Ratings based on 999 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Convenient to various modes of transportation.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location: convenient to both trains within NJ and NYC plus easy access to PATH.
Cons: Shows its age;
Location: In my case I needed access to airport as well as Manhattan and North Jersey.
Room was very difficult to bring to normal temps as fan kept blowing cold air unless thermostat raised to 80! Room above (I think) had a leak in water line which was reported.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new orleans, la

Location!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Location is a PLUS!!! Literally connected to Penn Station. Easy travel to NYC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location for NYC visit.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: very clean. Very nice hotel staff.
Cons: free wifi in rooms would be nice.
Location: didn't do much locally. Spent 3 days going into new york city. great location for this.
stayed here on our 3 day visit to NYC. Close to train station and 20 min ride to madison square garden. Very nice staff. Food and drinks in lounge was good but expensive. No free in-room wifi which is rediculous. Daily fee for parking was pricey.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2014
I expected more for the price we paid for a Newark hotel. NYC prices for a Howard Johnson experience. The only saving grace was the exceptionally helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom smith

Close to transit

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Good access to transit. Loved the executive lounge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Myrtle Beach

SO CONVENIENT!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Breakfast. Free internet extended to rooms.
Location: Football at MetLife, hockey at MSG, a Broadway play, Empire State Bldg, Statue of Liberty, Times Sq, Central Park, World Trade Center, Rockefeller Ctr
We visited NY/NJ with a wide range of activities. We decided not to rent a car but use public transportation. This was a great hotel for that. There is a walkway to the Newark Penn Station where you can get connections to just about anywhere by train or light rail and the bus stop is just outside. We got everywhere by rail. We don't spend a lot of time in the hotel on vacation so the most important thing is a clean room with a comfortable bed. I slept really well. The beds are doubles not queens. Not an issue for me. The only negatives are that there is no breakfast and there is a charge for internet in the room. It would have been useful to plan our routes.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

Location is everything...but

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Not very satisfied. 1. Clerks at the Red mango shop in penn station was much more friendly than the staff members at the front desk of this hotel. They do not smile, and not very helpful. 2. They did not respond to my mail prior to stay. 3. I do not hate the housekeeper ladies. Actually they were very friendly, so I hate to say this but they did leave some hair in my bath tub after they finished their room-making. For the record, I never had forgot my tip. 4. I asked them not to receive my package after I leave. They asked me to call again to the security guy directly. Why do I have to?? 5. They have no refrigerator in the room. 6. They will cost you extra money for the wi-fi in the room. If this was an 100 dollar/per night hotel, I will understand. But it is Hilton brand and it costs 250 dollars per night. Of course the location is perfect. It will take only 17 minutes to NY if you use NJ transit. And The room has enough space, also the bed was good. But I expect more from Hilton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Luling, Louisiana

Perfect location for transportation to the Transit

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Clean and location. The greeters was great.
Cons: The night manager could have been nicer in the restaurant. The workers was great.
Location: Great, and the hotel restaurant food was good. Two to three blocks away are some good restaurants.
Great staff, hotel stay clean and JR, the manager was great. I would not hesitate to stay again. This my fourth trip and stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location. NYC in 20 mins with no hassle

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Third time I've stayed here. Great rates and easy access to NYC via train. Only thing Starbucks closed on the weekends and local coffee is awful. Staff very nice and helpful. Will come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kingston, Surrey

Affordable and Convenient for NYC

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Size of room, bed, price, access to New York City and staff.
Cons: Environment around the hotel (but not something Hilton can control!), pungent disinfectant type smell in lobby every time we entered.
We stayed here for the New York Marathon last weekend. The hotel matched all of the reviews that I had read in advance. Great access to Newark Penn Station and the 20 minute train journey to the centre of Manhattan. Hotel cost a fraction of what we would have paid in Manhattan for a much smaller room on a busy weekend in the City. Room size was really good and Queen sized bed extremely comfortable. Courtesy limo service to and from Newark airport was also a bonus. Staff were all very cheerful and attentive and could not have been more helpful. Good diner for breakfast in plaza just outside of hotel entrance also a Starbucks. Penn New Jersey station has lots of poor homeless people particularly late at night. We did not find it a threatening environment but some might.