Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Herndon, VA

Walking distance to Turtle Back Zoo

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Location: Turtle Back Zoo
PRO: - right across the street from the Turtle Back. No need to drive -just walk across the street - the front desk clerk in the morning was very pleasant. She gave me directions for moving our car to the back of the building so we would have to take our luggage out through the mud (see below) CONS: -when I checked in the front desk clerk was sitting, stayed seated, never looked at me and he practically threw my license across the counter to me -the" free breakfast" was nothing more than cold cereal, waffles, and bagels (so we went to the Livingston Diner for a healthier meal) -when we returned to the hotel, plywood panels were blocking the entrance to the lobby, while worker bees were jack-hammering (or something) the concrete right in front of the entrance. To get into the hotel, we had to walk across a muddy patch and in through a side door. Oddly enough when we stayed here 4 years ago, work was being on the concrete slab in front of the entrance...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by BWTBI, Hotel Management
Dear Chefcat , When we are open 24/7 365 , there is never a good time to make improvements, sorry for the inconvenience. As far as breakfast sorry you did not like our offerings. But you left out quite a few items.I hope you enjoyed the 37" HDTV , keurig coffee maker and the complimentary bottles of water in your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
It's great, really enjoying my stay. Wonderful experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by BWTBI, Hotel Management
Thank you for you for your comment about your stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susanfrom Wallkill, NY

Family Gathering 2014

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
go there for family gathering in town. Need handicap bathroom chair for those in need. very nice staff. no problems. No bed bugs. roomie. does need new chair in corner. otherwise it was excellent. will stay there again in spring. or summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Kitts and Nevis

NJ Trip Dec2014

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location, Breakfast, Parking
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Great location, bus is available at a 2 min walk.
Hotel is very good overall. Staff is excellent and very cooperative. I was allowed to check-in an hour before. they dont have a restaurant but breakfast was good. Subway, McDonald, Pizza place and Dunkin Donuts are in neighboring complex. Ample parking. Good location, Turtle back zoo is across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judithfrom Pardes Hanna, Israel

I recommend this hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed staying in this hotel and I certainly recommend it. The ground floor rooms are accessible, as is the breakfast room, and that is good. I was able to recommend it to my aunt who walks with a walker. I asked for a quiet room and was given one on the back, not facing the busy street. I had a problem with the refrigerator and they replaced it. The room was roomy. My partner wanted more blankets and they gave him another comforter. The breakfast is entirely adequate, including scrambled eggs, hot and cold cereal, waffles, yogurt, fresh apples, bagels as well as bread for toast. There is a coffee maker in the room, that is very difficult to use and I said so to the desk clerks. They came and started it, twice, but other than that I still wasn't able to use it myself and said so...The only thing wrong with this hotel is the distance to a train station. The site advertises a free shuttle bus but it's a commuter, running only early in the morning, so it wasn't useful to us. Also, the area of the hotel is not one of many shops. We did eat lunch once at McDonald's, not my favorite, and once had Chinese take-away in the evening. Therefore, it's better if you have your own car whilst staying at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Søren Harris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester, NY

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Very clean and comfortable
Cons: Upgrades didn't seem professional quality
Location: This was a overnight while on a business trip but there is a Zoo across the street that looks great and has good reviews
Cant say anything bad, room was clean and well furnished. Bed was comfortable and five pillows to choose from. Even though there was a fresh paint job the workmanship was poor quality and dated. Overall it was a good stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
arrived and we are told because we went though a 3rd party (which was hotel .com ) that we had to leave with them 100 dollar deposit ..got into room ..no lights, curtains closed, no air or heat on, clock wasn't even plugged in ..beds were very thumpy, refrigerator wasn't even turned on..was also told if no parking in front that we would have to park in back and walk around..finding back was another driveway down and was very dark,,i don't think we will be staying there again,,
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta GA

Older hotel - age reflected in carpet, paint, etc

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location to the places we needed to go - we were up there for a funeral and it was easy to get there from the hotel
Cons: A/C units should work, carpeting needs to be replaced, and a new coat of paint would be an improvement
Location: There was a Zoo across the street and a very nice restaurant, McLoone's Boathouse.
Hotel is not new or updated - Old carpet, paint, A/C unit in room. We were there for 5 nights and every morning the cleaning crew shorted us towel sets, soap and trash can liners. We had to go to the desk and request them. The beds themselves were adequate. The shower had gaps in the caulking, and evidence of mold. It was a place to stay but nothing to write home to mom about. The front desk staff and the breakfast staff were fine but they did engage in a loud discussion of how breakfast customers should tip and that they should leave a tip jar out to encourage that. That was in appropriate to discuss that in the hearing of hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great location and friendly staff!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Great location, especially for Seton Hall families! Excellent, friendly staff, clean rooms and fabulous breakfast!