Ratings based on 921 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Decent hotel, but lousy shuttle service!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Nice bar, Decent food
Cons: Shuttle service, and room painting / renos.
It started off very bad as we had to wait 45 minutes for the shuttle bus to arrive. We tried to use courtesy phone in airport to call, but they kept hanging up because they knew that people were getting upset at waiting for the shuttle. The hotel claims to be at the airport, but its about a 10 minutes ride with all the crazy loops in the area. Once there, it was a decent place. Rooms were decent, but a bit dated in some areas (bathroom) and the quality of the renos isnt very good. The painters were either beginners or drunk. Not very professional in some areas. Overall 7 out of 10
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
I just didn't get what I asked for and when I asked why I was told one thing when it wasn't the truth they took their time about trying to help me but they did allow me to check out without charging me extra and they allowed me to take my time getting my things out of the room but the food there is very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Nice, except for hotel bar

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Please prep bar staff on proper etiquette. That said, the staff at the front desk were excellent: friendly, efficient, and informative.
This hotel was just fine--close to the airport and a decent place. We had only one major complaint: two rude bartenders who ignored us when we wandered into the bar after arriving late at the hotel following a long flight--then officiously informed us that we’d missed last call (which we hadn’t).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Breakfast was okay and shuttle only goes to the airport. Reasonable prices at the restaurant and 24 hour store inside hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Ernst, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you very soon. Regards, Ernst
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Overall very good for the price

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Location, happy hour, cost
Cons: Make the parking free for guests, fix the gym t.v.s
Location: Lots of good Spanish, Portuguese, Brazilian restaurants.
I booked through Expedia and got a good deal. The hotel could probably use a little updating, but it was clean and in a convenient location. The bar/restaurant is convenient and has good wings and $3.00 beers during happy hour (3:00 p. - 6:00 p. every day). The gym is decent, but the t.v.s didn't work. Parking is not free, but probably should be for guests. It was around $15/night. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Ernie, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport Jay. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. We are working on replacing the TVS in the gym. I apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you, Ernst
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mechanicsburg, PA

Run Down But Works

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Price, Restaurant & Bar, Beautiful Lobby
Cons: Repairs and updates.
Location: Good location and shuttle to airport.
Outdated, broken drain plug, scratches and dents galore BUT the staff was pleasant, restaurant and bar was good. Beds comfy, working TV and shower. We have tried several Newark Airport hotels and this one is about the best so far.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for stop over. Shuttle bus.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Air conditioning was way too loud. Couldn't sleep had to turn it off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good...eventually

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Restaurant and the close proximity to the airport.
Location: There are places to eat nearby and has a shuttle to the airport
The hotel is convenient to the airport and has a good restaurant. Our first room didn't have working heat and that led to a very cld night. Once we made the problem known to the front desk they switched us and the next room was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You forgot to mention something

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: It was ok to stay in. Had I been warned of the parking fee.
Cons: Warn customers of the parking fee.
They forgot to mention that you have to pay 16 dollars for parking. And there is no way out of it. Just beware.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Comfortable

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pretty cool. Comfortable and Ted's restaurant located inside was rather good. Only issue is that: -phones weren't working properly whole stay, would call and couldn't be heard or it would simply ring for minutes and minutes without front desk answering -cable TV signal kept going out here and there (right in the middle of a few shows I was enjoying) -front desk said parking would be validated, then upon check out said its not validated for hotel guests only people dropping off, it was $15 per night which racked up -bathroom was a little outdated