Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing for Best Western

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Large room and shuttle bus
Cons: Staff could be much more helpful and friendly.
Location: Hotel in central location in Newark. Only in Newark for the night.
Stayed here overnight before flying out from airport. Negative Points - Reception Staff were not friendly or helpful. They seemed to find it an effort to answer any question. - Hotel was noisy in the corridors. Never been to a hotel before where people seem to just be hanging about in corridors. - Bedding was not perfectly clean. Positive Points - Room was large and there was nice shampoo and shower gel in bathroom. - free shuttle bus to airport and the driver was the most friendly person I met at the hotel even at 4.00 in the morning. I would recommend staying at the holiday inn or Marriott which are both closer to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long Wait for Airport Shuttle

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Well situated hotel; very convenient for travel in the area (10min walk to Newark Penn, which is 2 station stops from New York Penn). Rooms were clean and tidy, but can sometimes hear neighbouring rooms (we had the unfortunate experience of arguing neighbours at 7 in the morning). Free breakfast is a nice touch. And the roof top patio offers a great view of the area (and part of the manhattan skyline in the distance)! My only complaint would be the long wait for the airport shuttle... it was at least 30min. We saw 5 Holiday Inn shuttles go by in the same time, and thought that maybe next time we will stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Historic Hotel but small rooms

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: History. Near restaurants.
Cons: Update plumbing and find a way to add bathroom counter space.
Location: Access to Newark Penn Station to go into New York City.
The hotel has a lot of history but the rooms are really very small - especially the bathrooms. No real counter space. The staff was nice. Some pretty good restaurants near by (Bar-B-que and crab house) in walking distance. Newark Penn station is in walking distance but taking hotel shuttle service is better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel, close to transit

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Easy walk to train station for short ride into NYC. Hotel does offer shuttle to train station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Hotel close to Newark airport

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Arrived late at night and check in was easy. Very helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel Airport

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Shuttle service ,Location and Staff.
Cons: Breakfast and restaurant space.
Location: Downtown Newark , Penn Station Newark
We stayed there as a family the shuttle service was great , we got picked up and dropped off at the airport and Penn Station Newark. We used the path train to get into New York . Direct path train to World Trade Centre. which is $2.50 . Its very near to Newark Downtown around 5/10minute walk . Breakfast was very disappointing though. Most guests where standing as there was no room to sit and the breakfast where mainly to Grab n Go type eg egg and sausage muffin .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only stay downtown if you must

Posted Aug 12, 2014
If you do, this is a decent place to stay in an otherwise crappy city. Best aspect is that it is 4 blocks from Dinosaur BBQ.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for price easy access to NYC

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Excellent stay for a budget traveler. Close to Newark Penn station and 10-15 min on train and you are in the city. The rooms were clean and free parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Nice hotel - very accommodating.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We stayed 2 nights - very nice hotel & staff. We arrived early and they were able to accommodate us with an early check in with minimal wait. Once they placed us in a room (near the elevator), we requested to be moved due to the noise and they quickly provided us a new room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from STL

Good points and bad!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: 7 min walk from train to NY
I am not usually a picky person on size of the room but the walking space in the room was very small. Two full size bed are in wall to wall with all the other furniture was a squeeze. Room cleanliness is low because the cleaning lady left a nasty wet cleaning rag on my daughters luggage(not sure want was on it). We actually packed our bags every morning because there was no room to leave anything out. So the next morning we left up our do not disturb, so no one would come in that day. Location was good for train to NY(lower and upper Manhattan). Nothing prepared me for the night club next door to our hotel. After a long day in NY and coming back to packed streets of people was kind of scary. Breakfast was nice and simple with hot and cold stuff.