Ratings based on 1,142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgium

good hotel in run down area

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: location "close" to the railway station and the lovely breakfast
Hotel, staff and facilities are all very good. Only remark is the area where it is situated. The area looks run down and automatically gives an unsafe impression. Despite the surroundings, I would recommend the hotel as it is conveniently located at 12 minutes walk to the Newark Broad street railwaystation, where for 5 uss you can travel to Penn station in just 20 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

had a great stay

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The location may not be the best because of the industrialized area but don't be fooled by it, the location is very safe. Parking is big and it's free, breakfast is nice and free. We had a king bed with sofa in the room, bed is comfortable, linens are clean, room is clean except for the mini fridge that was leaking but I put a paper towel under it so it didn't bother us much and we were our the whole day but I hope they could fix it. There's a microwave also. Washroom is big. Staff are friendly and nice from the reception to housekeeping. Location is great if you will travel to NYC by car. Close to Holland tunnel. I almost cancelled my reservation with them because I considered the Secaucus area for it is closer to NY via the Lincoln tunnel but going to the tunnel was troublesome due to the heavy volume of cars, big trucks, and buses. Good thing I didn't cancel my reservation with Comfort Suites! I recommend this hotel to anyone going to NYC by car. This will be our hotel if ever we stay in the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Very nice large an clean room

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Staff was very nice. Nice breakfast was always stocked. Very comfortable bed. The sofa was small but comfortable. Loved how the fridge an microwave was in its own area. The sitting area was roomy with small sofa, tall lamp an 2 ottomans. A half wall separated it from sleeping area. The bathroom was nice spacious. My complaints are 1. Finding the hotel. Need signs directing you to the hotel. 2. Location. It is in an industrial area. 3. No access from side doors. When you park in the side lots especially at night it's scary, needs brighter an better lights. It was nice getting an arrival gift bag an cookies during the day in lobby area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
I had a really great time at the hotel , the employees are really really nice , the room was cleaned to the max, breakfast was great , no complains at all.i would def come back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stow, OH

Comfortable and clean.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: It was clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Location: Location was in Newark, NJ. A very sad, down trodden city. We stayed at the hotel because we were looking for apartments for our son.
The room and hotel were very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner and gave superb directions to get there. Not in the best neighborhood but I felt safe while there. My son will be attending school in NJ and we will definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting. Breakfast buffet was good. Food was fresh and plenty. Reasonably priced hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rented room to two different people

Posted Jun 10, 2015
The final night of our stay was interesting. A little after 10 pm, after we were in bed, another woman enters our room with her key card. She had apparently been rented the same room we were in. This was proceeded by a couple of phone calls from the front desk, ending near 10:45 that night. They did not show us as being in that room, despite the fact that this was our 3rd night there. They had already deactivated our key cards and after discussing this at checkout the manager offered us 50% off that night. He finally agreed to comp the room, which was the right thing to do. Despite all of this, the hotel was clean, the breakfast was delicious and the staff were friendly. I would actually stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Overnight Stay

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was good and bed was very comfortable - not so the sofa.
Cons: Ditch the sofa beds and improve chances of parking your car.
Location: Didn't get a chance to do anything as we checked in bout midnight and left at 9am next morning.
Only stayed overnight for flight transfer but the neighbourhood was dodgy and there was no parking available on site. One of the beds was excellent however the other was just a fold out sofa. There was a group of people partying in the check in area when we registered which was about midnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ON

Good experience

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Even if it's in NJ and in an industrial zone, I highly recommend this hotel for people visiting NYC. It is only 15 min walking to train station (Newark Broad St.) and the hotel is much less expensive than similar ones in NYC. The hotel is also very close to Newark airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: breakfast was good, staff printed out directions for us
Cons: the noise level coming from the hallway.
very noisy beginning early morning. the door rattled every time a door was closed in the hallway. heard cleaning staff talking, etc. we were on the 1st floor evidently near a supply closet - other locations probably didn't have this problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: cleanliness. Nice Staff on front desk
Great experience!