want to drink something other than coffee it is pretty pricy. Cocktails and desserts at EastWest were okay, not spectacular. We walked all over the place because so much of what we wanted to see was close by. My 9-year-old daughter thought it was the coolest place ever. Overall, a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Fun, different kind of hotel experience. The room was comfortable but small. I loved the purple lights and the vibe of the hotel. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island

Convenient location, unique atmosphere, ok hotel.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Was able to check in super early, 930 AM, that was a huge plus. Room is small but very modern and clean which was expected. Hotel has a galley on each floor with coffee machine and ice and water. Coffee machine on our floor was broken. Hotel website made it seem like there was a lively happening night life within the lobby / lounge. Very disappointing, nothing more than a standard hotel restaurant / bar. No room service, ordered a roast beef club and had to go downstairs to pick it up from the restaurant. Was greeted by a rude waiter or host with my food. They wouldn't charge it to my room so you have to pay separately. I think the hotel used to have more of a nightlife. The "amazing" yobot robotic luggage system that was advertised on the website, happened to be broken the day we were checking out and needed to use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern comfort

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Staff was great! Hotel was very modern while still comfortable. Very clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Awesome and quirky hotel, and very clean! LOVED IT

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly concierge, very modern
Location: Times Square, Hells Kitchen, The High Line.... everywhere else is very easy to get to really via subway
Loved our experience at YOTEL NYC - stayed here for 9 nights as a couple. Although the room was very small, there was plenty of space to put away our luggage (and shopping!) Also, every floor had access to complimentary coffee machines, water stations and vending machines. Free wifi! Approx 10min walk from Times Sq, and a 5 min walk from the nearest subway station (42nd St Port Authority Bus Terminal) The concierge was very helpful and also helped us book tickets for Empire State building, which was lucky because we avoided the 1 hr ticket purchasing line! Really can't think of any cons. Would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very futuristic

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Rooms are small. The bed adjust to go flat, felt like it was a hospital bed. There isn't much privacy with the bathroom and shower. U have to check in on a kiosk, go to 4th floor then take elevators to your floor. Staff was nice, nothing like encore in Las Vegas. Muffins and coffee /tea in the mornings were nice. My light went out in the room, I called three times to have someone come and fix it, and the forty time I went down stairs, it was finally fixed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Funky Boutique Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: We really liked the unique atmosphere.
Cons: It would be great if there was conditioner in the shower.
Location: Go to Chez Josephine! It is around the corner and very fun. The live music was so great and the staff very pleasant. Sit at the bar and people watch
We were pleasantly surprised by our Yotel experience. It has a very Euro feel. Clean, crisp lines. Simple. Everything you need, nothing you don't. Love the funkiness of everything. We had a great view of the river from our room (the bathroom actually - the whole room was airy and light!). The hotel was quiet (from outside noise AND inside noise). It says "Times Square" but it's really about 3 blocks away - which is perfect! You get out of the crazy hustle and bustle of the tourists. Super close to everything. Would stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Eh. 3.5. Kids and hipsters will dig it though!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Neat airport concept. We didn't use the Yobot, but that seemed cool. Nice staff. Some cool features in room. Nice rainwater shower.
Cons: Clean nooks/crannies better, update dinged/broken things. Donkeys are weird, but I guess art is subjective. Signs re: getting to "cabins", please.
Location: "Times Sq" moniker a little misleading, as Times Sq is blocks away (as is subway). There are conveniences nearby - drugstores, bars, food, etc.
Yotel was interesting. The reviews were very good, so we stayed here for one night. The airport theme was neat, and the check-in process, à la checking in for a flight, was fun/seamless. Taking the first elevator to the fourth floor then ascertaining where the elevators to the "cabins" are isn't intuitive, and there were no signs, but we figured it out. The room itself was small (to be expected in NYC). Neat concept in general. The room needs some updating - chair was wobbly, lots of dings/scratches on furniture. The tray in the slot by the bed and other niches could use a better cleaning. There was no blanket/comforter, and it was 20 degrees outside, and the heat kept shutting down. No coffee or cups in the room - you get those in the "galley" on your floor, which also had a mini fridge and a microwave. This made it feel like a step up from a hostel (but not hostel prices!). Bathroom door is glass; cool/different but not ideal for certain chores, ahem! The lobby would definitely get the Hipster Stamp of Approval. Barring that, kids would dig it, with its neat Lego wall, funky seats, and whatever those donkey sculptures with scary faces are (with all the art in NYC, this is what they choose?). We found it a little sophomoric (and we're both artists, by the way) - there's a sophisticated way to pull that all off, but Yotel missed the mark, in our opinion. So I would recommend Yotel IF you have kids! I would go back with my nieces but wouldn't stay there again otherwise.