Ratings based on 1,449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach, FL

nice hotel nearby to NYC

Posted Aug 30, 2014
easy access from I-95, parking, three blocks to Penn Station and subway ride to Manhattan in a very nicely renovated area of Newark
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Great location by the prudential centre. Friendly

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Very friendly staff and comfy beds. Definitely go back there if in town
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing for Best Western

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Large room and shuttle bus
Cons: Staff could be much more helpful and friendly.
Location: Hotel in central location in Newark. Only in Newark for the night.
Stayed here overnight before flying out from airport. Negative Points - Reception Staff were not friendly or helpful. They seemed to find it an effort to answer any question. - Hotel was noisy in the corridors. Never been to a hotel before where people seem to just be hanging about in corridors. - Bedding was not perfectly clean. Positive Points - Room was large and there was nice shampoo and shower gel in bathroom. - free shuttle bus to airport and the driver was the most friendly person I met at the hotel even at 4.00 in the morning. I would recommend staying at the holiday inn or Marriott which are both closer to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long Wait for Airport Shuttle

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Well situated hotel; very convenient for travel in the area (10min walk to Newark Penn, which is 2 station stops from New York Penn). Rooms were clean and tidy, but can sometimes hear neighbouring rooms (we had the unfortunate experience of arguing neighbours at 7 in the morning). Free breakfast is a nice touch. And the roof top patio offers a great view of the area (and part of the manhattan skyline in the distance)! My only complaint would be the long wait for the airport shuttle... it was at least 30min. We saw 5 Holiday Inn shuttles go by in the same time, and thought that maybe next time we will stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Historic Hotel but small rooms

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: History. Near restaurants.
Cons: Update plumbing and find a way to add bathroom counter space.
Location: Access to Newark Penn Station to go into New York City.
The hotel has a lot of history but the rooms are really very small - especially the bathrooms. No real counter space. The staff was nice. Some pretty good restaurants near by (Bar-B-que and crab house) in walking distance. Newark Penn station is in walking distance but taking hotel shuttle service is better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel, close to transit

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Easy walk to train station for short ride into NYC. Hotel does offer shuttle to train station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Hotel close to Newark airport

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Arrived late at night and check in was easy. Very helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel Airport

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Shuttle service ,Location and Staff.
Cons: Breakfast and restaurant space.
Location: Downtown Newark , Penn Station Newark
We stayed there as a family the shuttle service was great , we got picked up and dropped off at the airport and Penn Station Newark. We used the path train to get into New York . Direct path train to World Trade Centre. which is $2.50 . Its very near to Newark Downtown around 5/10minute walk . Breakfast was very disappointing though. Most guests where standing as there was no room to sit and the breakfast where mainly to Grab n Go type eg egg and sausage muffin .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only stay downtown if you must

Posted Aug 12, 2014
If you do, this is a decent place to stay in an otherwise crappy city. Best aspect is that it is 4 blocks from Dinosaur BBQ.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for price easy access to NYC

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Excellent stay for a budget traveler. Close to Newark Penn station and 10-15 min on train and you are in the city. The rooms were clean and free parking.