Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Great stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Online descriptions and photos of the hotel matched real life. Staff was courteous and helpful.
Cons: Room rates are reasonable but are still a little high for what you get.
Location: Right next to the Prudential Center and several other places within downtown.
Stayed here while in town for a hockey game. The hotel was right next door to the arena so it was a short walk. Staff was very courteous and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. My only complaints are that the hotel bar closed rather early (10:00 PM I believe) and the room was a little pricey for what you got.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Penna.

Overall location & set-up

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Parking lot not attached to hotel; hotel located across street from an avenue type setting; bistro pricing too high; not what we expected from Courtyard Marriott
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by Nicholas Pappagallo, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving your review of your stay at our hotel. We're sorry if the location of the parking garage was not satisfactory for you. We hope you come back when we have a pass-thru installed from the garage directly in to the hotel. Regards, Matt Garber Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2014
convenient to transportation. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

stay here if you're going to the prudential center

Posted Nov 20, 2014
This hotel is clean, safe, the rooms are comfortable and a good size, everything is pretty new and it's not too noisy. If you're headed to the Prudential center, definitely stay here. Some other reviews said the desk staff were rude but I had no problems at all and found them to be friendly and helpful, as were all staff I interacted with. There's a free shuttle to the train station and the airport every hour if you don't want to walk. I learned the hard way that the hotel shuttle pickup at the airport is nowhere near the taxis. Take the air train to the parking stop. For people that are worried about the neighbourhood, it's not the safest but getting to and from the train station or the prudential center for an event will be fine, there's lots of security and you can get a ride to the station if you need it. Just don't expect to be wandering the neighbourhood yourself at night, it doesn't seem too safe. You can grab good sized takeout coffee at the hotel restaurant when it's open and they have basically a convenience store onsite too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

Nice hotel close to the prudential center

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Nice hotel conveniently located next to the prudential center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NB, Canada

Nice hotel, close to Prudential Center

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Location, next door to Prudential center, very short walk to Penn station for train to NYC. Free airport shuttle to/from airport.
Cons: Broad street can be intimidating as it is kind of sketchy.
Location: As mentioned above, Prudential center next door for Devils games or concerts. Close to Penn station.
Chose this hotel due to it being right next door to Prudential Center to attend a NJ Devils game. Hotel and rooms were very clean. Staff very friendly. We arrived very early and our room was not ready but they offered to hold our bags so we could go into NYC for the rest of the day. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in unmittelbarer Nähe des Prudential Center

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Neben der Rezeption in der 2. Etage gibt es noch einen kleinen Shop, um sich mit dem Nötigsten zu versorgen. Die Mitarbeiter waren sehr freundlich.
Cons: Schade, dass das im Hotel befindliche Starbucks bereits um 10:00 Uhr für das frühstück schließt, so dass wir nur noch Kaffee bekamen und kein Essen.
Wir suchten im Oktober 2014 ein Hotel in der Nähe des Prudential Center, um uns ein Eishockey-Spiel der New Jersey Devils anzusehen. Dieses Hotel liegt direkt auf der Rückseite der Halle mit einem angeschlossenen Parkhaus an einer Hauptstraße. Das Hotel ist sauber und modern, unser Zimmer war sehr großzügig mit Couch, Sessel und Kingbett eingerichtet, die Fenster waren gut isoliert. Zum Ausladen und Einchecken hat man vor dem Hotel ausreichend Platz, im Parkhaus gibt es eine extra Etage für die Hotelgäste. Der Preis zum Parken liegt im Durchschnitt. Alles in allem war die Entscheidung für eine Nacht völlig in Ordnung, für einen längeren Trip ist die Gegend dann doch nicht so schön.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Stayed here for a Devils game. Very convenient and the hotel is very nice. They need to attach the parking garage to the hotel though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoriaville, Qc

Nice hôtel at Newark for hockey fans

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Nice 7 floors hôtel in Newark, just beside the Prudential Centre ! Many facilities, good pricing and very confortable ! Staff was great too ! I reccomand it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Nice hotel in a sketchy sorta area.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, accomodations
Cons: Breakfast area should be open longer
Location: close to stadium and train station.
My boyfriend and I stayed here with a last minute booking. The area the hotel is situated is very close within few walking blocks from the Penn train station. The surrounding area is a little bit sketchy but the hotel itself was nice. Checkin/out was fine and pleasant. But I'm glad he was with me walking to the hotel from the train station. The AM breakfast area was closed though so that was a pain. So we ended up getting some snacks from the market. Ask the front desk for some water bottles.